We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Awful service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #101 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Great location. Awful service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Service was awful throughout the entire trip. My husband and I only speak English and were looked at as the foreigners. Rooms were not clean. My husband got athletes foot after the first day. The back of the hotel is a great set up and the location is nice; but I'm sure you can find much nicer hotels with cleaner rooms on the same road for the same cost.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Caitlin M:

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. We are disappointed to read your comments about your recent experience. We truly apologize for not meeting your expectations and your comments will be shared with our Management team.

We hope you will reconsider and give us a second chance when visiting Miami Beach again. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 so that we can make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    367
    174
    90
    64
See reviews for
226
242
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New york
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

I have made 7 trips to Miami and everytime I was there I stayed at the South Seas! At check in you would think after all the stays there they would acknowledge me as a return guest but,Nothing mentioned. This time I was there for only 2 days and arrived at the hotel around 11am I asked how long the room would be ready the lady at the desk said to come back at 1:30 when I did the room still wasn't ready- so I spent the day at by the pool and finally around 4 it was ready. The room was ok had a funny smell and the following day the housekeeper didn't leave us any towels or shampoo/conditioner or soap! Another thing was the pool it was terrible so unkept! Stuff swimming all over the place so we spent our time at the beach. The location is great and close by to nightlife in Miami but South Seas really disappointed me this time.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Sammmyyyy:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are saddened to hear that your stay was not the great experience you were expecting. We would love to provide early check ins for all of our guests but due to our high occupancy we are not able to. We are more the willing to take requests and we are sorry that we were not able to honor your request for an early check in. We have shared your comments with our Management team to see where we can improve in some of the other aspects you mentioned.

Our location is certainly a unique selling point and we are glad you were able to enjoy it. We would sincerely appreciate another opportunity to make it up to you. Should you wish to return, please do not hesitate to contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was a good buy. The staff was very friendly. There is a nice sized pool if you are not a beach person, The beach is a short walk outside the back gate and the propery is close to Lincoln Road and Espinola way.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Bee9876:

Thank you for your kind note following your stay at the South Seas Hotel. It is always nice to learn of the positive experiences on our property, and we are pleased to know that your visit was no different. We have shared your comments with our guest services team who was humbled by your remarks.

We are confident that your return trip will be just as enjoyable, and if there is anything that we can do to help arrange, please contact us at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678.

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

So I made the mistake when in a bind to book a hotel with travelocity for reasons of flight schedule departing from Europe. At the time, Soth Seas was not listed in the offer.The day after checking in to our disaster Hotel, we walked over to the South Seas, as we have stayed there before and it had become our "secret gem". When I told the lady at the desk my situation and dire need to get my children out of the hotel (although non refundable) for the next 3 nights, the were able to make arrangements for us. The last night, we "checked out" but we able to leave our belongings at the desk for the day untill we were sure there was nobody cancelling that a room may open up. They did their best...till about 6pm. We stayed by the pool, had lunch and waited it out. We had to go back to the rat rrap of the original hotel for the last night, but the SS saved our days in SOBE before we took off for our trip to the Gulf. We thank you EVER so kindly...and will see you next summer :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. We are very happy to hear you had such a pleasant experience at the South Seas Hotel. We are thrilled to hear such a positive feedback on our service staff as they certainly go the extra mile for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our efforts to make your South Beach experience a memorable one.

We hope you will continue to choose the South Seas Hotel in the future and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again. Always contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our Hotel Packages!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a nice and affordable boutique hotel. The hotel is clean and neat. The location is right on the beach and close to other activities. We enjoyed the pool and beach area. We ordered pizza and it was delicious. The facility could use a couple of minor updates. The service we received from the front desk/bellman and outside bar should of been more friendly. We felt like more of a bother than a guest. However, the ladies that set up and served breakfast were very nice and helpful. If I know the service is going to be better my family will be back otherwise we will probably try a new location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Julie:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our beachfront location, overall cleanliness, and pool area. We regret to see that you were not fully satisfied with some of our service staff and we apologize for any shortcomings. We greatly value your business and have shared your review with our team.

We always strive to create pleasant experiences for our guests and do hope you will consider us for a future stay. On your return, please contact us directly at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 so that we can make special arrangements for you.

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Hotel is in a good central location but room was getting a bit tired. Breakfast was a standard inclusion and was basic but good. Pool was very nice place to chill out and the beach access was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Miami Beach. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our beachfront location, complimentary breakfast and pool area. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as your kind words and constructive comments are greatly appreciated.

We sincerely appreciate your business and we hope to be at your service on your next visit. Please contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn more about our special offers!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The staff were friendly, helpful, multilingual, all great things. But the hotel has seen better days. Paint is peeling, carpets are worn, things are broken in and around the hotel. Housekeeping cleaned our room only one of the two days we were there. Coffee machine was supplied with decaf and black tea, but no regular coffee (requested and received, but one of those things one doesn't want to have to deal with in the early a.m., and wasn't resupplied the following day as housekeeping didn't visit our room.) The continental breakfast is particularly spare - bread and bagels with toasters that almost work, fruit that's underripe, badly made coffee. I suppose, given that we got a cheap web-rate booking well in advance compensates for some of all that, but only sort of.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for dedicating your time to review your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your words expressing the attentiveness and friendliness of our staff, it is our pleasure to make each and every guest feel welcome. We have shared your comments with our Management team and we hope to make improvements in any area where needed.

We hope to be at your service again next time you visit Miami Beach. You may contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our best rates available!

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean. On South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is an A-list boutique hideaway in Miami Beach. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Swimming pool & complimentary breakfast. Enjoy a bountiful breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside at our beach front café, or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. At night, tiki torches illuminate your romantic beach side hideaway. Sleek Art Deco-style setting. Gleaming terrazzo floors underline the mid-century modern flavor of the intimate public areas. Vintage photographs from Miami's red-hot Roaring Twenties line the corridors, linking South Florida's fascinating history with today's excitement. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Luxurious amenities. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are daily newspapers, business center, and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. o Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach o Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenitieso One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center o 20 minutes to Miami International Airporto Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls o 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;