We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF OUR BEST RATE!
Ranked #119 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would stay there again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our stay at the Richmond hotel was great - the hotel was perfectly located for the Miami Music Week events which was the reason we were in town. The staff were friendly and the room very satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you, KateRx!! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    295
    165
    100
    91
See reviews for
58
412
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

For the location it is excellent for the price. The staff is so nice and friendly and makes sure all your needs are met. It is very comfortable and spacious. Most places are walking distance it is the center for everything clubs, restaurants, and the beach. Some places you may have to catch a cab to travel a small distance. I read some other reviews and it was better than I had expected. This is a great hotel and I loved my stay.

Room Tip: Dennis is very helpful at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you, Thank you, Thank YOU!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Called about reserving a group of rooms and a meeting room for one night. Guy on the phone was terribly rude and seems to have forgotten that he is in the service based industry. My first call to Miami has already made me second guess my choice on hosting people in this city. I really expected more from a family owned place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are very sorry that you had such a negative experience. Typically, our Manager answers these requests and the only similar call that we have received recently was from an underage, young man who wanted his Mother to check him and his young friends in and the Manager advised him numerous times that our policy is that all of our guests must register and must be at least 21 years of age. He called back using a phony voice but was recognized by the caller ID. Was this you, Sir? If not, please call our General Manager and you will be provided wonderful service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. It is not fancy but very comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was 2 blocks from the Convention Center and this was why I selected this hotel.I could walk to most places or it was a short cab ride. There is a nice looking breakfast. I did not get to eat breakfast there but it looked good. The pool was pleasant and clean. It was also on the ocean. If I have another meeting in Miami I would be very happy to stay here. It is not fancy but fit my needs for the meeting.I felt very comfortable there traveling alone to my meeting.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

South Beach partying, it's a super location. For the price and the location it's was a great deal The hallway is not well illuminated but the superior room is pretty good. The service was surprisingly excellent. The person who made it happen or the 'goto guy' would be Ismael Green. He made the experience a great one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

So the very best thing that I can say about the Richmond Suites is that it is really close to everything - 2 blocks to the beach, 2 blocks to the convention center, 2 blocks to Lincoln Av Mall. The Richmond Hotel looked very nice with a well appointed lobby, restaurant, pool and beach from area. The problem is that the "suites" are a barely reconditioned apartment building a block or so away from the hotel - so you end up paying 3 star hotel prices for the luxury and amenities of your uncle Irwin's cold-water walk up in Brooklyn (the hot water actually worked fine). There was one nice sized bedroom with an ikea queen size bed, 2 nice Art Deco easy chairs and a (fold out?) couch in the living room to watch the 13" RCA tv with up to 10 cable channels (actually it didn't work when I got there, but they managed to rummage another one up from the basement. They even had Bubbie's twin bed in the corner of the living room - the only thing missing was the smell of boiled cabbage. There was a full kitchen and with 1 plate, 2 forks, 2 spoons, 2 knives, 3 glasses of different sizes, 2 coffee cups and a coffee maker but no filters and 1 6" sauté pan and an rusty can opener. That was it. No paper towels, dish towels, dish soap, pots, bowls, kettle, ice cube trays - any thing you might need to prepare or serve food. My biggest frustration was the lack of wifi of any kind - not free, not pay, not even piratable. There was no room phone - a plug for one, but no phone. I liked the bones of the place - authentic deco era decor, 10' ceilings, parquet floors - but so little thought or effort went into the execution it just
left me feeling disappointed because I could see what a great place it could be to come with friends or a family. I hope they read this a try a little harder.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Richmond Studios. The Studios are a relatively new offering and have been enjoyed by many international and domestic visitors over the past year: guests enjoy Old Miami Beach charm at budget-friendly rates. Richmond Studio guests also have full use and access of all of our oceanfront Richmond Hotel's facilities and services. Due to our success with this special property, plans are currently underway for several improvements and upgrades to the Studios: including WiFi, full telephone service and improved cable TV selections
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel may not be for everyone but we loved it. We typically stay in Hilton brand hotels but there we no Hilton Choices in South Beach that fit our budget so we decided to go with a local hotel. Warning - this is no Hilton! It is old but well maintained. We had a fantastic room on the 5 th floor which may have been an upgrade. It was a darling room with a large semi-private terrace. It just on small double bed but was fine for two. The pool is small but there are reclining pool chairs with cushions. They provide towels. We spent all our time on the beach and this hotel is perfect for that. They have beach chair rentals too. Everything is extra -only valet parking and that is 35.00 a day. The have a small open air resturant and you can get cocktails all day at the walk up window. This is a small place and tight to neighboring buildings so I imagine the lower rooms to have no view what so ever. Request. a 5th or 6 th floor room. I loved the Art Deco and the character Barack was awesome!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.