We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "ok" stay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Starlite Hotel to your Saves list
Starlite Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An "ok" stay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed only for a night before our cruise the next day. We booked through Expedia.com as a flight and hotel package. It was decently priced so we booked it. The reviews were average.
South Beach is an amazing place to see. We arrived early after a morning flight and knew our room wouldn't be ready but didn't like the idea of having to put our bags in a hallway, where the woman behind the desk would "keep an eye on them". They were literally right out in the open and quite accessible to anyone who wanted to take one. We had to put trust into this and went out for our day. Nothing happened to the bags, luckily, but they must certainly know that people arrive early and need a place to store baggage!
The hotel was old, our room small and really needed updating. It was pretty bad actually but again, we knew we were there only for the night.
I'm not sure I'd "recommend" this hotel but for our purposes, it was ok. They have water and coffee on a small table in the entrance area. I wouldn't want to turn anyone away from it either, but it just depends what you want from your stay. Lets say that I'd look for another location before I booked this one again but if I had to, I would. I hope that helps?
We didn't find the hotel that friendly, not like other's we've stayed for the night. I really liked the Congress that I stayed in last time. I booked this one because it was cheaper and I wanted to stay and experience something different.
The location is GREAT though, right in the middle of everything.
I give this hotel a "poor" grade because Im not sure I'd even call the Starlite "average", but it certainly provided the one night's stay we needed before our cruise in an awesome environment like South Beach. Please email me with any questions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    104
    115
    59
    75
See reviews for
47
122
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's your typical SoBe sidewalk cafe with the same generic menu as all the rest but it's great for people watching. I ordered the lobster ravioli ($23.50) and one of those 2 for 1 ($25) margaritas with two Coronas. My food arrived cold and I was shocked to see 5 small raviolis drowned in sauce. My drink was delicious but it was so huge; there was no way I could finish it. They have hookah here if that's your thing. I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was looking for cheap place to stay at South beach - and i really found it :) A hotel was good - i and my girlfriend got everything what we wanted - a room to stay for 3 nights. Room was good with small place for our clothes, fridge, air conditioner, microwave, TV and bathroom. We respect this place because of location - just 1 minute across the street and you could get to the beach - it was really very nice. Sure, all halls in hotel looks as dormitory..but we didn't spend a lot of time inside - we try to chill out and spend a lot of time at the beach and traveling around Miami. That place is good for those, who would like to spend a lot of time at the South Beach and be very closer to non sleep streets and amazing sandy beach. I am recommending to visit Miami Seaquarium - it's amazing place to have fun and do not forget to try the delicious Miami mojitos :)))

Have fun in South Beach!!!!

Sincerely,
Evija from Vilnius (Lithuania)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This place was great.. Very clean and organized room.. We were seconds away from the beach. And there cafe downstairs was great. We smoked hookah till four am one night.. No complaints! Try the Starlite Hotel you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location right on the ocean drive strip of south beach. Walk right outside and you have the beach directly across the street not to mention the numerous restaurants. Great price but very basic, which is great when you want a good location and a place to sleep without spending tons of money. Rooms were very clean, decent space comfortable beds and flat screen tv's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the night and the hotel was wxteemely clean and beautiful! We were offered around of mimosa's as we were leaving the hotel to join at there cafe. They were awesome! The staff was friendly and very courteous. They had hookah and huge mojitos! How can you go wrong! LOVE THIS PLACE by the way Patty at the front desk is a trip!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Although this is an older building, the rooms are updated and clean. We booked it to be close to the Beach action; And at a reasonable price and we're pleasantly surprised. Would stay here again.

The bar outside (I think connected with the Resturant next door, however is NOT RECOMMENDED. We had the 2 for 1 ($30.00) 16 oz. cocktails (mostly ice) and the Mohito was too sweet. I asked for a less sweet one for the second one with more mint and got a duplicate of the first sweet one - ie NO CHANGE. As a 20 year Services Management Consultant, here's a tip. If you add the 17 or 18% tip to the cheque automatically the staff has no incentive to perform....a no brainer, and very un-american in my opinion. Not directed at this Resturant in particualr as they all seem to do this on the Beach and even on Lincoln Road (which I really don't understand)!

I se from the other reviews, this lack of performance is standard at the resturant/ bar. AVOID!!!

Room Tip: Good hotel but AVOID Bar/ Resturant outside. Actually the best restaurants/ bars ARE NOT ON the Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#107 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#136 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal South Beach Hotel
Royal South Beach Hotel
#137 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#131 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#98 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#87 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Hotel

Address: 750 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Starlite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Miami Beach
Starlite Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.