We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Relaxing Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF OUR BEST RATE!
Ranked #118 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Gillette, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Relaxing Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed a few nights with my wife at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised how nice the pool area was, how good the food was and how friendly the staff was towards us!
Ishmael the general manager checked us in earlier and was very kind and professional. The hotel rooms need a little updating but overall it was efficient. Just a very relaxing 3 days especially near the pool area which was superb!
Will stay again...Thanks!

Room Tip: ask for the waterfront room..... we had a room facing the other hotel aside from us..but not a big d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your great review. As we are in the height of the busy season, it's sometimes a little difficult to block rooms for general maintenance. I will speak to out engineering director, and we will double our efforts! I will pass your message along to Ismael, I'm sure he will appreciate it.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    293
    164
    100
    91
See reviews for
58
410
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

its a great location on the beach as well as close to good shops and restaurants. Its reasonably quiet with a nice pool and staff. Just that its tired and worn out though. Needs update quite badly, especially the bathrooms and furniture

Room Tip: over priced and worn out - go next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear guest,
I'm sorry you had a negative experience during your stay. We are an older Art Deco property built in 1941. We are definitely different from a new high rise hotel. We always strive to update, and maintain the property. We offer the South Beach resort experience, but at a more modest price.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for five days. They have a nice basic breakfast, really nice pool area with jacuzzi and access to the miami beach. Our room was clean and cousy and big and nice and AC worked well. They cleaned towels every day while we were at the town. There was everything in the room we needed and the staff was so friendly. I don't understand the complains some people have wrote... Good location and buses are easy to catch from here to everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
Your review is greatly appreciated! We are glad you had good experience, and hope to see again very soon. Please consider yourself part of the Richmond Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As readers have seen, these reviews range from brutal to outstanding. So I went with an open mind, and some optimism...

I stayed here for four nights recently... I think the brutal reviewers are being way too dramatic and too critical, but the overly positive reviewers are also missing some basic needs of any hotel guest (cleanliness!)

I do commend the hotel for responding to the negative reviews rather than ignore them. But I noticed a patten in the responses, saying something like "this is one of the last truly Art Deco hotels in Miami Beach". Well, not true. I was in Miami Beach for a few days, and I went to four other hotels to meet friends and colleagues for drinks. ALL the hotels are Art Deco. Some of these other hotels are clearly higher end, and I realize this one is not. And I had no such expectations. It is a great price for Miami Beach. But there should be no excuse for mold on the shower tile grout, broken door handles, dirty walls (near the light switches), filthy carpets, very low water pressure in the shower. The furnishings are a mix of period Art Deco pieces and crappy hardware store "U-build" pieces. Wifi is $10 a day, which is pretty good. But I found the connection spotty at times. The hotel can blame AT&T, but at the end of the day, the hotel should be responsible for partnering with a reliable supplier. Nice lounge, nice lobby, nice pool area, and great beach access. I don't care that the room was very small, no big deal. The bed was very comfy. Most importantly, the staff was very friendly. I arrived very early and they let me check in hours ahead.

This is not the last Art Deco hotel, but it is one of the last ones to have any money spent on it!

Having said all that, for price, location, and staff, I would stay here again (if they'll have me after writing this!) But I probably wouldn't choose this hotel for a family holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time post your reviews. While we always strive to maintain a well kept property, but we obviously feel short during your stay. You have brought to attention several key areas we need to work on. I will discuss this with all the hotel managers, and get these issues resolved.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in room 307. First of all, what makes this hotel "excellent" for us is the team of professionals there. Ismael (manager), Mariano (front desk) and several of the bellmen were OUTSTANDING! For our purposes, the location was ideal since we needed easy access to the convention center. As for the hotel itself, it is a traditional art-deco hotel, which means that, yes, the rooms and bathrooms are small, lighting can be a challenge and sound-proofing doesn't really exist but all of the older hotels are like this. What sets this hotel apart truly is the staff. They will go out of their way to please you. All the hotels down Collins (with the exception of new construction) will be dated and a little tight on space but this is what adds to the charm of the South Beach experience. I also used the fitness center several times and it was adequate for doing cardio and light resistance training. It gets the job done if you don't want to go through the mission of finding a local gym that is going to charge you a ridiculous day rate. We did use the business center briefly and it was also adequate. Mariano at the front desk helped us with documents we needed printed. They also received a business package for us. Overall, this hotel is a great value for a traveler who is not going to be overly picky about a true art-deco experience and who wants personnel who will great to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your great review! I will be sure to pass this along to all departments. Please consider yourself part of the Richmond Family. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

stay somewhere else ! it does not get much worse than this dump . rooms so small you'll have to go out into the hallway to change your mind , no joke . take your own toilet paper because by the time you read this they will probably be charging for that as well. staff and manager will bold face lie to you , charge for wifi that may not work , tell you to use their computers that do not work because their wifi isn't working , give you any excuse to charge you up the wazoo for everything imaginable ,drunk or high guests noisily being escorted back to their room at 2am by security , i could go on but there is no way to fit all the stupidity in here, we stayed 2 torturous nights. we have travelled all around the world in the last 15 years and i usually never complain about accommodations but really feel strongly about warning people about this place. we have been self employed for the last 30 years and know how difficult it can be to please some people , how ever this establishment is not even remotely concerned about anything other than gouging guests. they should be shut down .

Room Tip: stay at a different hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We offer an excellent 24 hour WI-FI package for $10 dollars, but we have no hidden resort fees. We also offer Internet access in our business center. Unfortunately the business was experiencing some technical difficulties, but it was promptly resolved. The safety of all our guest's is our main priority. We will always escort our guest's to the room when needed. Please feel rest assured that no one our staff, is in the habit of lying to our guest's. We have been in business since 1941, and we have not lasted this long by gouging our guest's. We offer a great resort experience, at a very modest price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Excellent Location and potential. The door men and luggage help were very pleasant and helpful. However, the hotel staff at the front desk were mostly very unhelpful and did not seem interested in providing service or help. They were very ignorant of the area and could not provide any tourist advice. Cleaning of the rooms was poor. Linen was not replaced unless we asked, but there was no signage saying this was necessary. Even when we asked, we were left with one hand towel most days. We stayed 5 days and the room had dirt and grit on the floor when we arrived. We asked for the room to be vacuumed after a couple of days and it never was. The same dirt was there when we left!! We were very disappointed in the service and cleanliness after the write up we read by the owners.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Our front desk staff is very knowledgeable and always ready to help. The same can be said about our housekeeping staff. I apologize that we were not able to address all your issues in a timely manner. I will definitely discuss this with the housekeeping director, for further review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.