We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Save Saved
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #95 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So I made the mistake when in a bind to book a hotel with travelocity for reasons of flight schedule departing from Europe. At the time, Soth Seas was not listed in the offer.The day after checking in to our disaster Hotel, we walked over to the South Seas, as we have stayed there before and it had become our "secret gem". When I told the lady at the desk my situation and dire need to get my children out of the hotel (although non refundable) for the next 3 nights, the were able to make arrangements for us. The last night, we "checked out" but we able to leave our belongings at the desk for the day untill we were sure there was nobody cancelling that a room may open up. They did their best...till about 6pm. We stayed by the pool, had lunch and waited it out. We had to go back to the rat rrap of the original hotel for the last night, but the SS saved our days in SOBE before we took off for our trip to the Gulf. We thank you EVER so kindly...and will see you next summer :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. We are very happy to hear you had such a pleasant experience at the South Seas Hotel. We are thrilled to hear such a positive feedback on our service staff as they certainly go the extra mile for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our efforts to make your South Beach experience a memorable one.

We hope you will continue to choose the South Seas Hotel in the future and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again. Always contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our Hotel Packages!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    345
    161
    87
    60
See reviews for
205
230
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice and affordable boutique hotel. The hotel is clean and neat. The location is right on the beach and close to other activities. We enjoyed the pool and beach area. We ordered pizza and it was delicious. The facility could use a couple of minor updates. The service we received from the front desk/bellman and outside bar should of been more friendly. We felt like more of a bother than a guest. However, the ladies that set up and served breakfast were very nice and helpful. If I know the service is going to be better my family will be back otherwise we will probably try a new location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Julie:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our beachfront location, overall cleanliness, and pool area. We regret to see that you were not fully satisfied with some of our service staff and we apologize for any shortcomings. We greatly value your business and have shared your review with our team.

We always strive to create pleasant experiences for our guests and do hope you will consider us for a future stay. On your return, please contact us directly at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 so that we can make special arrangements for you.

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is in a good central location but room was getting a bit tired. Breakfast was a standard inclusion and was basic but good. Pool was very nice place to chill out and the beach access was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Miami Beach. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our beachfront location, complimentary breakfast and pool area. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as your kind words and constructive comments are greatly appreciated.

We sincerely appreciate your business and we hope to be at your service on your next visit. Please contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn more about our special offers!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were friendly, helpful, multilingual, all great things. But the hotel has seen better days. Paint is peeling, carpets are worn, things are broken in and around the hotel. Housekeeping cleaned our room only one of the two days we were there. Coffee machine was supplied with decaf and black tea, but no regular coffee (requested and received, but one of those things one doesn't want to have to deal with in the early a.m., and wasn't resupplied the following day as housekeeping didn't visit our room.) The continental breakfast is particularly spare - bread and bagels with toasters that almost work, fruit that's underripe, badly made coffee. I suppose, given that we got a cheap web-rate booking well in advance compensates for some of all that, but only sort of.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for dedicating your time to review your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your words expressing the attentiveness and friendliness of our staff, it is our pleasure to make each and every guest feel welcome. We have shared your comments with our Management team and we hope to make improvements in any area where needed.

We hope to be at your service again next time you visit Miami Beach. You may contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our best rates available!

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was old and gross. We were right next to the elevator. TV was broke, they replaced it. The toilet broke and would not flush, noise above was so bad, did not sleep! Entire hotel was old and gross. To make things worse, our room faced a disgusting alley with dumpsters up and down. Guess you get what you pay for! No way this is three and a half star hotel???!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear danigirl029:

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay with us. It seems that your experience was not as you expected and we are deeply sorry for it. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and ensure your concerns are being addressed.

We recognize there is always room for improvement and we hope you will give us another chance to make it up for you.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here with friends for two nights ! Rooms were a but small but ok for the time that you spend in them - no view from rooms and they are a bit tied but very clean.

The pool area , beach and pool bar are brilliant and the staff are very friendly, breakfast is also very good,

The hotel is right on the beach, right on Collins avenue and only 1 block away from all the shops and restaurants!

Great hotel and would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for choosing the South Seas Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our beachfront location, pool area, restaurant, and the friendly service from our staff. We are glad that you had a nice time and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Please think of us the next time you visit our beautiful Miami Beach and always contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our Hotel Packages!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeman, South Dakota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and attractive but pretty typical. Nice room with a pretty good view of the ocean. They have a good private beach and a nice pool. A very good and reliable place to stay but don't expect anything amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management S, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Matthew:

Thank you for choosing to stay at the South Seas Hotel. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback about your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay overall and we appreciate you highlighting our cleanliness, pool area, and room features.

We really appreciate your business and we hope to be at your service again soon!. Don't forget to contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn about our Hotel Packages!

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean. On South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is an A-list boutique hideaway in Miami Beach. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Swimming pool & complimentary breakfast. Enjoy a bountiful breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside at our beach front café, or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. At night, tiki torches illuminate your romantic beach side hideaway. Sleek Art Deco-style setting. Gleaming terrazzo floors underline the mid-century modern flavor of the intimate public areas. Vintage photographs from Miami's red-hot Roaring Twenties line the corridors, linking South Florida's fascinating history with today's excitement. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Luxurious amenities. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are daily newspapers, business center, and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. o Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach o Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenitieso One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center o 20 minutes to Miami International Airporto Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls o 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.