We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #63 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The only reason I am not giving this hotel 5 stars is because I usually reserve 5 stars for ultimate luxury. However, this hotel exceeded my expectations and we have already reserved to come back again.

Pros: we really loved the size of the room(s). We had a two bedroom suite connected in a private enclosed hallway to a one bedroom suite. There was a large family room, a kitchen, a dining room, a kitchen table, and 2 great bathrooms in the main suite. The second room had a kitchenette and 2 full size beds with a little table. Our family of 6 had plenty of room to spread out. We loved having a full kitchen and loved how the dining room and family room were connected. There were also big screen TVs in all the bedrooms and a large big screen TV with stereo system in the family room. There was a huge balcony with a beautiful view of both the ocean and the cityscape. There was some construction going on across the street, but we did not mind. There is a great Walgreens across the street where you can pick up groceries and various necessities. There is also a Publix not too far away.


At first I thought the pool was way too small. I was expecting a huge pool, and this one was rather small and was no deeper than 5 feet in the deep end. However, once I actually used the pool, I was pleasantly surprised how much we all enjoyed it. The pool area was not too crowded, and the pool was great because it had a ramp into the deeper portion, which made it a great swimming experience for my two year old. The beach was nice too. There were plenty of chairs and our family really enjoyed swimming in the ocean.

There is a market near the pool area where you can pick up sunscreen, towels, goggles, floats, and coffee (small Starbucks inside the market). Overall, we really enjoyed the beach and pool.

Also, the service was really exceptional throughout our stay.


Cons: the food was just ok. They had a good breakfast with a lot of variety, but the food was not as good as some of the other hotels we've stayed at before (we are Hilton Diamond members). It was definitely good enough, but just not exceptional. Some might consider the beach fees ($20+ per day) to be a nuisance, but it was convenient to always have a chair, etc so we didn't mind so much. Some might not like the nearby construction, but it was really fine. The beach view and the cityscape made up for it.

Overall, we will come back. It was really everything we were looking to find: great location (easy access to shopping and South Beach) lots of space, clean rooms, great service, and a great pool and beach experience. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    364
    124
    65
    50
See reviews for
473
206
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here on points in December. The rooms are worn and in need of refurbishment. As a hhonors diamond the comped breakfast was of decent quality (up charge if you want meat/hot items). The service level was actually very good. Staff is well trained and really made this place ok (again the "hard product" left much to be desired). This building must have been condos at one point as it appeared all rooms had kitchens and a living room.

The location is on the beach (heavy shadows on the beach from the tall buildings in the afternoon in December), and is a short drive to adventure mall (huge mall... I think the third largest in the U.S.). If the owner sinks some money into this location and upgrades the rooms it really could be a really nice propery.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just came back from a fun weekend at this hotel. Megan made our stay even better with her attentiveness and great customer service. We had an issue with the room which she resolved quickly with personal oversight and the right sense of urgency. The pluses of this hotel is location, the staff, the cookies and the views. The hotel is nice but pretty dated and the rooms could use some updating. The pool is way too small for the number of people that stay there. They should combine the small waterfall pool with the other one. Overall it was a nice weekend

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I'm not sure if it was due to previous weather conditions but the beach was nasty due to the seaweed accumulation. So, for future stays, I'm not convinced I would visit this area again. I do appreciate the upgrade, the $20 credit, the cookies and the teddy bear. The staff was very helpful in every aspect. We were treated wonderfully. Thank You!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Really disappointing for a Doubletree. $284 for one night in some crappy room with 2 small beds and noisy old air con and dirty balcony. The bathroom is like something from a 1980's travelodge, in fact the whole hotel is in serious need of renovation, the paint is flaky and there is a stake smell about the place. We didn't get a cookie on arrival yet they brag about this so much in ads, we were not given a wrist band either which you need to get a towel from the towel police by the pool (forms must be filled in to obtain these). The pool is quite dirty and the spa's didn't work, we asked staff to check them but they didn't do anything about it. The service is very friendly but seriously, there's nothing around here to warrant paying these ridiculous prices. Avoid the food, there are fast food places opposite that serve better quality!!
Head to south beach and stay at the Mondrain, certainly top class compared to this supposedly 4 star hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German V, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We apologize you did not have a pleasant experience during your stay with us. It is always our goal to provide guests with the best experience possible and we regret that we fell short with your stay. Your suggestions about refresh opportunities and our furnishings are very helpful and we will be sure to keep them in mind as we make the necessary and feasible updates to our resort. We are working with our maintenance and housekeeping team to reevaluate our inspection processes and ensure rooms meet our expectations for cleanliness, safety and comfort. I dont think the heading "Dirty" was the most appropiate for your experince however we value your comments. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you again for your review.
German
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel offers Wi-Fi for a daily fee which we did not get first night had to move to another room because we had no connection which I need to do my job the service would stay on for 5 mins and I would lose everything. The room we where moved to the bathroom had a terrible smell coming from under the sink had someone come clean and flush the drain which helped for the day. All in all the hotel is nice and on the beach but we where inconvenienced the whole stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
German V, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are very sorry you had some challenges with our wifi. We will investigate so this doesnt happen again. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you and prove to you our commitment to service.
Kind regards,
German
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First - if you are seeking a beach vacation with children, mark the entire city of Miami off your list. If you are insistent upon going to Miami, this hotel is far better than the resorts in Miami Beach/SouthBeach. Miami attracts an amazing number of low class wannabes who, ironically, wannabe treated as kings and queens for being low class. This resort does allow you to escape/avoid that. Sunny Isles is in between Fort Lauderdale and Miami Beach so you are equidistant to Miami's two largest airports. There is a shuttle to the resort, but I did not know that until I arrived. The beach is pleasant and usually quiet even when full of people. There is less functional nudity on the beaches this far north of Miami Beach, but skimpy swimwear is common and a sizeable portion of latin and south american tourists means your 10 year old will be seeing more than just tan lines. The pool wasn't massive, but respectable and kid friendly. We ate lunch at the hotel restaurant once and never again after that, I hope their breakfast was far better. The valets are very friendly and the desk staff is very helpful. If you are insistent upon travelling to Miami and considering this hotel, I highly recommend calling the desk to ask any questions you may have about your intended travel plans. Call during the day when they have a concierge on duty. Driving in Miami Beach is masochistic. I'm confident that distracted driving is not only taught, but required by local traffic law. That being said, if you venture down to South Beach to see the Art Deco architecture, which is worth the hassle, roadside parking is free M-F 8-6pm anywhere you see a Resident Parking sign. Otherwise, you're left with parking meters and the need to download the city's parking meter app. Depending on the zone, its not terribly expensive. Take an umbrella both for rain and sun ... and to fend off hobos.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach

Address: 17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort And Spa - Miami Beach North
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort & Spa - Miami Beach North Hotel Miami Beach
Doubletree Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.