We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steam shower” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Augustine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Metropolis, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“steam shower”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

dont let the looks be decieving, not all thats cracked up to be. Stayed here because of the shower and location, the steam shower never worked i complained and all i got was someone will be here to fix it . which never happened. location is ok but i will never be back to this hotel, do not recommend it at all there are a lot nicer hotels in the area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Manager at Hotel St. Augustine, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We sincerely apologize for your steam shower not working- we know that it is one of the features of our rooms that our guests enjoy the most. Unfortunately this unique feature requires specialized repair; and your stay was not long enough to get it repaired by the time you checked-out. We would like to contact you in order for us to turn around your guest experience.
Please send me your details so I can reach out to you or contact me at 305-532-0570 so we can discuss .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    197
    64
    33
    9
See reviews for
40
258
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Visited SOBE for a friend's 30th bday. She found a good Travelzoo deal online so she booked it. Overall, the room was nothing special. I have stayed at much nicer places in SOBE, but it served for a place to sleep. The walls are VERY thin. I knew people would be up late, but we could clearly hear our neighbors at 4 am... and they weren't even talking loudly. Now, for the bathroom... ours was COMPLETELY open. Thank god the toilet had a door. But the shower looks like the pictures... just some glass. For two girls sharing a room, it wasn't a huge deal, but something a little more private would have been nice. Our friends room was slightly different, they had a curtin they could pull to separte the bathroom a little. As long as you're comfortable with your roomie, its not a huge deal. Do not expect any type of view. We looked right at a concrete wall. Also no elevator, but its only 2 floors, so it is a SMALL place. Good location, but a few blocks from the beach! Nice free happy hour with wine and cheese. The front desk people were always very nice and attentative. For a quick girls weekend, it sufficed, but I probably won't stay here again. I didn't see a pool so I don't know if they have one. They did have a small continental breakfast, but it was mostly grocery store pastry's, cereal, yogart and oatmeal. There is no onsite restaurant. Thankgoodness there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here the day before our cruise. Taxi from airport was a flat rate $30 around there. Taxi to port of Miami around $25. The hotel price was affordable and a good value. I stayed up on Collins ave. last year and the room was about $100 more at the catalina hotel. What made this a special hotel is its hip, fresh, and you can walk everywhere. We shopped Collins Ave. and Washington Ave. we ate twice at one of the many restaurants on Ocean Drive. We had drinks at Wet Willies (too expensive and the frozen drinks melted way too quick). I recommend the Big Pink restaurant. We walked there from the hotel for breakfast. Lots of food and great service. The menu is HUGE! Would have loved to eat here for lunch!

Back to the hotel...the decor is modern and absolutely beautiful. The rooms are big with everything you need. Loved the shower...four heads I think. Loved the robes and toiletries! The cleaning staff was friendly and accommodating for anything like extra towels. It's a small hotel so they cater to their guests. The man at the front desk was friendly and accommodating as well. He went out of his way to suggest places to eat and places to go. He answered every question and never made us feel that we were bugging him. Wish I could remember his name.

We spent the afternoon at the beach. It was easy to walk to. Stopped for a drink on ocean drive on the way. We got towels at the front desk beforehand. Rented beach chairs and umbrella for $35. A guy came around making money on his own selling various drinks in a soft cooler he carried so it was immediate service. I had lots of beer...corona in a can was $5...he came back every hour for me:). You can't buy beer at the concession stands on the beach, so this was a great way for him to earn a living!

Hotel has breakfast. Pastries, cold cereals, etc. Nothing special but it is included in the price so it was nice to have coffee and a croissant to start the morning. We went for a late breakfast at the Big Pink.

The only two issues with the hotel that some guests might be concerned with are there is no elevator and the bed. You have to lug your suitcase up a set of about ten steps which was NO problem for us. The other issue is the bed...they need to purchase new mattresses....too hard for me. I'm a flight attendant and I sleep in many hotel beds so I know what a comfy bed feels like. Our night's sleep was ok because we were exhausted from sightseeing but in the morning we were a little stiff. The room, service, decor, and everything else in the hotel was wonderful. I just think since it's a small hotel it would be nice to buy comfy mattresses or mattress pads...just sayin!

One other thing...there is no pool at the hotel. This was fine for us because we went to the beach, but it might be an issue for guests wanting a pool. I never asked if we could have used another hotel's pool but maybe that could be done.

I WILL DEFIANTELY STAY HERE WHEN I HEAD TO SOUTH BEACH AGAIN:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I loved my first trip to South Beach Miami the staff at St. Augustine was friendly and professional. I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is located in a convenient area. You are about three blocks from the beach and lovely shopping on Collins Ave, eating all around. My experience was great because of the helpful staff at St. Augustine. My next trip to Miami I will be staying here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Wow! OK, I'll say a little more. My girlfriend and I spent the night here while celebrating my birthday in South Beach. Trust me, this will be our regular stay over location from this point forward. Our room was cozy with a king size bed and standard amenities. What really set it apart for me was the very roomy steam shower. Multiple water jets for showering, a built in seat for two, and the steam room feature was awesome. They provided two bath robes embossed with the hotel's name. The staff also provided two "Little Debbie" type cakes wrapped in cellophane with the wording "Happy Birthday" printed on it, and also a written happy birthday wish signed by the entire staff.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from any room but the room itself is awesome. Most overlook an alley or the grav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Rooms were very clean and modern. Hotel staff was AWESOME and very friendly. Breakfast was OK, but nothing to complain about. If I were to go back to Miami Beach, this is the place I would stay. A mere 5 minute walk to the beach and to Ocean Drive. Loved our stay!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview, Missouri, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly ..... 2 blocks away from the beach ....... A lot of restaurants and night clubs on Washington street ....... You really don't need a car ..... We walked every where .....the rooms was nice ... The steam room /shower was WONDERFUL ...... WE WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.