We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Seas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added South Seas Hotel to your Saves list
South Seas Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #98 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent, just a few blocks from Lincoln Road and right across from the beach.

The front desk were always helpful and accommodating. The room was fairly basic with a view of a wall but more than adequate for our needs with a bathroom stocked with nice toiletries and lots of fluffy towels. The free Wifi was strong enough to Skype in the room.

Free breakfast was a nice touch - basic but enough to start the day - juice, cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries - although it would have been nice to have toasted bread (the only thing on offer was bagels). The pool area was pleasant and uncrowded and the area behind the pool (with hammocks) was a nice secluded spot. One side of the pool was in shade for the whole time we were there, although there is also a raised deck for sun-worshippers. The pool attendant did a great job keeping the pool area clean, providing pool towels and topping up the iced water (with apple) - very refreshing.

The 'gym' was actually just a couple of pieces of fairly old machinery in a room by the side of the pool

The hotel was booked on Hotwire so we didn't know what we were getting until we paid, This can sometimes be a gamble but we were more than happy with the South Seas Hotel at a price which is much less than many Miami Beach Hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    418
    199
    97
    68
See reviews for
261
282
46
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was unfortunate to stay in this hotel on the weekend of 9th November. The from beginning to end was uncomfortable for reasons mentioned in the title. Stay there at your peril then mirror my review!

One great guy there named Irwin but unfortunately one good person does not compensate for all of the above.

BTW......Its a real shame because the position is prime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is located next to Lincoln Road which has many shops and high end stores, as well as great restaurants. The rooms really do look like the photos and the property is well kept, the staff is friendly, and my room was cleaned daily. The property is not brand new, but is also far from worn down. If you are looking for a reasonable priced stay, a great pool, and an engaged and helpful staff, then please stay at the South Seas.

Thanks, Gabriel for helping me check out quickly and very early in the morning!

Will definitely return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The South Seas Hotel was a great experience for the whole family! We spent 3 days in Miami Beach, the hotel is nice, clean and perfectlly located. The staff is the best! I´m not use to deal with so flexible people! May be is the mixture of nationalities! All of them tried to help and find suitable options for our travel with kids. Thank you Marcia, Fabiola, Rudy, Robert and the ladies who served breakfast. We will return soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

just back from South Seas - South Beach. No complaints. If you are looking to whine about something you may find it - but if you are looking for a nice, clean place, thats not $300 a night
this will do nicely.
Anna at front desk was very helpful. Staff all friendly.
Pool is nice, easy walk to beach.
WAS GREAT for us, we are not complainers.
Halloween way fun on South Beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I come to Miami 2-3 times a year and it is still my favorite. I was recently in South Beach for 10 days so I figured I'd try the Richmond for 2 nights just for a change of pace. Big mistake and one I will not make again! So I spent the following 8 nights at the South Seas. First of all I feel like I'm staying at a family hotel. Anna at the front desk is always there to help. The girls at the bar are awesome. I highly recommend the happy hour..2 for one drinks! The blackened Mahi Mahi on a goat cheese salad or the sandwich are YUM! The rooms are always immaculate. The location is perfect...right on the beach...close to Lincoln Rd. Pool area s great Breakfast is included. Without a doubt..the best value on South Beach!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The staff was very rude and lazy but seems to be common in Miami. Valet finally got off his cell phone when we were past him, inside, and had carried our luggage up the stairs. Waited for a good 2-3 minutes at front desk while attendant talked to someone else working there. When we left we ordered our car for 5:45am and it showed up about 6:20am even though there were 2 valets just hanging out outside doing nothing.

But, it is a great location, the pool is nice, and from other reviews I have read it seems to be comparatively clean for Miami hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Seas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Hotel

Address: 1751 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay right on the ocean, South Beach's hippest beachfront block, the South Seas Hotel is a boutique hideaway. It's within walking distance to a host of trendy shops and inviting cafes of Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive. Guests also conveniently walk to south beaches hottest clubs while enjoying some of best people watching anywhere. Enjoy a bountiful hot breakfast overlooking the pool and sparkling sands of Miami Beach. Take a refreshing dip the turquoise ocean or relax in our palm-bordered swimming pool. Have a drink, dine poolside or nap in a hammock in our shady palm garden. Bright tropical flowers frame the breezy entrance, where guests always receive a warm welcome from the friendly staff. Bright, fresh rooms. Orchids accentuate the guest rooms, which are spacious for historic South Beach. Views may encompass the ocean, the pool, or the sparkling city lights. Flat panel TVs, iPod docks, waffle-weave robes, luxury bed and bath linens, complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas. Also included in room rates are a business center and beach towels. A conference room and event space is available for rental. Oceanfront hotel in the heart of Miami Beach's South Beach, Vintage Art Deco hotel with luxurious modern amenities, One block to the Miami Beach Convention Center, 20 minutes to Miami International Airport Walking distance to exciting Lincoln Road Mall and concert halls, 15 minutes to the Port of Miami ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your South Seas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Miami Beach
Hotel South Seas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Seas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.