We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pool area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Save Saved
You added Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pool area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the very nice pool area. There's also direct access to the beach from the pool area, in case you want to take a dip in the ocean. The location is nice and convenient, close to Lincoln Road, as well as all restaurants and cafés, although away from the noise of the party district. Staff is also very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichmondManager, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    298
    170
    99
    85
See reviews for
50
372
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at Richmond for the labor day weekend after reading reviews here and finding out that they got the best price/value over the weekend.
I mainly like the location, since it is very close to Lincoln mall and the happening area in Miami beach. Another consideration is that it is the best priced hotel for the oceanfront location available at that time.

The pool and jacuzzi are awesome. No complain. Very easy to walk to the beach. Just opened the back gate and we were at the beach already.

However, do not expect a modern room nor big room. The room was a bit small and the bathroom was small too. I was not so worried about it, since I already knew what to expect.

So, if you just want to get a good oceanfront hotel at a strategic location without the price of Ritz Carlton, then this is it.

By the way, there is a nice pizza restaurant that opens very late night only a walk away. It is called Pizza Bar. Very good pizza and ice-cold beer

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

First timer in Miami and it was wonderful experience. Location was perfect! Easy access to the beach & walking distance to almost everything on SB. VERY HELPFUL staff :) definitely staying here again next year!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great experience. My first time in Miami, my husband booked the hotel blind for a weekend getaway. We are looking forward to staying there again. The beach is footsteps away and the pool area is quiet and pretty. It is a short walk to the restaurants and clubs. The rooms are clean and the staff very polite. Considering it was a holiday weekend it was a great value and a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Well everything was great at the beginning just like my marriage but it had to come to the end when I ask for towels over 4 hours and I never received any , I spoke the front desk and a guy name Robert said it would be shortly about 4 times , I spoke to the maids but they could even communicate with me. It was just terrible that I didn't have my portable translator they didn't know what I was saying. The next day I spoke to Robert again he and mr.rodney help me the best they could even the big tall guy for maintenance help I think his name was Allen but the point I'm about to give the owner is that you're staff needs help and you're manger can't handle it , one more think I spoke to the housekeeping supervisor she said her name was lisset or something like that she is a straight up liar. Never gave us the towels on 3 day we was there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
There is a manager on property everyday of the year; available and more than willing to speak with our visitors. We are committed to providing wonderful, memorable service to all of our guests. Robert is our Front Desk Supervisor and serves as a Manager on Duty: he is fully capable and empowered to assist in satisfying all reasonable guests needs and requests. Not only do we have an ample inventory of towels and linens, but we have also recently received additional supplies in order to provide our guests with these amenities throughout the day and evening. Unfortunately, some guests requests towels multiple times throughout the day and night which may - at times - provide our staff with a challenge at certain hours. However, we will discuss your comments with our entire staff to minimize any inconvenience to every guest. It is a shame that your aggressive, negative and attacking attittude may have impacted your marriage; and similarly, the way that service providers are perceived in attending to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Richmond is in a great location, walking distance to the nightlife but far enough away to get a full nights sleep. Nice pool and jacuzzi just steps from the beach. Rooms are about what you would expect for this area, basic and clean but nothing over the top. Very helpful and responsive staff, I wish the other south beach businesses had this friendly customer service! I would recommend this hotel to a friend staying in the south beach area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for visiting our very special property; and for your lovely remarks. We are all dedicated to hospitality and have made a personal commitment to providing friendly service to our guests. We truly appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mifflin, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and i loved the art deco hotel. The pool area was beautiful and very tropical looking. The beach was very close by, as was Lincoln Mall, shopping and cafes. The staff was very nice and helpful, looking up addresses for us and even confirming a tour for us. The cafe in the hotel had great food, coffee and service. The chef's dollar pancakes were the best!! The owners were very friendly, too. The room was small but had great character. This was our first time in South Beach and we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach
Richmond Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.