We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Save Saved
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #94 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel staff were very attentive and friendly. The pool and beach area were lovely, as was the simple but adequate included breakfast which could be eaten inside or at the poolside. The hallways were kind of dingy, and the room was tiny (328), but the bed was nicely made and comfortable. Since we didn't spend much time in the room, we didn't care about its size. Aside from the great staff, the star feature of this hotel is that it is at the end of South Beach, so didn't get any noise at night. The neighborhood was busy but nice. We could walk anywhere to and from South Beach, so didn't need the car which we left in valet parking at the hotel.

Room Tip: We were far from the elevator (328) and had practically no noise at night from hallway or street. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your recent stay at the South Seas Hotel. As evidenced from many other reviews, our service team is indeed comprised of many rock stars and we are delighted that we provided you with memorable service. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our great location, vibrant neighborhood and beautiful pool area with direct access to the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you to our growing family of repeat guests. Prior your next trip, please feel free to contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to learn more about our special rates for Florida residents!!!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    365
    168
    90
    61
See reviews for
200
230
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff was competent; the room was spotless. Food limited and 'so-so,' but it has a beautiful pool and it's just a straight walk from the back gate to the ocean. Nestled between big, luxurious and expensive 5 star hotels, this unassuming hotel is worth every penny. Rooms are small (a few are unacceptably small, but most are OK), but there is a nice lobby, a front porch used for sitting (not restaurants, as are many of the art deco hotels down the street) and comfy chaises by the pool. Guests can also hang out in the combo-dining room/bar indoors. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful, but 100 percent carbs (nary an egg or sausage in sight) . . . nevertheless our six night stay was extremely pleasant. During the evening, the people-watching along Collins Avenue is fabulous, and there are many wonderful restaurants within easy walking distance. Oh, and the bed linens are superior--some of the most comfy and luxurious sheets I've ever slept between.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Greetings from sunny Miami Beach!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the South Seas Hotel. We are humbled and grateful for all your comments about your positive experience at our hotel, specially knowing that comes from a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor. As always, we attribute most of our success to the friendliness and attentiveness of our service staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please contact us at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the BEST RATES AVAILABLE!!!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Wow! A group of us just left Miami after spending 4 nights at the South Seas. We all enjoyed it and have no complaints! The location, pool bar(drinks and food), service from the front desk and pool waitstaff. If you're going during WMC and Ultra you are in the middle of a ton of pool parties and have good access to liquor stores, cabs and clubs. I liked that our pool wasn't hosting a party, so it didn't become dirty and we could actually use it when we weren't raging. We walked right out to the beach, hammock area (so romantic), or Lincoln Road. Pretty good spot for a solo trip (felt very safe), couples trip, family trip, or group trip:) The rooms are basic, but they have robes and a Keurig, so I was happy. Small, free business center and atm was nice to have on site. Breakfast is fair- coffee, good fruit, bagels, cereal, yogurt. The pool bar has a happy hour and a couple of tvs that allowed us to watch ball while poolside. We ate a lot of the bar food and liked everything we got-Grilled Fish Tacos and guacamole were my fav. Finally, the staff at the South Seas was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful. Thank you especially to Anna at the front desk and Raico at the pool! We would happily stay here again. Love you Miami Beach…you crazy, wild town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Elizabeth:

It seems as if this was your first time posting on TripAdvisor and we are pleased that your experience at the South Seas Hotel, translated into a positive review. We appreciate all your kind comments about our hotel, specially your recognition of our service team. We figured that after the first night of excitement and high-energy performances it would be nice for our guests to be able to relax by our pool, have lunch and recharge before going back for more action.

Thank you again for all your details and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back next year. Please do not wait until last minute and contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 to find out more about our WMC an Ultra Deals!!!

Best regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

To be fair the room is pretty basic but clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast is continental (mainly bread, bagels and yogurt etc), and if you want more there are a heap of local places to go at good prices. I'm here for a few days before moving on. The pool area is cool and well maintained.

The problem with SoBe at this time of year, is that prices are sky high and the reality is the quality does not reflect this. What's worse is that they could charge more! So you really are paying for the location.

This hotel has direct access to the beach and feels fairly secluded due to the trees.

All in all it's ok, I have no major complaints and compared to the last Spring Break I was unfortunate enough to be here for, the hotel was worse and the noise louder, so this place is better than that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Blatham:

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the South Seas Hotel. Miami Beach area, where our hotel is located, has become one of the most popular destinations for savvy travelers. As you mentioned, our location, at the end of South Beach’s hippest block, offers great accessibility to all the area attractions while providing relaxed recreational facilities to our guests. Thank you for acknowledging our location, room amenities and our complimentary breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please feel free to contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the BEST RATES AVAILABLE!!!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We had previously been to mexico, 5 star all inclusive resorts so when we walked in to this rated 3.5 start hotel we were just shocked.

My husband is in a wheelchair and when we booked on expedia we did not put wheelchair requirements down, we understand that is our fault. My husband can transfer quite well so it is not normally a problem.

Upon arrival we were spoken to un politely and told you didn't book a wheelchair room we need to find you another room but there was no wheelchair ones available. They had us originally on level 1 which is stair access only in a room with 2 double beds which the receptionist felt we would not fit in. We were more than happy to change rooms considering when we booked we booked specifically a King room.

We got to our room on level 2, the lift is pretty much a service lift and can fit the wheelchair and 2 other people and they are so slow!!! We were shocked when we opened the door to the room to find such a ugly plain room.

The bathroom was so small the wheels missed the door way by 1mm and I needed to then lift and turn it so he could reach the sink. When my husband used the toilet we couldn't even close the toilet door it was so small. Never have we experienced this, if we had known it would be this way would have booked a wheelchair room but still not sure how much better it would have been. We have been to 3rd world countries and not booked wheelchair access and had better bathrooms.

We had a view of a white concrete wall. The window was faulty and wouldn't stay up and if the aircon wasnt on the room quickly smelt 'off'. Aircon works well. Bed reasonably comfortable.

Before booking we looked at booking the ocean view room. There wouldn't be many of them as the hotel is long and couldn't tell you if it would even be worth it.

The breakfast - My husband ate it, it is your usual continental breakfast with some good fruits. Me however, I am lactose intolerant and when I asked the kitchen lady for Soy she went, "um, no" and walked off. I brought this up with reception management and the response was "we used to have it in container but people were stealing it so we stopped supplying it". Maybe people were using it coz they needed it for gods sake.

The bar - was disgusted they automatically put on a 18% tip! took over half hour to get some fries while we had to listen to 2 - 3 girls who were meant to be working talk about texting some boy they like and giving each other dating advice. Worst service ever - they should have paid me 18% to have to listen to it.

Location - only good thing about the hotel. Quick access to the beach and to Lincon Mall strip with all your food and shops. Bus stop just across the rood

Wheelchair access - mhh. The is a ramp in to the hotel, but on 3 occasional we had issues using it. 2 were at night when the valet staff had parked cars right up on it and we had to wait for them to come move it and the other was a car doing construction next door and we waited for over 1.5 hour for hem to be located to move the bloody thing. It should be made more clear that the ramp actually gets used and block it off better. To get from the lobby to the pool you have to go up one lift, take the corridor all the way to the end and the take another lift... slow! Bedroom - book wheelchair required room, has to be better than a standard room! Apparently there is access down to the pool via a service door, didn't find this out until half way through our stay, even after the bar staff watched me try struggle with my husbands wheelchair down the 2 stairs at the pool.

This hotel is old, and needs some serious upgrading being is such an ideal location it has so much potential.

We were so upset we started looking around at other hotels, it is such an expensive area and there are hotels everywhere!!! At the end we stayed spending as little time we could there. We did speak to hotel staff but they didn't care, we booked the place it was really our fault.

I think the hotel is rated a 2.5, then I would have expected what I got. For the price of this place I would encourage others to spend a little more else where or a lot less and stay in a backpackers. I cant believe what they charge to stay here! If you stay here, do not expect anything and youll be fine.

On a good note, the door men and bag porters are really lovely and helpful. There was one nice and helpful receptionist who was a gentleman who we appreciated.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any 'good' room, all pretty much the same.... if your in a whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Nicole B:

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We are so sorry to hear about your personal experience at our hotel. Our property, like most of other hotels in South Beach, is classified as a boutique hotel, with limited number of rooms and with not so many spacious facilities. Furthermore, our hotel occupies a landmark property from 1940’s and back then rooms were smaller than what we are accustomed to when we travel to other cities or destinations. Despite of the mentioned characteristics, our property developers have done their best to modify the architecture of certain rooms to accommodate the needs of larger living areas and having accessible rooms while preserving its actual décor. We are still disappointed that we did not have any of the mentioned rooms available and we find ourselves uneasy to the fact that we did not receive your remarks prior to your arrival.

We have shared your comments with our Management team and your feedback will assist us to avoid similar situations from happening in the future. We will send you a message to your inbox and we hope to have the opportunity to discuss further with you.

Respectfully,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My first impression was not a good one when my calls and emails went unanswered by Miguel, the operations manager. I had had a special request, to have balloons waiting in our room when we checked in for my daughter’s birthday, and I called several days before our check in date. I was told to email Miguel, but he never called or emailed back. I told the people at the check in desk about it but he was not on duty and all they could do was apologize.

We were able to check in early which was nice. I was a little shocked at what $400 a night pays for. A small room with 2 small beds, tiny bathroom and no view. The hallways are dark and old looking. But I guess March on South Beach is height of the season and people will pay those high prices for the location! The location was very good- being so close to Lincoln Rd. and of course right on the beach. The nicest part of the hotel was the pool area (although the towels were paper thin) Wish they had a jacuzzi or music playing—luckily we could hear the music from the next hotel. Being on the beach was great too—although the chairs and umbrellas were not complementary.

Complementary breakfast is a nice perk- nothing lavish or homemade- but—it’s a meal!

The most negative thing that happened was the Valet Experience—45 minutes to get your car (another family waited over an hour!) is ridiculous. Of course I know that SoBe is a nightmare with parking and getting around but Still! ( Although I WAS offered by a valet manager to have my charge removed—have not checked if it was…)


I would not recommend this hotel as I think it is very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly sorry that we were not able to meet all of your expectations. We regret to hear that we did not deliver upon your request of your daughter's gift and we sincerely apologize for our service missteps. We are always learning from our guests’ feedback and we recognize there is always room for improvement.

Furthermore, we are pleased to know you were able to enjoy of our beautiful pool area and the best our location has to offer, including direct beach access and proximity to shops and restaurants.

Prior to your next trip to Miami Beach, please contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com, as we would like to make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a family friendly hotel with everything a family needs for a great vacation...A large pool with a good number of sun loungers, parasols yet steps directly onto the beach.

The staff are really friendly and helpful lead by Anna at the front desk. The rooms are clean, well appointed but some might say dated although contain everything you could possibly need.

I think this is my fourth stay at South Seas, and that says a lot. So for value, location and a warm welcome it ticks all the boxes.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We really appreciate all your kind comments. Gathering friends and families together and making them feel like home, is one the things we enjoy doing the most.

We look forward to gathering you and your family again in the near future. Before planning your next trip, you may contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the BEST RATES AVAILABLE!!!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean. On South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is an A-list boutique hideaway in Miami Beach. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Swimming pool & complimentary breakfast. Enjoy a bountiful breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside at our beach front café, or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. At night, tiki torches illuminate your romantic beach side hideaway. Sleek Art Deco-style setting. Gleaming terrazzo floors underline the mid-century modern flavor of the intimate public areas. Vintage photographs from Miami's red-hot Roaring Twenties line the corridors, linking South Florida's fascinating history with today's excitement. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Luxurious amenities. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are daily newspapers, business center, and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. o Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach o Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenitieso One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center o 20 minutes to Miami International Airporto Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls o 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.