We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great opportunity to experience an authentic Miami Beach Art Deco Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #100 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great opportunity to experience an authentic Miami Beach Art Deco Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I are big are art deco fans, seeing and exploring it wherever we can. Although our February 2014 trip was not our first to Miami Beach, we had not spent nearly a week exploring the area before. In this case, we were on a small group tour of like-minded travelers, and had experts to show us Miami Beach and explain its history as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Gene:

Thank you for all your kind comments about your experience at the South Seas Hotel. We are delighted to know our location was a great option for you to explore Miami Beach. We are also pleased that you noticed Miami Beach Art Déco reflected along our hotel decor.

Please keep us in mind next you and your husband visit Miami Beach. Always remember to contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the BEST RATES!!!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    436
    210
    101
    70
See reviews for
276
301
46
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

5 adults and 6 children aged 6mths to 11yrs stayed here for 3 nights prior to a cruise and we all really enjoyed it.. Rooms comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are dated and small but clean enough. Breakfast was excellent, started 7am until about 11am. We had dinner a couple of times in the pool restaurant and had no problems. Lovely pool and grounds. We saw the iguana which the children loved. Beach just out the back of the hotel. Great location, only a 10 minute walk to Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for choosing to stay at the South Seas Hotel. We are so pleased that you and your family had a great time with us. It is also great to know our location was perfect for your family cruise getaway. Our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts, including our neighbor iguana.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future. Please, make sure to contact us at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the BEST RATES!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here in late February with my partner and while quite skeptical on first entering, checking in and seeing our room at the end of three days we agreed it was quite enjoyable.
The location is great for getting to the beach, Lincoln Road and Ocean Avenue and we walked everywhere with the exception of taking the Miami Big Bus tour. We were fortunate to have great weather so we used the pool area quite a bit and enjoyed it very much. Other pluses were the complimentary wifi and breakfasts.
The rooms are small but clean and the hotel itself is a little tired looking. Fortunately we did not have to spend a lot of time indoors.
Both Patti and myself found the front desk reception staff less than friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: We were in 201 overlooking Collins Avenue but did not find noise to be a factor. We slept well and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Paul:

We appreciate your positive review of your recent stay at the South Seas Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location, pool area and hotel amenities.

We can't wait to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations next time. Please contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the best rates available!!!

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Smaller older hotel. Room small, big bed which was very hard and uncomfortable. Lousy little pillows that kept trying to get away on the slick sheets. Small bath room, toilet seat loose and needing repair. No place to place personal items. Room was clean, had a coffee maker, safe and robes. Room was noisy especially because of air conditioner, some other machine on the roof, and noise from other properties. Front desk staff were nice and polite however other staff not impressive at all. No help at all getting bags in to the hotel however they did open the door for you. Nice pool area and sandy area with hammocks. Direct access to beach through locked gate. (you get a code). Bar was ok but nothing special. They charge an automatic 18% tip and the service at the bar sure was sure not worth more than that if worth that at all. We ordered guac and chips and it set on the bar for quite a while(at least 15 minutes) unitl the waitress ask if we ordered it and said she forgot who ordered it and just let it set there for a while. However, it was great guac and the fresh chips from tortillias were very good and seasoned really well. The continental breakfast was really poor with a very limited selection and not appetizing at all. The fruit was no better than the cut fruit that you can get at the grocery store. The selection at the breakfast was poor enough that I just grabbed a banana and coffee and left. I asked if they had coffee prior to their serving breakfast and was bluntly told that I could come back when they started serving. That was a first! Lot to do and see in the area and plenty of shopping nearby. Wouldn't want to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate you commended our Front Desk staff. It also pleases us to know you enjoyed our relaxing pool area and our nice location with direct access to the beach. We noticed you pointed out you were not fully satisfied with the services offered by our restaurant and we truly apologize for our service missteps. We have discussed your concerns with the rest of our team and we will improve in those areas.

We would really welcome an opportunity to serve you again to make it up to you.

Kind regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A very cool art deco style hotel. The staff is very accomodating and informative. The pool was clean, quiet and there was a great mix of people. I also enjoyed the ability to walk out the back gate directly on to the beach! Truly a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy South Beach..
Scott DeCarlo 2014

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Scott:

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is very rewarding to hear that “wonderful” is being used to describe your past experience at the South Seas Hotel.

Next time you are planning to enjoy and relax in South Beach, please keep us in mind and contact our Reservations team at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the BEST RATES!

Best regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Older style hotel, but very clean and reasonably priced.. Great location right off beach and within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs. Staff was very friendly and helpful and service was excellent. Good breakfast and lunch spot..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We greatly appreciate all your kind comments about your recent stay at the South Seas Hotel. It is great to know our recreational facilities and direct beach access were to your liking. We are also glad our location made it easier for you to enjoy the nightlife and the many restaurants available in the area.

Should your travels bring you back to our wonderful city, please contact us direct at vacation@southseashotel.com or 1-800-345-2678 for the BEST RATES!

Warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is in a great location but a mediocre hotel. Its front is on Collins Avenue and you can exit through the back onto the Miami Beach Boulevard. It is near much more expensive hotels and the Lincoln Street pedestrian walking street with all its outdoor restaurants. It is not the noisiest part of South Beach Miami which is fine with me. It gives free breakfast and free Wi-Fi in the rooms. It has a nice size pool which we did not use because it was cloudy and rainy but I am sure it would have been fine. Even has free breakfast which was
adequate. Also walking distance (maybe 20 minutes) from the South Beach Welcome Centre and the more art deco and trendy part of South Beach.

So what is the problem. The door to the closet was almost falling off, there were cracks in the bathroom electrical switch cover, enamel peeling off the bathtub, and toilet was slightly stained. The elevator door near back was covered with scratches. It was actually hard to see the safe in the closet though it was nice to have a safe in the closet. Our room had a nice view over the pool but the rooms on the sides were very close to the hotels next door and if you were in those rooms would have to keep the windows constantly closed. If views bother you, insist on rooms overlooking either the pool or the ocean. Luckily, no one was working on the pool at the hotel next door which would have been very noisy though not the fault of our hotel.

At points, we had to negotiate getting past the beds because we both could not get past the space between beds and dresser at same time. And neither of us are large people.

If you don't care about things like enamel peeling off bathtubs, then for its location and free breakfast and Wi-Fi, I suppose good value for the area. If the maintenance was better, then would be really good value, but it is not.

Room Tip: Side rooms are very close to hotels next door. View is of a wall and windows of hotels next door (w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all the details you shared with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our fabulous location near restaurants and shops, our complimentary breakfast and the option of having Wi-Fi at no extra charge.

Comments like yours allow us to make improvements so that we may better serve the needs of our guests in the future. We are also very sorry to hear your personal experience was somehow affected by some unfavorable aesthetics you encountered during your stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused to you. We have already made some additions to our Engineering team and we hope our improvements would not go unnoticed.

We hope you consider staying with us again, to allow you to see that we have a product and service that will provide you and our guests a great experience.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.