We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #96 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Boston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

we usually stay at another hotel (Shelbourne) but just a few days before we were supposed to arrive we were told that the Shelbourne was still under construction. So we did some quick homework & came up with the South Seas. What a find !!! Nice hotel with nice people for a reasonable rate in the heart of South Beach. Our room was beautiful and clean with a nice view of the beach & pool. Only negative was that a neighboring hotel's pool was closed so they were allowed to use the South Seas which made it a little more difficult to find a nice seat under an umbrella.Nice bar & restaurant right off the pool was convenient. The hotel was in EASY walking distance to Ocean Drive and our favorite restaurant (Mia Roma). Since the Shelbourne is going sooooo upscale (and probably up-priced) we will be staying at the South Seas for the 3 or 4 trips a year we take to Miami

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for replying with your comments. We really appreciate the time you have taken to share all the details about your experience with us.

Once again, thank you so much for recommending the South Seas Hotel, and please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678... we can't wait to welcome you to our family of repeat guests.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    441
    213
    102
    70
See reviews for
280
306
47
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel was a traditional boutique hotel in Miami, The staff were fantastic everyone from Ana at the front desk to the house maids were so polite and very helpful the whole time we were there, I also loved the cute rooms.
I will definately plan on returning there in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms are cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Lenny:

Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing to stay at the South Seas Hotel. We are thrilled you found our service staff to be fantastic, polite and helpful and we humbly appreciate your high praises. We are pleased, too, that you found our rooms to be cozy and cute.

We hope you will join us again soon for another lovely experience. Prior to your next visit, please contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678... we love our repeat guests.

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We came there with a four days reservation made blind with hotels.com. Unfortunately we got a room with a view to the wall of just another hotel, no sky, no city, no trees, no park, no pool: just a wall in a distance about five feet. Ouch!
This was really deceiving, being in Miami Beach and just looking into a wall.
There was no other room to get and we asked for to checkout after one nite. One lady at at front desk was very unfriendly and answered harsh, that even after move out we have to pay for four nites. But glad that there was a collegue of her, who managed that we could check out nexst day and just been charged for one day. Thanks to that lady (March 22nd).
The rest of the hotel, beside our room is ok: the pool is great in a grown tropical garden.
Restauration of the hotel is in an urgent need, but hopefully the nice tropical garden would be untouched.
So maybe if you get a better room with a view to somewhere its quite ok, directly at the beach, close to espaniola way.

Room Tip: Room WITH any view and not to the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We appreciate your constructive feedback. Our hotel has different room types, including Suites, Ocean Front, Partial Ocean view, Pool view, and Classic rooms. After reading your comments, it is likely that you reserved a Classic room, which is a quiet comfortable inside room. We apologize that the selected room type did not meet your expectations. We also regret to hear you experienced some misunderstandings at our reception desk. Your comments are being reviewed with our team in order to learn from our shortcomings.

We also are glad you enjoyed our location, close to Española Way and we thank you for acknowledging our pool area surrounded by our tropical garden.

Should your travel plans bring you back to our area, please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations team directly at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 so that we may recommend a room more suitable for you.

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is my 2nd trip back and what a disappointment. We booked an ocean view room. Our room did not overlook the ocean as advertised. Our room did, in fact, overlook a construction zone. I’m not sure if the new pool is going to be at the South Seas or at the neighboring resort but a large hole in the ground wasn’t what I was expecting when I looked out my ocean view room. When we addressed this with the staff at the front desk, we were told it WAS an ocean view room (we just had to crane our necks hard to the left). After a bit of discussion, she offered to drop the room rate $20. When we asked to speak to a manager we were told he was not on premise. We had to ask for her to reach out to him via cell. Shouldn’t that just be a given? Is that something that a paying guest should have to ask for when it’s clear we are disappointed and unhappy?

Our room was quite rundown. We prefer boutique hotels over the large chains. We understand the rooms will be older and smaller. It’s part of what makes them quaint and enjoyable. This room, however, wasn’t charming. This room had paint peeling in chunks from the ceiling and a dirty bathroom. The coffee maker didn’t work and we didn’t get shampoo or conditioner. I didn’t need the shampoo or conditioner; I’m simply pointing out the small things that were overlooked. Even the counter where the coffee machine sat looked like it hadn’t been wiped down in months.

A few other things to note would be the early morning wake up from the construction crew, the trash that was in the hallway all morning and the elevator that another couple and I waited 10 minutes for before we finally gave up and took the stairs. Lastly, the broken pipe that left the entire hotel without water for hours. We had to arrive at our next destination without a shower. Broken pipes happen. It’s an unfortunate reality of older buildings. It was just one more thing we had to deal with on a visit that was already falling apart from the time we walked in to our room.

Won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Call them and verify the room you're getting has a full ocean view. If it's partial view, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Kelly:

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we always welcome both praise and constructive criticism from our guests. On behalf of our entire team, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you like to discuss further.

We truly hope that you can give us a second chance to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I normally dont write reviews but I was pretty upset with my stay at south seas. My wife and I booked the penthouse suite which cost us over 600$ a night. With the exception of the ocean view the room was pathetic. There was broken tiles throughout the room. The grout between the tile was breaking apart and crumbling. The bathroom was the worst part. It was small with a dingy bathtub and cheapo shower curtain! It was a cast iron tub which means it hasn't been changed since the 1960s. The TV was placed on a low TV stand so when your in bed you cant see the TV because the bed is about 4 feet high. Ive never been in such rip off penthouse suit in my life. the pictures on the website are really deceiving. If you want to stay in a nice affordable hotel with walkable beach access consider edgewater on ocean ave. A ocean view room cost a third of the price and the entire hotel has been upgraded accordingly. I'll post pictures shortly .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Abe:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments and feedback are extremely important to us as we are constantly learning from our guests' experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We always encourage our guests to inform us of any needs or concerns they have during their stay as we can have the opportunity to fulfill their expectations. Our Engineering team has been informed and will look into the details you mentioned.

Once again, we appreciate all your comments and we hope you will give us a chance to change your mind about us during a future stay.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Location: very good for south beach. But don't forget to ask if the beach loungers and umbrellas are included...if not it's $15 per chair/umbrella per day.
Staff friendliness: very unfriendly. The front desk personnel did not care that hey had messed up our booking.
Noise: construction next door was very annoying early in the morning and in the afternoon by the pool. The ceiling insulation is poor and you can hear everything in the room above.
Extras: no cots in the whole hotel so had one kid on the floor.
Internet was free...bonus!

Room Tip: Get the upgrade to the 6th floor! All other rooms face a brick wall or a construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear James:

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that our location was suitable for your needs and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary WiFi.

We are sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties during your stay. Your comment in regards to the lack of cots/cribs in our hotel results confusing to us. It is our standard policy to make arrangement for families by placing cribs in their rooms upon request. We are also remised that you did not bring this matter to our Management's attention so that we could have the opportunity to fulfill your expectations. We assure you that your comments are being reviewed to have a better understanding so that we can make improvements.

It’s our intention and aspiration to regain your confidence and welcome you back to our hotel. Please feel free to contact us should you like to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

its a hotel that needs an upgrade- the hammocks are the best feature- chipped furniture, stained ned covers, old stinky carpets. ok as a cheap family alternative to a higher end hotel- the pool bar and beach aspect is great but the hotel is tired.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your personal experience. We are glad you enjoyed our relaxing hammocks and our pool and beach area. We are also sorry that we were not able to meet all of your expectations, as our goal is to have our guests leave with fond memories of their visit and wanting to come back. We recognize there is always room for improvement and we will be sure to share your comments with our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, to allow you to see that we have a product and service that will provide you and our guests with a unique, memorable, and truly local experience.

Respectfully,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.