We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just what we needed !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have been to SoBe many times, and many levels of hotels. This one was just what we needed... nice, clean, with a pool, and direct beach access... and a very good value. Upon arrival we were genuinely welcomed at the door, and the front desk. And, lucky to get an upgraded room.
Great location, nice pool, warm spa pool, and great to walk out the back to the beach. For this time of year, a great combination of ocean time and pool time (ocean was warm, but air cool, so great to just head back to the warm spa.
Nice and polite pool service, no pressure, but we definitely enjoyed being spoiled at times by ordering poolside.
Short walk to everything on Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive.
Completely enjoyed the place, and the retro-real-look.
Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go superior, not standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    286
    162
    95
    88
See reviews for
55
399
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Booked the hotel on Hotwire and were allocated the Studios. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we were dreading staying there! We paid £52 a night which for Miami is an affordable price.. The studios are located a block away from the main hotel on a back road but very close to Lincoln Road which has an array of shops and restaurants.

The studio itself was actually ok although the utilities are a little out dated. The only negatives were there was no working safe, no Internet (although we managed to pick up wifi from elsewhere) and we were visited by a cockroach in the middle of the night which was not a pleasant suprise. But this didn't put us off as have experienced this in many ground floor self catering apartments in Europe! Think it may have just been a one off as once rid of the little critter we had no more unwelcome visitors!

The studios have use of all the hotel facilities which is good. The pool area is really pleasant and the service was great!

If you are just wanting cheap accommodation with no thrills but use of a pool then this is a great choice. On our trip we stayed in 2 other hotels 2 1/2 star and a 3 1/2 star which we paid a lot more for and this was definatly the better choice!

If you are staying in the hotel then don't let this review put you off. The studios I think is the budget option and if travelling to Miami on a budget again then would stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just recently spent nearly a week at The Richmond with my wife and experienced a great time the staff was wonderful, the hotel was clean and Mr. Yellanis was extremely helpful ( I hope I spelled correctly) Prior to checking in to the Richmond I read some reviews of this hotel and some where not that great, but after staying at The Richmond I see that those reviews where just untrue or the hotel has changed drastically. The GM Stuart runs a nononsense ship with his staff and in return they offer a 5 star hospitality rating to their guest.. The location is great, the pool is amazing, the staff is polite and helpful. I recommend the Richmond to everyone that has been to southbeach atleast once already so they can really appreciate a great hotel.. Even though I would have loved to have the ocean view room it looked amazing from pool, My wife and I still had a wonderful room.. I will return again thank you Stuart and Richmond Hotel.
Mr. Yellanis thank you for such great hospitality and many blessings to you and your family.

Kim Graves
DaJuane Goode

Room Tip: Ocean view room I would have loved to stay in that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Wow!!! Thank you!! We want every guest to feel this way. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location is pretty good, you are on Collins Ave and only a block away from the beach. The hotel charges $35 per day for valet parking (so high!) but you don't really have any other options. The lobby is stylish, the staff were friendly, the pool and veranda were nice, the rooms were cute and roomy with cable flat screen tv, but the bed was not very comfortable. We tried to call room service in the evening and were told they only offer it for breakfast and lunch, which I thought was a little odd. We chose this hotel based on location and price and for those two reasons I would recommend, but I would not recommend if you plan to spend much time in your room or want anything luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staff was mostly friendly. Rooms were ok.
PROS: Cool Art Deco building with nice veranda, pool area and lawn area. Good location, walking distance to restaurants and shopping.
CONS: It should be beachfront, but there was some sand dredging work being done right in front of the hotel. There was a huge fenced in area with very large and loud equipment – an ugly sight. Not hotel’s fault but… There was no hotel beachchair/umbrella service at beach, so hotel referred us to vendor that offered guests a discount. Turns out vendor was set up next to the noisy equipment and they offered ½ off umbrella rentals (a whopping $2.5 off from the $25 for chair/umbrella set). We ended up to walking away quite a distance to get away from the noise.
Then hotel decides to power wash the pool area while guests were lounging at the pool! They made all guests move to one side of pool and closed off the other side. They were very loud and it reeked of gasoline. Now hotel guests couldn’t have a nice experience at the hotel beachfront nor the hotel poolside – they should have at least postpone the pool work until beachfront was cleared.
Pool guy wouldn’t help us set up poolside lounge chairs which had being stacked out in the lawn area. I asked for help but he didn’t, he just stood there and chatted with co-workers while my 84 year old in-law had to get his own chair and struggle to lift it over other guests to get by! We were assigned rooms on main floor. We asked if possible to change rooms on another floor, but receptionist didn’t even check – she just said no. The long hallway (main corridor) was really dark and you could hear people in hallway at all hours. TVs didn’t work properly and the ‘Wi-Fi for AT&T customers only’ didn’t work at all. Housekeeping didn’t clean rooms until very late in the afternoon, even after requesting service. Manager didn’t respond to our request to talk with him. It was a very disappointing experience for us.

Room Tip: Higher floors for quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay. The beach project was a state project which has just been completed and the open, sandy expanse has been re-opened fully. Your request to speak to the manager came at 10 PM (one-half hour after the manager on duty had left) and your room issue when checked by our staff and did not seem to be a problem: but you were moved to a different room in order to satisfy your request. The General Manager was notified at that time and suggested that he would meet with you in the morning. Upon arrival that morning, the Manager and Housekeeping Manager immediately inspected the original room and found no issues. Your othere accommodations were problem-free. Unfortunately, the gentlemen working on the pool deck were performing a project for an outside vendor on our deck and were not Hotel employees: we sincerely apologize to you for any inconveniences to you during your stay. We hope that we may welcome you back and provide you with the enjoyable guest experience that we intend to give each guests who visits our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The main hotel is a gorgeous art deco building with a beautifull lobby and pool. But that is where is stops. They also own a building across the street that consists of studio apartments furnished. They are absolutely tragic. Sparsely furnished and not decorated at all. The nicest thing in this unit is the mini fridge. It has not been remodeled since the 50's. No internet, no services at all. Its a dump!!!!

Room Tip: use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
The Richmond Studios are clean and comfortably furnished in this special deco property which is just steps from the beach. Guests are welcome to use all of the facilties and amenities - the restaurant, pool, jacuzzi, fitness center, Concierge, etc. - of our Richmond Hotel (just around the corner and directly on the ocean) and WiFi is coming soon to the Richmond Studios. Many, many guests (especially international travelers) are enjoying this property and we are sure that you were attracted by our incredibly affordable rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just arrived home from a wonderful, long weekend stay at The Richmond, a beautiful Art Deco boutique hotel in the heart of Miami Beach (Collins Ave just a short walk from Lincoln Road).
The accommodations were delightfully updated, but retained the flavor of the deco theme. The staff was most accommodating, from Marco at the front door, to Ismael at the front desk, to Stuart Weintraub the General Manager, and Ramon at the dining room. Every need was met with a smile and an offer for further assistance. The pool area was very comfortable with direct beach access to a private, "manned" cabana area. My wife and I highly recommend this delightful Miami Beach "treasure." Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear of hotel make the pool and beach a bit more accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you VERY much for your kind comments! This is the experience that we dedicate ourselves to delivering to every guest that visits our special property. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.