We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed with our room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Augustine to your Saves list
Hotel St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Impressed with our room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We reserved our room based on reviews in Trip Advisor but I was truly disappointed in the experience.

First Parking - the parking log they provide (and charge for) is a challenge to get into and manuveur if there is more than 2 cars parked. And if you have a low car don't even attempt it! You have to go over some pavement that is uneven (to say the least)

Second Our Room - The first thing you noticed when you walked in our room was the musty smell. Once in there you adjusted but it was very obvious when you walked in. According to the 'amenities' there was to be an ironing board/iron in the room. I called the front desk and they did bring one up immediately but it was a dorm style ironing board to use on a table - only there is very little counter space. The ironing board was also bowed in the center and the iron was black (I was afraid it might mark my clothes - but it didn't). Next the bathroom door - it was impossible to latch it closed. While not a big deal it should have closed completely. I will say the spa shower was great! Although the amenities that were to be available in our room for the shower were in in the cabinet (they do cost $ - but there were not available to purchase)

Third the breakfast - It's very limited which is ok - but one of the days there was not even coffee available. I had to find yogurt myself as the staff was handling both the front desk as the breakfast bar. There were dirty dishes very where because of the limited staff.

Location is great for South Beach - 2 blocks to the beach

Room was clean & cleaning staff was always very friendly.

The 2nd night we came back in and our room key didn't work - we were told they were trying to reach us because it was a full hotel and they needed us to move our car for better parking. So at 1am we moved our car and no one ever did come park in the spot we moved from. I really don't think our car was parked blocking the one spot - it's very tricky to get into the lot. Needless say after that lockout our keys never worked more than once. It became a hassle having to run down stairs to get our key reset.

Room Tip: Do not get the room at the far end of the hall (2nd floor) --- it smells musty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any problems you had with your stay.

We pride ourselves in service excellence and assure you our staff is fully trained with a proven track record of exceeding guest expectations.

We always do our very best to follow up on guest concerns and I wish I had known of your disappointment with your room so I could have taken steps to address your concerns.

I would like to contact you directly to reverse your negative opinion of us - kindly send us your details and I will reach out to take the next steps or contact me directly at 305-532-0570.

Thank you again for providing us an opportunity to rectify this situation. We look forward to hearing from you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    230
    76
    37
    14
See reviews for
57
302
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have only great things to say about this hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and of course, that amazing steam room/shower. A-MA-ZING!!!

The hotel was in a quiet area, away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to things. The service was fantastic and special thanks to Ricky and Alejandro at the front desk for the personal attention. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad y Tobago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had planned a weekend get away from the Caribbean to Florida, by coincidence it was Labour Day Weekend here so expected SoBe to be "crazy"

Decided on a location with easy access in and out of the beach and this hotel in the SoFi neighborhood was perfect.

Based on good reviews and great response from "Marisol" via email and their Facebook page, our choice was easy.

The 2 story art-deco building is located on the quiet end of Washington close to shops on Collins and the beach.

Small and charming lobby, and a corridor to rooms. Ours was 106 and was very spacious, king bed and awesome corner steam shower. The best hotel shower I've had in a long time .

We did not participate in the continental breakfast in the lobby because TASTE BAKERY on 9th and Alton or PAUL on Lincoln and Drexel were great breakfast options.

Had a fab dinner at Juvia and Yard Bird. Katsuya was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Been here three times before - last time September 2011 - going back next week ! Can't wait. The breakfast does the job - coffee, danish, cereal and yoghurt around an informal bar style setting with fantastic attention from the staff. Rooms are large as are the beds - hanging space could be larger but the place is in a great loctaion for the beach, downtown and everything Miami Beach has to offer. Get there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

dont let the looks be decieving, not all thats cracked up to be. Stayed here because of the shower and location, the steam shower never worked i complained and all i got was someone will be here to fix it . which never happened. location is ok but i will never be back to this hotel, do not recommend it at all there are a lot nicer hotels in the area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We sincerely apologize for your steam shower not working- we know that it is one of the features of our rooms that our guests enjoy the most. Unfortunately this unique feature requires specialized repair; and your stay was not long enough to get it repaired by the time you checked-out. We would like to contact you in order for us to turn around your guest experience.
Please send me your details so I can reach out to you or contact me at 305-532-0570 so we can discuss .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Visited SOBE for a friend's 30th bday. She found a good Travelzoo deal online so she booked it. Overall, the room was nothing special. I have stayed at much nicer places in SOBE, but it served for a place to sleep. The walls are VERY thin. I knew people would be up late, but we could clearly hear our neighbors at 4 am... and they weren't even talking loudly. Now, for the bathroom... ours was COMPLETELY open. Thank god the toilet had a door. But the shower looks like the pictures... just some glass. For two girls sharing a room, it wasn't a huge deal, but something a little more private would have been nice. Our friends room was slightly different, they had a curtin they could pull to separte the bathroom a little. As long as you're comfortable with your roomie, its not a huge deal. Do not expect any type of view. We looked right at a concrete wall. Also no elevator, but its only 2 floors, so it is a SMALL place. Good location, but a few blocks from the beach! Nice free happy hour with wine and cheese. The front desk people were always very nice and attentative. For a quick girls weekend, it sufficed, but I probably won't stay here again. I didn't see a pool so I don't know if they have one. They did have a small continental breakfast, but it was mostly grocery store pastry's, cereal, yogart and oatmeal. There is no onsite restaurant. Thankgoodness there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here the day before our cruise. Taxi from airport was a flat rate $30 around there. Taxi to port of Miami around $25. The hotel price was affordable and a good value. I stayed up on Collins ave. last year and the room was about $100 more at the catalina hotel. What made this a special hotel is its hip, fresh, and you can walk everywhere. We shopped Collins Ave. and Washington Ave. we ate twice at one of the many restaurants on Ocean Drive. We had drinks at Wet Willies (too expensive and the frozen drinks melted way too quick). I recommend the Big Pink restaurant. We walked there from the hotel for breakfast. Lots of food and great service. The menu is HUGE! Would have loved to eat here for lunch!

Back to the hotel...the decor is modern and absolutely beautiful. The rooms are big with everything you need. Loved the shower...four heads I think. Loved the robes and toiletries! The cleaning staff was friendly and accommodating for anything like extra towels. It's a small hotel so they cater to their guests. The man at the front desk was friendly and accommodating as well. He went out of his way to suggest places to eat and places to go. He answered every question and never made us feel that we were bugging him. Wish I could remember his name.

We spent the afternoon at the beach. It was easy to walk to. Stopped for a drink on ocean drive on the way. We got towels at the front desk beforehand. Rented beach chairs and umbrella for $35. A guy came around making money on his own selling various drinks in a soft cooler he carried so it was immediate service. I had lots of beer...corona in a can was $5...he came back every hour for me:). You can't buy beer at the concession stands on the beach, so this was a great way for him to earn a living!

Hotel has breakfast. Pastries, cold cereals, etc. Nothing special but it is included in the price so it was nice to have coffee and a croissant to start the morning. We went for a late breakfast at the Big Pink.

The only two issues with the hotel that some guests might be concerned with are there is no elevator and the bed. You have to lug your suitcase up a set of about ten steps which was NO problem for us. The other issue is the bed...they need to purchase new mattresses....too hard for me. I'm a flight attendant and I sleep in many hotel beds so I know what a comfy bed feels like. Our night's sleep was ok because we were exhausted from sightseeing but in the morning we were a little stiff. The room, service, decor, and everything else in the hotel was wonderful. I just think since it's a small hotel it would be nice to buy comfy mattresses or mattress pads...just sayin!

One other thing...there is no pool at the hotel. This was fine for us because we went to the beach, but it might be an issue for guests wanting a pool. I never asked if we could have used another hotel's pool but maybe that could be done.

I WILL DEFIANTELY STAY HERE WHEN I HEAD TO SOUTH BEACH AGAIN:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Italia Hotel
Villa Italia Hotel
#46 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#23 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#74 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#16 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
0.7 mi away
Impala Hotel
Impala Hotel
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#13 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.