We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #97 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 3 nights and were pleased with the location, the pool, the food and the customer service especially by the front desk people. There is a lovely shaded spot where you can hang out on hammocks. The poolside food service was great and the pool was large and beautiful. Watch for the resident iguana who likes to dine on lettuce leaves!

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    422
    200
    97
    68
See reviews for
262
288
46
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our third time back at the South Seas. Love the location of the hotel. It is conveniently located close to fabulous restaurants and Lincoln Road in the Deco section of South Beach. The rooms are on the small side which is really not too bad and the bathrooms are tiny and don't really have room for toiletries, hairdryers, electric shavers, etc. But again, it's an older hotel. This time I noticed that our bathroom wasn't cleaned every day. The faucet on the sink still had water and toothpaste droplets on it instead of being wiped clean. The tub wasn't cleaned around the edge and had dried shampoo on it. The shampoo was bright orange so it was pretty obvious and should have been cleaned. Clean towels were provided daily which was really appreciated. The outdoor pool area is really nice and is very tropical. The staff at the pool were very attentive and kept the area neat and seem very proud of the work they do. If you don't want to use the pool, a short walk out the back takes you to the beach. The South Seas doesn't provide lounge chairs or umbrellas on the beach so that is an additional $30/day for 2 lounges and an umbrella. The ladies who work in the Pilikia cafe are super sweet. The food is below average and the pina coladas are made with a sugary pre mix. The free breakfast is like groundhog day - the same thing every day. They really should switch it up. Rubber scrambled eggs, hash brown potatoes, sausage, oatmeal, bread, yogurt, oranges, bananas, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. Overall, it's a nice place to stay and a good value. With a few tweeks, it could be fabulous.

Room Tip: Go for the extra $ and get a room with an ocean view or at the very least a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

During a recent stay, I stayed in the suite on the top floor. It was a wonderful experience. The views are stunning and the room is nicely appointed. Small kitchenette with a fridge. Great sun deck. I'd do it again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It was a pleasure to spend 5 nights at this delightful hotel. The staff was very accommodating, the rooms clean and the weather was delightful. The location was perfect for the activities es we had planned.

.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose P, General Manager at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

It is most gratifying to know that your stay was delightful from start to finish. I send you my sincere thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. Thank you for choosing the South Seas, and please come and see us again.
Warm regards;

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at South Seas Hotel in South Beach Miami February 5- February 9, 2015. This was our first visit to South Beach, and we loved the South Seas Hotel! The location is perfect, the king bed was so comfortable, and the staff was accommodating. At the free breakfast each morning, I enjoyed the wonderful oatmeal, toast, yogurt, fresh oranges, and the lobby had a nice bowl of apples each day. The best part of staying at South Beach was the price, and the size. We had maid service twice daily. The location is perfect because you are in walking distance to Lincoln Mall and Ocean Drive. Also the hotel has a nice pool, lounge area, and it is right on the beach. The restaurant at the hotel had a nice lunch and delicious 1/2 price drinks at Happy Hour. I tried four different drinks, and they were all great. Also you are in walking distance to Duck Tours which you should try. Our Duck Tour guide was wonderful and recommended Mango's which was a great experience even if I am 70 years old! We just loved walking up and down Lincoln Mall each night and eating at the nice restaurants along the walk. I hope to return to South Seas again soon. You really can't beat the price.

Room Tip: I would stay on the second or third floor because the first floor gets more traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just returned from South Seas Hotel in South Beach and what a bright, warm experience! Not just the fantastic weather, but the cheery, bright people also. Just when we thought that the clean, bright room and exceptionally tropically lanscaped venue couldn't get any better, Rudy at the night desk handed us a South Seas t-shirt to help us remember this exceptional experience. It isn't just a hotel, you feel like family! We had a great time talking to the gorgeous bartenders, Lara and Charlotte. Our maid, Mabel was exceptional, helping us out with everything possible. Anna at the front desk let us buy an upgraded room which made all the difference in our view and outlook, and we were lead to this amazing experience by the sure to succeed concierge, Vladamir

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose P, General Manager at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful letter, and for singling out members of our dedicated team for special recognition. I will pass along your kind words to them. We try to make each guest feel completely at home and welcome in our tropical paradise, and your kind words have us all smiling with pride for accomplishing that. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards;

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is just what you need in Miami Beach. Great location in South Beach, right on the Beach. Free Breakfast with great personnel, Rosario, Martha, Laurena and of course the staff in the kitchen mark Jim and Andreas. The pool area is with palm trees and lots of sun. The Rooms are nice and comfortable. The staff at the Bar are also great., they greet you like a good friend and remember your name. The ladies are Charlotte, Lara, Susannah, Angela, Sylvana and Sharon. We have been coming to this hotel for 10 years in February and feel like we are coming home. Finally, The staff at the front desk, Ana, Laura, Robert, Rudy and the other lady whose name I cannot recall, are so very helpful and friendly you really look forward to staying here; The managers do everything they can to make your stay comfortable.
The reason for mentioning all the names is that they make your stay so much more enjoyable especially when you stay a few days or longer. They are one of the main reasons for our constant return each year. I think you will be very satisfied if you choose this hotel for your stay in Miami Beach.
Bob Dougherty

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotwire, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.