We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Starlite Hotel to your Saves list
Starlite Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This Hotel is perfect in so many ways! It doesnt have all the features of a major hotel... But there in the middle of everything! Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and the most important part! The BEACH!
The rooms are Good.. looks like they were renovated recently. And there staff was great. Patty at the front desk was so helpful and it felt like she truly cared about us enjoying ourselves..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    104
    113
    59
    75
See reviews for
47
121
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at the Starlite Hotel in South Beach for Ultra Music Festival in March 2013. I have to say I was really expecting the worst after reading so many negative reviews. But it was definitely better than what I had read. Sure it might be a bit dated but for the price and location it worked out very well for me. I was not really in the hotel very much as I was at the festival most of the weekend. The location couldnt be better for south beach, so many food options close by.
The hotel was a little bit loud but what do you expect, its south beach on spring break.
It was a bit a hard to sleep in just because so much light came in the room and the blinds didnt do much. but other than that, i cant cant complain. I would definitely stay there again if i was doing a miami trip on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms cleaned to a good standard daily. Other guests were all american, although lots of groups of youngsters, they were respectful & not too noisy. I would ask for a room on the top floor to avoid street noise. I would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This review is solely for the restaurant attached to this hotel along Ocean Drive. People watching is great here - but that is the only favorable part of the restaurant.

Drinks are outrageously expensive. Food is mediocre at best. But the worst part is the dishonest staff and extremely rude manager. First, we were offered free, complimentary shots with our meal. We looked over the menu, ordered our meals and expensive drinks, then we perused the shot list and ordered our free shots. When we ordered these shots, we made sure they were complimentary, because the prices on the shot list were very high, and we weren't really looking for shots in the middle of the day, but we were game since they were free. The waiter assured us that they were free. Our meal was unremarkable. Our drinks seemed light. Oh well, just another learning experience. Then we got our bill and we were charged an enormous amount for the free shots. When we brought this mistake to the attention of the waiter, he suddenly then told us that the shots we ordered were not the free ones. Free shots are not listed on the shot list. We were only supposed to get a generic fruity shot with little alcohol. So, when we let the waiter know of his mistake, he went to the manager woman to ask about it. She rudely stated that they would not right their mistake. We would still have to pay a boatload for the free, complimentary shots. We then noticed that other patrons were also having this problem. The old bait-and-switch. This seems to happen fairly often here. Please, don't fall for it. Never give your business to these swindlers. The waiter tried to make amends by giving us a couple of fruity shots, but they were rather nasty. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My 2 sons and friends went on vacation last year to South Beach Miami, they stayed at the Starlite and they had a ball. Loved the location right across the street from the beach; location is great with all the action at your hands. food at your door step, rooms were clean but a bit small. But who cares you're there only to sleep in and for the price and location you can't go wrong thats for sure. Front desk service was great and so friendly we they enjoyed talking to them and even would bring them donuts. Everything was so great that they are all going back to the starlite this summer already booked and paid for. They are so excited they can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is great ,but other than that awful.
We were put in the back room on the ground floor ,
Which looked out onto the garbage bins in the back alley .
You could smell the garbage ,plus truck coming by early every
morning to collect disturbed you sleep.
Room was dusty needed a good clean ,
and hairs in bath/shower
dont stay here !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Dealing with these people was surreal. After booking this hotel through hotels.com, I arrived there with the family. The first thing the desk representative that evening told us was that he probably couldn't accommodate us for the nights we booked. That's always reassuring. They actually showed us a chart of their rooms and their bookings to prove that they were not making it up. That's not the point. The point is to not represent your hotel as one having vacancies if you don't!

The following day, we were told that we would have to move to another room. The following day, were were told to get ready to move again. We asked whether they'd asked any other guests to move. This seemed like a novel idea to them. We had to repeat to them the question, "Why are you asking us to move twice before other guests are being asked to move once?" The lady at the front counter became upset, saying she was out for a long time on a medical leave, that this was her first day back and that she didn't appreciate being talked to like we were talking to her.

I have a big issue with hotels.com as well. I called the company during this debacle and was told by a representative that they would credit us for two of the nights to recognize the aggravation. A month later my credit card bill arrived, and of course, it had no credit. I called hotels.com and they had no record of my call or their promise. When I asked for a supervisor, I was told that the identify of this person could not be revealed because of security reasons. What cowardice.

The Starlite and Hotels.com, a perfect marriage of losers.

PS: Have another moment? I just received my latest hotels.com statement via email. With regard to the 10 nights and the 11th is free program, the company has us credited for only half the number of nights that we stayed on this trip. What a joke.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#107 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#137 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal South Beach Hotel
Royal South Beach Hotel
#138 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#131 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#100 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#88 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Hotel

Address: 750 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Starlite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Miami Beach
Starlite Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.