We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“verry happy NYE stay - great 3-star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentley Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Bentley Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bentley Hotel South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Secret Summer! 15% Off
Ranked #57 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“verry happy NYE stay - great 3-star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

New Year's weekend, my gf and I stayed at the Bentley (referred through a super friendly and helpful broker).

The Bentley is a 4.5/5 star 3-star hotel. It's not super fancy, but has all you need if you're looking for great stay on South Beach. Friendly and helpful front desk. Awesome location (5th St. on Ocean Ave, on the beachfront, at the southern end of all the Ocean Ave / Collins Ave' restaurants and attractions -- the bigger hotels and the shops on the Lincoln Ave promenade are at 17th st). There's a great sandwich deli place around the corner, along with Walgreens for beach supplies. We had a delicious dessert late night at the Bellini (the Bentley restaurant), which was very relaxed (and warm).

The ocean is a four min walk across the beach. The pool / hot tub on roof was good for a quick a dip; the sun chairs for a relaxing, tanning afternoon away from the beach (even though you're still overlooking the beach).

The room was your standard type room with small kitchen, small balcony, comfy-bed, small couch, tv.. perfect for sleeping in, showering, chilling in, but not lounging all day in. But, you're in the heart of SoBe so why would you want to be inside (all day) anyway.
Thumbs up. - H, NYC

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omartorell, General Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for the positive words and feedback. Furthermore, we couldn’t be happier you decided to ring in the New Year with us. Our location indeed is truly second to none, can one ask for anything more than ocean views, a rooftop pool on Ocean Drive and with great dining on site. We would love to see you and your girlfriend in the near future, please contact me at omartorell@meninhotels.com for a preferred rate.

Warm regards,
Oscar Martorell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    112
    51
    26
    17
See reviews for
54
169
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is well located at the end of Ocean Drive but it is very tired with shabby fixtures and fittings and dirty decor. Ill-fitting windows and soiled curtains, carpets, rugs and walls are complimented matched with old and broken appliances and furniture. I'd suggest that it hasn't been decorated for at least 5 years and that it is a victim of chronic under-investment. It may be that the owners have focused on their other properties at the expense of the Bentley. The "award-winning" pool deck must have won an award in the 1970's as it is well below the standards of the other (cheaper) SoBe hotels we've stayed at and there's no pool service. I got the feeling that the staff were used to plenty of complaints that they have little scope to address. Considering that this stay cost me an average of more than USD500 per night, I wish I'd either spent a bit more for the Tides or Delano or a bit less and stayed at the very comfortable Palms again. This was supposed to be a family Christmas treat and frankly I very disappointed overall.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omartorell, General Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
We apologize for any inconveniences you might have had experienced during your stay. While we strive for perfection it is only through our guest feedback can we improve the hotel and more importantly our guest experience. However, I would have to disagree with you in that our guests are always quick to share their great stay with us, as evident from our guest feedback. Your unfortunate experience at Bentley is not the true experience and we would like to invite you back to the hotel at a preferred rate during your next visit to Miami Beach. Please contact me at omartorell@meninhotels.com.

Cordially,
Oscar Martorell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We chose the Bentley for a one night romantic getaway on South Beach, based off of good reviews on TripAdvisor as well as elsewhere. Please be advised that this is a review of the Penthouse units and not of the hotel units.

We booked one of the Penthouse units because we wanted a lot of space and a terrace that had a partial ocean view. The price was great and the location was perfect.

When we arrived, the staff was super helpful and our room was ready early. But when we got into the unit, we noticed a number of problems. The terrace's table had an umbrella but it was snapped in half and laying on the terrace. None of the outdoor furniture pieces had cushions. A light was burnt out in the bathroom. The king size bed in the bedroom was situated at a weird angle that put one corner against the window, so you could only get in and out through one side of the bed. A bedside lamp was unplugged, and the outlet was behind the giant bed which was immovable. There was a small dim light in the living room, so there was essentially no light at all in the living room. The sofa was stained in the living room. Looking down from the rooftop deck, we could see that other units on the Penthouse floor had filthy terraces, including one that had a hot tub that was black with muck in it. The final straw was rattling and loud noise from the roof deck above, simply because there were trees in planters on the roof being blown around by the wind. Just insane.

When we brought these problems to the desk staff, they told us that the Penthouse units are NOT owned by the hotel but instead are owned by private owners and rented out by the hotel. As a result, they said that they couldn't help us with any of the problems we were experiencing and were not able to make good on us being put out by all of these issues. Since we were paying close to $300 a night for our stay, we were floored by the total lack of accountability, total unwillingness to help, or even make us feel compensated in some way for our terrible experience.

We would absolutely not recommend the Bentley Hotel as a result.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
I am responding on behalf of the Bentley Hotel. Thank you for your review and your feedback regarding the Penthouse. I will be sure to bring this to the attention of the proper management staff. I am happy that you found my staff accommodating to your needs. I'd like to invite you to stay at the Bentley again in the near future in one of our suites! Please email bentleysb@meninhotels.com to make your reservation at a special rate! Again, I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We booked two rooms from 12/21 – 12/23. We were upgraded to ocean front one-bedroom suites upon check- in. Both suites were specious and nicely furnished. My bedroom faces Ocean Drive on the 3rd floor. It was extremely noisy due to street traffic and the loud music from the restaurant downstairs. Music stops after midnight but not the traffic. There was a horrible fighting shout after midnight on the first night, sounded like from a drunken guy; it lasted 30 minutes at least without police presence.
Sofa bed in the living room was very uncomfortable. Staff was courteous. Continental breakfast included. There is $25 resort fee per night.
.

Room Tip: stay up or off street to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Bentley Hotel! I am happy that you were pleased with your accommodations and your ocean view room upgrade! I apologize for any disturbance you may have experienced due to the noise on ocean drive, however our hotel is located in the middle of all the action! I hope that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

No room available upon checkin attempt at 1PM after longhaul flight. Upon later return, I was assigned the last room, which was a terrible dump. The floor was constantly shaking due to kitchen aircondition below my room, in-room appliances were extremly noisy. All furniture was chipped, bed-cover had visible stains. Pool area dirty and poorly maintained.
From what I could see none of the official photos bear any resemblance with the actual rooms and public spaces.
Front office staff unhelpful and generally uninterested in their job.
Don't stay here ...unless your only reason for choosing a hotel is location

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

have just spent a week at the Bentley situated on 5th and Ocean drive South beach. First impression was of the reception area small, and busy. We arrived on Saturday am just as guests were checking out, so rooms not ready and had to wait a couple of hours. It was worth the wait, we were given room 503 studio room, it had a samll balcony and faced the rear of the hotel but considering how busy Ocean Drive is we were not disturbed by noise. The room was serviced every day and was very clean and everything you need. Kitchen had full size fridge, microwave cooker, coffee maker, toaster, kettle. The bathroom was large and again clean and all in working order though the pressure of the water seemed low still it all worked. The pool area and roof top were kept clean with enough sun loungers and shade, and the view was fab, overlooking the park and the beach. Shops were close by and plenty of restuarants although a little pricey especially with the beer, we found a restuarant called BIg Pink on 2nd street about 5 minutes walking, excellent and no service charge added to bill.
The hotel staff all very efficient, helpful and friendly. The breakfast was fine, plenty of hot coffee, OJ, cereal, waffles, and lovely croissants that could be either taken back to your room or taken on the outside terrace which we did as the weather was so nice, all in all a great hotel in an excellent location and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

PROS
- nice rooms. We stayed at a Luxury Studio. Spacious, clean.
- very nice staff. Say hello to ABILIO, the concierge, a very nice guy!
- beach across the street
- TGI Friday's and Bellini (italian) by the hotel.
- pool on top floor
- they were very nice to keep our dozens of AMAZON packages! :)

CONS
- breakfast is not really breakfast :( It's more like a couple of croissants and orange juice served in front of the reception (yes, very weird)
- Valet Service: the driver (just one guy) was NEVER there. We always had to wait about 10-15 minutes until he got there + 10 minutes for him to bring us the car.
- Valet costs 30 USD per day
- They managed to lose one of our Amazon packages and when I contacted them, there was no answer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bentley Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Hotel South Beach

Address: 510 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Hotel South Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Bentley Hotel South Beach in Miami’s South Beach, guests love to make themselves at home in our stylish, sophisticated, and spacious suite accommodations which have been designed to reflect the beauty of the beach just outside our doors. All you need to do is check-in, kick off your shoes, unpack, and relax. We will take care of the rest. Every comfort is right at your fingertips including European styled kitchens or kitchenettes, Italian marble bathrooms, mini-bars, a telephone with voicemail, high-speed wireless Internet access, in-room safes, plush terry bathrobes, individual temperature controls, and daily housekeeping services. Escape to the beautiful Bentley Hotel & Beach Club, recognized by Official Best of Florida, as the “2010 Best Boutique Hotel in Florida”, the Bentley Hotel & Beach Club offers luxurious amenity-rich suites, an award-winning rooftop pool deck and exclusive Bentley Beach Club access. The Hotels prime location on South Beach’s Ocean Drive is also only a half mile away from Lincoln Road Mall and the Miami Beach Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bentley Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bentley Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.