We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Sea Hotel Miami Beach” 2 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“South Sea Hotel Miami Beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Warning, the hotel looks quite good at first. Rooms are small and moisty. The baathroom is so small that you cant close the door. It gets stuck in the toilet. Our family and other guests have been complaining regarding pool water quality since we arrived 3 days ago. The pool is disgushing. Hair, salive and skin are floating in the pool. They cant seem to fix it and therefor this isnt a temporarily problem. You Will see and feel it then you arrive.

Summary

Good location
Filthy pool
Rooms à joke
Staff à bit tired, Why do you complain, we are fully booked, new customers every day, live with it

Final, a sharp smell when entering room after cleaning, this could only be cooked Down to some kind of animal poison

Room Tip: Please upgrade to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    398
    190
    92
    66
See reviews for
247
268
45
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

So the best thing about this place is it's location right on Collins Ave and only a few blocks away from Lincoln. You walk through the pool area and you're on the beach, hard to beat that. The rooms themselves are pretty mediocre, definitely not nice, but not terrible. You're definitely paying for location here and they at least give you free breakfast which is serviceable. I wouldn't mind staying here again since it was right before New Years and rates were astronomical with very limited choices, but it would have to be a similar situation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

To start off the valet was very rude and in attentive when we pulled up, and the staff was even worse at check in! After check in we walk down the hall and it had a very strong moldy odor and one of the staff was spraying air freshener to try and cover it rather than cleaning the problem!! Finally at the end they tried to tack on 300$ in extra charges for two night! Worst hotel experience Ina long time and way over priced for the quality!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cold room, noisy a/c, breakfast on plastic plates and very limited offerings of a industrical utilitarian nature, slow internet, the same hair in the bathtub for 3 days......this can be had at a lower price. Room 637 has the full sound of the next door hotels a/c fans. Very good location for the convenbtion center though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel made the most of what they have and did a great job. Great beach location, near to walk to Ocean Drive but away from the crazziness, loved the hammocks on their own private sand, good drinks at the open air bar, room was quiet (upper floors are best). I plan to go back asap.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a small, older hotel and the rooms are also very small. However, the location of this hotel is where you want to be in South Beach Miami. It is within walking distance to Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive.The beach is right out back beyond the pool area, which was very relaxing and quiet. The grounds were kept clean but the pool was a bit dirty some days. Free breakfast was a bonus but service was very slow if you ordered anything off the menu. All said and done, I would stay here again if I return to South Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We are from Sweden and thought it would be nice to get a nice trip in the winter together with our children (21&18). We wanted a Hotel close to everything in South Beach, beach, restaurants, shopping, Lincoln road etc. We got it all :) as the familys travel organiser I was à little bit worried reading reviews about thin walls and comments that the Hotel had seen better days. We realy likes this hotell and lived at the 3rd floor and even then the walls are thin there were no noice around (ofcourse if you have bad luck with your neighboors...)

We didn't have à view ( view with palmtrees combined with close view to other guests windows is not that interesting...
The breakfast had nice bagels, toast, juice, cheese, ham, fresh fruit, Philadelphia ,marmelade, differnt flakes, milk wich was good for us in nice environment and we sat outside all mornings ( don't leave things at the table because there are hungry birds ..;) you can pay extra for omelette

Nice pool area and close to the beach but if you want sunbeds by the beach please get discountcards at the desk. We didn't do that and the first day was expensive... ( they didnt information us about this initially)

Nice beds and what we needed in the room. Not big rooms but nothing wich bothered us.

All together à very valuable Hotel close to everything and great seriosity :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean. On South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is an A-list boutique hideaway in Miami Beach. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Swimming pool & complimentary breakfast. Enjoy a bountiful breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside at our beach front café, or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. At night, tiki torches illuminate your romantic beach side hideaway. Sleek Art Deco-style setting. Gleaming terrazzo floors underline the mid-century modern flavor of the intimate public areas. Vintage photographs from Miami's red-hot Roaring Twenties line the corridors, linking South Florida's fascinating history with today's excitement. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Luxurious amenities. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are daily newspapers, business center, and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. o Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach o Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenitieso One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center o 20 minutes to Miami International Airporto Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls o 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.