We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel away from the noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Augustine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Augustine to your Saves list
Hotel St. Augustine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (South Pointe)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel away from the noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A very very hard choice on where to stay at Miami South Beach but was so happy with our decision. A short walk from the pubs and clubs but far enough away from the noise to get a great night's sleep. A gorgeous little pet friendly hotel, with live in choc labrador Bailey, which was a bonus for me, as 6 weeks away from my labrador was extremely hard. Breakfast provided everyday was lovely. the rooms were spacious with a beautiful bathroom. Will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    221
    70
    36
    12
See reviews for
47
284
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I've read about 100 reviews from diferent hotels in Miami Beach before picking this one. I realy got confused because when in Miami Beach, the concept ou good location and services depends much more on what you're looking for. In order to try to make this one review helpful, I decided to divide it in two parts:

Stay in this Hotel if:
1) You are looking to a quite place in Miami Beach, yet close to some restaurants and the beach itself (walking distance).
2) Your concept of breakfast is a cup of coffee, orange juice and a croissant.
3) You want a clean, confortable room, not super moderm, but definitly not old (kind of 90's)
4) You like steambath (all rooms have one)

Don't stay in this hotel if:
1) You're looking for a very modern-chic hotel
2) You want to be very close to the bars and night clubs
3) You need an American breakfast or buffet
4) You want a hotel with pool and other amenities

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights with my wife as part of a travelzoo promo included room, parking, breakfast, and dinner for 2 at their restaurant down the street, la locanda. The best part of the hotel was the parking, SO NICE not to have to deal with a valet every time you want to go somewhere. the hotel is south of 5th, which is more residential and a lot quieter area, but still just a short walk to the action. Dinner at la locanda was awesome, didnt try breakfast except for coffee (they have togo cups, we like that) but seemed adequate, shower/steam combo in room was awesome, very relaxing, staff was friendly and doggie at the front door to greet the guests. I agree with some others that a/c was very loud, but we actually prefer to sleep w/ some sort of white noise, tv on, etc, so didnt bother us. The hotel itself was QUIET, didnt hear a peep from other guests, and i know the place was full. Great stay-

Room Tip: asked for a quiet room and it was-
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is small compared to others on South Beach. But that doesn't mean it's lacking in style or character! This is the 2nd time I've stayed, and I will definately be back!
Both time's I've visited, I've booked a King Deluxe Room - Spacious and comfortable!
The room itself has a TV, CD system, wired internet (bring your own wire and laptop), aircon, safe, wardrobe, and bathroom.
The bathroom has a steam room/shower. It's just amazing! The water pressure is brilliant! The stylish tiling in the shower is very nice! There's a large wall width mirror - perfect for the girls and boys to get ready in the evening. Granite top in the vanity/sink area helps keep style of the bathroom flowing outside the shower unit. There are complimentary toiletries to help yourself to, free of use hairdryer and bathrobe in each room. Towels are provided also.
Spa toiletries and mini bar items are available for purchase in each room.
Breakfast is usually included in room price. It's continental with fresh juice and coffee. Wonderful smell first thing in the morning!!
Ice machines are in each hallway, and the ice bucket is in the room in the sink/vanity area.
The hotel has a car park for customers which is $20 plus tax per day. It's safe and you access it from the rear of the building.
The hotel is perfectly situated for those wanting to experience South Beach without the sleepless night/s and hangovers!
All staff I've had to deal with have been very helpful, polite and pleasant.
Before our visit June 2011, I contacted the hotel to ask to be allowed to park the car early when I arrived. The manager himself contacted me to let me know this would be ok, and they would either have a room ready for me also, or look after my luggage!
Brilliant - just the kind of customer service I ask for!
When I arrived the room was ready, and hubby and I parked the car and headed to the beach!
Within 2 blocks you have a Walgreens that's stocked like a supermarket, TGI Friday's for an amazing dinner! And Starbucks is only a 10 minute walk away.
Renting a cycle at the beach was fun - I'd do this again also!
We had a wonderful 2nd visit to St Augustine's, and we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, the hotel looks great and the room was very modern and comfortable. The "bathroom" does not give you any privacy so I would never ever chose this hotel if travelling with anybody else then on a couples trip.

The breakfast was not impressive if you don't like cakes for breakfast, which we dont. The hotel staff didn't even say hello when we came or left, and we saw one of them more outside smoking with a friend then anything else.

The location was good, we like staying in quiet neighbourhoods so it's possible to sleep. Both the beach and Ocean Drive is only a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Pros,Three blocks from the beach. Friendly and helpful staff. Off street parking.Clean.Great coffee and danish in the morning. Cons,No bathtub. Air conditioner very loud,sounds like a large bus. No dresser in room. Carpet needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I used to live in Miami Beach many years ago and love to come back and visit as often as I can. Over the years I have stayed at quite a few hotels but always end up coming back to the Hotel St. Augustine.
There are many reasons to love the place. Miami has gotten so expensive over the years so this place really suits my budget and the free continental breakfast is an added bonus. The rooms are great and you get a lot of room for the price. Even the mini bar prices are reasonable. The rooms are modern. I love the loft-style, the comfy beds, and the new "privacy" curtains.
The spa shower is one of my favorite things. They are big enough for 2 ( L.O.L.) and the multiple shower jets and steam are the best. The staff are so friendly and accommodating, and best of all, you see the same faces every time you go back so they are all very experienced and knowledgeable. They can tell you all the best places to visit and all the places to avoid. Fernando and Billy have both been there for more than 13 years, and are always happy to see us whenever we return
.
The hotel is only 2 blocks from the beach, but so far from all the noise of the Miami Beach nightlife, that when you decide to sleep it is so quiet that you actually can. The location is safe and quiet and is only two blocks away from Ocean Drive and the South Beach party scene. You can walk to everything and yet not have to try to sleep in the middle of it all. This was always a problem before when i stayed at other hotels on the beach.
I know i will return again and be sure to see the same friendly faces. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Augustine
St Augustine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Augustine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.