We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Bentley Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bentley Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay More = Save More!
Ranked #55 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very wonderful staff who did everything to make the trip good for us!

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms are still just as good, you get kitchen, no view, but who cares? You can sit up on 5t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
So nice to hear that our staff was very accommodating and that you enjoyed your stay at the Bentley Hotel! We look forward to having you return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    114
    47
    26
    17
See reviews for
45
155
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Needed a room for one night, got one of those "find out what you got when you get there" rates and was not terribly disappointed. Price did not include a rather hefty resort fee so not such a great value after all. They were not busy and upgraded us to a larger room as the one we got - despite saying it was large enough for my wife and I and our two children, was not actually large enough as advertised. This is more of a complaint aimed at the discounter - not the hotel. This place is older but they spend their money upgrading the rooms and not the hallways/lobby/interior. This place had nice rooms, a great location, and cool rooftop pool. There is a huge drug store and liquor store around the corner for supplies. No free parking and valet is pricey but we really had no choice - no other close options either.

We were offered a 20% discount at the restaurant downstairs BEWARE!! They brought us the wrong order, my 5 year old daughter took a bite before she realized it was not what she wanted, they said she already ate it and refused to change the bill, I had to dispute with my credit card company, then 2 weeks later my credit card was used fraudulently to purchase thousands of dollars of merchandise around the world and I only used that brand new card on this trip for online airline tickets, to pay for the hotel room online, at this restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for such a great review of the Bentley hotel and our ammenities! I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a positive experience. I apologize greatly for the inconvenience you encountered at the restaurant! I will be sure to follow up with this to make sure it was taken care of. The next time you are in Miami Beach please email bentleyfd@meninhotels.com so we can accommodate you at a special rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

Whilst this hotel is in a good location at the bottom end of Oean Drive, we can advise that we would not stay here again purely for the lack of flexibility and attitude of front desk staff who were unable to provide us with a room to freshen up before our long flight back to Europe. Most flights to Europe leave in the evening and given the lack of facilities at Miami International airport, we could only freshen up on checkout at 12 noon. This actually ruined what could have been a relaxing last day of the holiday. We are sure Keith Menin would be unhappy to hear that his customers had a poor experience given that this hotel is not cheap. We paid more than $500 per night and it is classed as one of the Best Boutique Hotels in Florida - not in our experience. Having left comments at the hotel we haven't received a response.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
I apologize for what may have been an inconvenience during your stay. There may have been other factors involved as to why we were unable to provide you with a room prior to your flight. I am pleased that you were happy with the location and the accommodations of the hotel during your stay. When you are back in Miami again we would love to have you back! For a special rate email bentleyguest@meninhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

New Year's weekend, my gf and I stayed at the Bentley (referred through a super friendly and helpful broker).

The Bentley is a 4.5/5 star 3-star hotel. It's not super fancy, but has all you need if you're looking for great stay on South Beach. Friendly and helpful front desk. Awesome location (5th St. on Ocean Ave, on the beachfront, at the southern end of all the Ocean Ave / Collins Ave' restaurants and attractions -- the bigger hotels and the shops on the Lincoln Ave promenade are at 17th st). There's a great sandwich deli place around the corner, along with Walgreens for beach supplies. We had a delicious dessert late night at the Bellini (the Bentley restaurant), which was very relaxed (and warm).

The ocean is a four min walk across the beach. The pool / hot tub on roof was good for a quick a dip; the sun chairs for a relaxing, tanning afternoon away from the beach (even though you're still overlooking the beach).

The room was your standard type room with small kitchen, small balcony, comfy-bed, small couch, tv.. perfect for sleeping in, showering, chilling in, but not lounging all day in. But, you're in the heart of SoBe so why would you want to be inside (all day) anyway.
Thumbs up. - H, NYC

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omartorell, General Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for the positive words and feedback. Furthermore, we couldn’t be happier you decided to ring in the New Year with us. Our location indeed is truly second to none, can one ask for anything more than ocean views, a rooftop pool on Ocean Drive and with great dining on site. We would love to see you and your girlfriend in the near future, please contact me at omartorell@meninhotels.com for a preferred rate.

Warm regards,
Oscar Martorell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is well located at the end of Ocean Drive but it is very tired with shabby fixtures and fittings and dirty decor. Ill-fitting windows and soiled curtains, carpets, rugs and walls are complimented matched with old and broken appliances and furniture. I'd suggest that it hasn't been decorated for at least 5 years and that it is a victim of chronic under-investment. It may be that the owners have focused on their other properties at the expense of the Bentley. The "award-winning" pool deck must have won an award in the 1970's as it is well below the standards of the other (cheaper) SoBe hotels we've stayed at and there's no pool service. I got the feeling that the staff were used to plenty of complaints that they have little scope to address. Considering that this stay cost me an average of more than USD500 per night, I wish I'd either spent a bit more for the Tides or Delano or a bit less and stayed at the very comfortable Palms again. This was supposed to be a family Christmas treat and frankly I very disappointed overall.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omartorell, General Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
We apologize for any inconveniences you might have had experienced during your stay. While we strive for perfection it is only through our guest feedback can we improve the hotel and more importantly our guest experience. However, I would have to disagree with you in that our guests are always quick to share their great stay with us, as evident from our guest feedback. Your unfortunate experience at Bentley is not the true experience and we would like to invite you back to the hotel at a preferred rate during your next visit to Miami Beach. Please contact me at omartorell@meninhotels.com.

Cordially,
Oscar Martorell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We chose the Bentley for a one night romantic getaway on South Beach, based off of good reviews on TripAdvisor as well as elsewhere. Please be advised that this is a review of the Penthouse units and not of the hotel units.

We booked one of the Penthouse units because we wanted a lot of space and a terrace that had a partial ocean view. The price was great and the location was perfect.

When we arrived, the staff was super helpful and our room was ready early. But when we got into the unit, we noticed a number of problems. The terrace's table had an umbrella but it was snapped in half and laying on the terrace. None of the outdoor furniture pieces had cushions. A light was burnt out in the bathroom. The king size bed in the bedroom was situated at a weird angle that put one corner against the window, so you could only get in and out through one side of the bed. A bedside lamp was unplugged, and the outlet was behind the giant bed which was immovable. There was a small dim light in the living room, so there was essentially no light at all in the living room. The sofa was stained in the living room. Looking down from the rooftop deck, we could see that other units on the Penthouse floor had filthy terraces, including one that had a hot tub that was black with muck in it. The final straw was rattling and loud noise from the roof deck above, simply because there were trees in planters on the roof being blown around by the wind. Just insane.

When we brought these problems to the desk staff, they told us that the Penthouse units are NOT owned by the hotel but instead are owned by private owners and rented out by the hotel. As a result, they said that they couldn't help us with any of the problems we were experiencing and were not able to make good on us being put out by all of these issues. Since we were paying close to $300 a night for our stay, we were floored by the total lack of accountability, total unwillingness to help, or even make us feel compensated in some way for our terrible experience.

We would absolutely not recommend the Bentley Hotel as a result.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
I am responding on behalf of the Bentley Hotel. Thank you for your review and your feedback regarding the Penthouse. I will be sure to bring this to the attention of the proper management staff. I am happy that you found my staff accommodating to your needs. I'd like to invite you to stay at the Bentley again in the near future in one of our suites! Please email bentleysb@meninhotels.com to make your reservation at a special rate! Again, I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked two rooms from 12/21 – 12/23. We were upgraded to ocean front one-bedroom suites upon check- in. Both suites were specious and nicely furnished. My bedroom faces Ocean Drive on the 3rd floor. It was extremely noisy due to street traffic and the loud music from the restaurant downstairs. Music stops after midnight but not the traffic. There was a horrible fighting shout after midnight on the first night, sounded like from a drunken guy; it lasted 30 minutes at least without police presence.
Sofa bed in the living room was very uncomfortable. Staff was courteous. Continental breakfast included. There is $25 resort fee per night.
.

Room Tip: stay up or off street to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Bentley Hotel! I am happy that you were pleased with your accommodations and your ocean view room upgrade! I apologize for any disturbance you may have experienced due to the noise on ocean drive, however our hotel is located in the middle of all the action! I hope that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bentley Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Hotel South Beach

Address: 510 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Hotel South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Bentley Hotel South Beach in Miami’s South Beach, guests love to make themselves at home in our stylish, sophisticated, and spacious suite accommodations which have been designed to reflect the beauty of the beach just outside our doors. All you need to do is check-in, kick off your shoes, unpack, and relax. We will take care of the rest. Every comfort is right at your fingertips including European styled kitchens or kitchenettes, Italian marble bathrooms, mini-bars, a telephone with voicemail, high-speed wireless Internet access, in-room safes, plush terry bathrobes, individual temperature controls, and daily housekeeping services. Escape to the beautiful Bentley Hotel & Beach Club, recognized by Official Best of Florida, as the “2010 Best Boutique Hotel in Florida”, the Bentley Hotel & Beach Club offers luxurious amenity-rich suites, an award-winning rooftop pool deck and exclusive Bentley Beach Club access. The Hotels prime location on South Beach’s Ocean Drive is also only a half mile away from Lincoln Road Mall and the Miami Beach Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Bentley Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.