We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been coming for 13 years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #106 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We have been coming for 13 years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We love this place and reading some of the critical reviews really offends me. Just for reference, I am a Platinum member with Marriott and average about 90/100 nights a year traveling for work. My wife and I try to get away for a few weekends throughout the year and we have been coming to the South Seas on average 2 times for the last 13 years. The hotel is outstanding. Its clean, well located and reasonably priced for the area it is in. Ana at the front desk is a great ambassador for the hotel and the entire staff is friendly and attentive to your needs.

Room Tip: the high floor rooms facing the pool and ocean are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enrique517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Enrique:

Thank you for being our Loyal Guests for so many years. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to review your recent experience at the South Seas Hotel. We are flattered by all your gracious comments, especially your heartfelt sentiment about our dedicated service team.

Please don't forget to call us direct for the best rates available!

With warmest regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I decided on this hotel after shopping for different places, probably based on prices. When we arrived in the morning there was no space at the ramp and baggage had to go down almost the street. Lady at check-in was not very excited about serving us. The room was average and we did not care much because it was the least we needed. The restaurant was good, although service was a bit slow.
We noticed that maintenance was not a priority for hotel management. The hallways to the room were a bit depressing and the elevator was perfect for Halloween, with expired inspection. At check out the same lady with glasses greeted us with the same attitude. I think the hotel is not the worst but we can't find any reason to return. Next time we'll spend more money on a better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Charlie:

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your compliments to our beachfront location. It seems though that we have failed to meet your expectations regarding our service and facilities. We take our guest comments very serious and for that reason we would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you might have encountered.

We would welcome an opportunity to further discuss with you and find a way to turn this experience around for you.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent hotel, all the staff is very nice and helpfull especially Mrs. Ana Penaranda, the hotel is well located nera ocean drive and the sea. Although the bar has not so much variety of plates has lots of sandwiches and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Wilson:

We are glad you took the time to write a review of your past stay at the South Seas Hotel. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding the service provided by our staff and our oceanfront location. We are especially happy to hear of your nice interactions with our team members.

Please do not hesitate to call us direct to assist you when planning your next trip.

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My Mother and I just got back from Miami. We stayed 5 nights at the South Seas and really had a great time. The room was beautiful and even had a real orchid in it. The housekeepers cleaned the room very quickly and very well. The guys at the valet parking were very efficient and always got the door for us. The pool is spectacular. We loved the breakfast in the morning by the pool and enjoyed the iguanas that came to eat each morning. The beach is just a stones throw away and is clean and beautiful. Loved it all. Oh, and the hotel restaurant had the best fries! Would definately reccomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Heather:

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review – we are so happy to see that our service team and facilities have exceeded your expectations! It sounds like you and your mom had a super relaxing time and got to enjoy all that our hotel has to offer.

Oh, and our Chef Mark loved your comment about his Hand Cut Fries! We really appreciate your business and look forward to having you as a return guest in the future.

Best regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Small, but very clean. Very friendly staff.
It includes continental breakfast. Centrally located, no need to rent a car. Mostly people remember you and that is like coming home, great feeling,
Even the bar staff remember s what you drink,
We have been going back twice a year and have already booked our Christmas trip,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinomcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Welcome Back! We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to share your recent experience at the South Seas Hotel. It pleases us to see how much you enjoyed everything at our hotel. We are glad to know we continue creating a wonderful and truly local experience for each and every one of our guests.

We’ll make sure to remember your Christmas Wish List as well ;-)

Warm regards,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were actually booked into Shelbourne Hotel but as it was under renovation we were moved to South Seas. Very average hotel with very average facilities & would not stay there again. Could do with a makeover but it was clean. Location was ok but some of the staff were not very friendly including 1 lady on the Front Desk. There are many hotels to choose from on that strip so would definitely stay somewhere else next time. Not sure how the cost compares as it was part of a package deal but we stayed at much better hotels in LA, San Francisco, Vegas, Boston & New York so Miami was a let down.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view but didnt get one. A view out to the ocean would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIANEGPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations and had some missteps in service delivery. We truly appreciate your comment about our hotel cleanliness.

If your travels bring you back to Miami Beach, we would welcome another opportunity to regain your confidence.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I planned a trip for my 25th birthday. After looking at a few other hotels we decided to give South Seas a chance. The first nite we sat out back by the hammocks, the first thing an employee said to us was , " what room are you staying in ? ".. I felt as though that was very rude. There was no , " Welcome to the hotel " or any type of greeting or proper introduction. During our stay we were also fined $150 for a " smoke scent " there was no proof but because of an " odd scent " , as stated by night supervisor. It felt as though from the first day we checked in we were automatically singled out. It's more of a family hotel or an older crowd. Not so friendly to the younger crowd or young couples. Complaint after complaint, WORST BIRTHDAY VACATION EVER!!! I wouldnt recommend anyone between the ages of 21-30 staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveReeLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management A, Staff and Management at South Seas Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are reviewing where we felt short and rest assured that your comments will definitely help us to better serve our guests in the future.

We were also surprised that you felt our hotel would not be friendly for younger guests. Being one of the few beachfront hotels in the heart of South Beach we welcome a diverse clientele and we always strive to make our guests experience as pleasant as possible.

We would like to look further into the issues you mentioned about your stay. Once again, please accept our apologies and we would welcome an opportunity to speak with you.

Sincerely,

Staff & Management.
South Seas Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#129 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Richmond Hotel
#148 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#13 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing