We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Hotel

Save Saved
You added Starlite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Starlite Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would stay again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the hotel on June 22-25. The female staff were very helpful and polite. The location is perfect and you can catch the bus to other locations on the strip or to downtown Miami. At first I was nervous about booking the hotel because of the reviews. The price and air flight was perfect. If you want a five star hotel stay at the Ritz. It's a budget friendly hotel. Also, the # 150 bus on Washington and 9th street will take you to the airport for 2.65 and you can catch the #150 front the airport. If your traveling solo or you have small luggage don't waste your money on a cab that cost # 35 plus tip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    101
    115
    68
    76
See reviews for
31
83
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were worried based on all the bad reviews online but once we got there we were pleased with our hotel choice! The hotel is ideally located, you are literally in the hearth of Miami Beach and straight on the very popular Miami Ocean Drive. Go on Google and write Ocean Drive Miami and you'll see this neon pink hotel in every picture!

Our room was clean and spacious enough to fit 4 people, the bathroom was small and old but clean as well. The service was good, we had to do a very last minutes date change and we had no problem to do it. The restaurant downstairs was good enough. The hotel has no lobby but it did not matters as we were in our rooms only to change, wash and sleep.

Be advised, It is not a luxury hotel and it is not a 4 nor a 3 star property but just a hotel that will give you a clean bed to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I always say location is everything ! This location is perfect just steps away from the beach . It's right in the middle of where all the action is it's perfect for the price. It was actually more then I expected after reading all the reviews I was pleasantly pleased with the room. It was clean a decent size & perfect for our pre cruise overnight stay . The only complaint I do have is that the shower leaked onto the floor. Other then that the staff was decent they kept to themselves . Don't expect a high end luxury hotel . You get exactly what you pay for here. For me it was perfect for what I needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

At first I was a little worried based on the reviews that I read but I travel and stay at a lot of hotels and I have to say this stay was great! We stay on May 15 and also on May 18. Customer service was great. Jenny and Patty (I apologized if I got the names wrong) were very helpful and patient. We got there early and they let us leave our bags so we could eat and walk around until check-in. They called us when the room was ready. Before walking into our room, I expected a 3 star feeling not a 5 star which is why people are always disappointed. Smh. The room met my expectations. It was nice and had a large comfortable bed and the bathroom was up to date. It had a microwave and a frige and a decent couch in the room. It was clean and we had a corner room with a view of the beach! Who could complain? The hotel was booked but it was the normal noise you would expect because it is right by bars and everyone is out partying. If you want quiet rooms then you should check in to hotels not on Ocean Drive! The hotels on Ocean drive are old Art Deco so they can only do so much but they are really nice and lets you know there is some history to these hotels. But I think the Starlite Hotel is fine the way it is! Our trip was cancelled to go to bimini because of the weather and the Starlite was book for the weekend which was okay. We did find another hotel and then checked back in on the 18th. A group of us are coming back in January and I will definitely be staying at the Starlite Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a large ocean view room. If not the others rooms are still okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This beachfront hotel was probably the noisiest we have ever stayed in. All through the night we were disturbed by both noise from outside and inside the hotel - mainly people shouting and swearing. The room was very shabby and the bed and pillow lumpy and uncomfortable. The bathroom although clean was very old and needed updating. We finally had some quiet time between 4 and 5 am. Luckily we only booked 1 night but did not get the sleep we required prior to a road trip. There were no vending machines/facilities and the area outside did not feel safe to walk around late at night. The view from the bedroom included men relieving themselves throughout the night in the alleyway! Would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: I doubt if there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The overall experience was horrible. I've been to Miami a few times and this has been the worst hotel experience! The front desk was very rude and unprofessional. Our air conditioner was broke& the maintance ore yeses to fix it, we explained to them it was still very hot in our room and instead of coming to inspect it, the lady at the front desk stated,"it's Miami that's the coolest the room will get here." There are ROACHES!!They do NOT change your pillowcases or covers, just your sheets! My friend slept with makeup and some got on her pillow, the housekeeping just turned the pillow over! If you have a complaint, forget trying to get something accomdated, they have every excuse in the book!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

After reading the reviews, I was very nervous about my stay here and was even prepared to bail out if we got to the room to find a disaster. What we found was a clean, comfortable room, with plenty of space and a comfortable bed. I'm not sure why the awful reviews from so many people but our experience was very nice.

The only problem I could see would be if you are a light sleeper. There is a generator that kicks on an off and there did seem to be a motion activated light in the alley across from our room that would switch on several times a night. Not a problem for me as the blinds kept most of the light out, although you could still feel the light change with your eyes closed and the hum of the generator didn't really bother me.

Other than that, the room was clean, we had plenty of space, the fridge/microwave came in handy and the location could not be better. We got the cheapest room in the hotel (superior queen) so I can't imagine other rooms being worse. Not a sign of bugs, mold or anything else disgusting. The staff was also awesome. Patty and the other front desk staff were great and anytime I saw a maid she would ask if I would like to have my room cleaned. Considering the price and location I would have no problem staying here in the future or recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starlite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Hotel

Address: 750 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Starlite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Miami Beach
Starlite Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.