We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Save Saved
You added Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Perhaps not the swankiest hotel in South Beach but we got a great rate and the location is fantastic!
The hotel is located next to the SLS hotel and literally next to the ocean and walking distance to Ocean Drive by the way the hotel actually has direct beach access!
Rooms are small and so are the bathrooms but again nice enough to make your stay a comfortable one. Beds are comfy also.
My only complain would be the weird smell of humidity around the premises but it is supposed to be one of the oldest hotels in the area lol.
The pool area is nothing fancy yet super comfortable and chill and again it is awesome that u get beach access.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are an older property, but we are constantly upgrading, and maintaining the hotel. I have not noticed the strange smell of humidity, on my daily tour of the property. I will definitely bring this to the the attention of the Housekeeping Director.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    279
    162
    95
    87
See reviews for
54
394
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I use trip advisor for advice on hotels. I should have paid closer attention to the negative reviews because to me.. I have had a negative experience. The rooms are decently clean. The first room we were booked into was a compete disaster. We were close to pulling the plug and just changing hotels. Don't expect to get information on the hotel. We had no idea when room service closed, when the pool closed, or how to get back into the back part of the hotel with the gate code. If I ever came back to Miami, I would never stay here again. Please take my word for it when I say that you can do better.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Desk Supervisor at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to express your experience about your stay at the Richmond Hotel. We deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay.Our staff take pride in keeping the rooms in excellent condition. Upon check in the front desk staff always informs our guest about the hotel services hours, beach code, which is written on the key packet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

we got a great deal for the area it was so close to the beach and you have Lincoln Plaza down the street. the only down fall was the concierge was not helpful at all. We had asked about some fun things to do and all we got was some brochures...The pool is very nice and the housekeeping very good .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear the concierge was not helpful enough. We train our staff to go above and beyond when helping all our guest's. I would appreciate the chance to further discuss this issue with you. Please feel free to contact me via email.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
ismael@richmondhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend got a great deal here for our mini trip to south beach.We really enjoyed our stay.It was a short walk to all the hot spots.Try taking the walking trail behind the hotel.The staff was very helpful and gave us a upgrade on our room.(tip-Make sure your room is NOT near a Ice machine.You will be glad when you don't have to hear people yelling next to the ice machine outside your room at 2:00 am)We enjoyed the pool and the beach was great. We had 2 lounge chairs and umbrella and got our money's worth.($20 a day) If you want luxury try the Lowes or Ritz Carlton down the road. If you want an affordable place in South Beach with a friendly and helpful staff then stay at The Richmond

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,
What a great review! We appreciate your kind words.
Thank you,
Ismael Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Excellent place for vacation, the city and the hotel are very security. The reception and maneger are very attention. Have a good access for the beach. The pool is very comfortable. The gim is good. the restaurant is very good if a breakfest.

Room Tip: Be aware that the more quiet rooms are near the pool and on the sides. Individual air conditioning t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Richmond Hotel, and we hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you,
Ismael Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Don't normally write reviews but just stayed at the Richmond for 4 nights the location is excellent short walk to Lincoln plaza and the Art Deco district. The room had all the amenities fridge, hair dryer, iron and board, A/C. The pool area is so relaxing and the beach access is brilliant. The staff on the front desk were outstanding any issues or queries were sorted straight away and I would like to thank them for their customer service. The only downside was the resturant had breakfast here for three days and 2 out of the 3 they had no potatos first time we were told before ordering second time (this morning) it just came without I complained to the woman serving us and she said she didn't know about the no potato issue until we mentioned it thought this was unexceptable so sent it back which was a shame. But this was a minor gripe and the rest of the friendly staff more than made up for this

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you taking the time to post you review. We are happy you were able to relax during your stay. Potatoes are definitely a must with breakfast. We apologize that none were available during your stay. I will pass this review on to the Food and Beverage Manager, so this will not happen again.
Thank you,
Ismael Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I had a great time at the Richmond. They met expectations. They are affordable, friendly and clean. Centrally located walking distance to many restaurants and activities. For the price I would recommend this hotel. Joann checked us in and took care of us during our stay. She was an awesome person and very pleasant. The only recommendation I would make is they run out of ice fast. Florida in July is hot so get more ice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review! I will pass along the message to Jo Ann, and check on the ice situation. It's definitely hot in July, and cool drinks are a must.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.