We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to find complaints with the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #64 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It's hard to find complaints with the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend here (4 nights) in February 2013. We spent most of our time at the hotel and really only left for dinner. As hhonors gold members, we were given "gold" bracelets and an upgrade to a suite on the top floor. As a gold member, I have been given upgrades to nicer rooms, but this was over the top. The room had a full kitchen - including dishwasher, washer and drier directly outside, a jacuzzi tub, two large rooms, and a large balcony. There were also chocolates waiting for us along with water, compliments of the management. The bracelets allowed us to get 25% off of food and drinks while we were there. I believe that it also applied to the spa as well, but I didn't have a spa treatment, so I can't say for sure. I did get a good look at the spa facilities as I showered there on the last day because our flight didn't leave until 6pm. The spa and workout facilities are beautiful!

There were a few things that I think should be noted as out of the ordinary - not bad.

1 - and this is a pretty big deal - THERE IS AN AUTOMATIC SERVICE CHARGE ADDED ON ALL FOOD/DRINK. Miami gets visitors from all walks of life and from all places in the world. American businesses generally pay their servers less figuring on added income from tips. Other places in the world do not work this way. When a small hotel is serving clientele from everywhere, there is no guarantee that the waiter/waitress will get a tip. This is just them taking care of their people. EVERY other place that we went to in Miami Beach worked this way. If it were only at the hotel, I might be shocked. The servers also reminded me that there was a charge being added on. I imagine that they may get complaints.

2 - chairs on the beach were $12 each. It was extra to get an umbrella or a cabana to shade you from the sun. This is pretty standard all along Miami Beach (in fact, it's twice as much in South Beach), but in case you weren't expecting it, it might shock you. The pool chairs were free, although hard to come by if you weren't there at 8am to throw your towel on one. (I will NEVER understand this practice.)

3 - The room wasn't in the most amazing shape. There was a little wear and tear on the walls and carpet, but it wasn't dirty. Properties on the beach are hard to keep up because of all of the salt. It seemed a little old, but everything was comfortable and safe and clean which matters more than a small mark on the wall where someone accidentally bumped their suitcase.

4- Breakfast was a buffet where you could choose cold food (free with our bracelet) or upgrade to hot food (like $6.50 more). The hotel probably is thinking that more people will upgrade to the hot breakfast, and they want to offer the option, but it comes across as cheap only offering guests half of what's there. If only the continental were on the buffet, people would be very happy. The breads were wonderful. There were 6-7 different kinds of fruit. Nothing was wrong except that you had to look at something better.

5 - Just so people know, the pool loses sun at this time of year at about 1pm. The beach stays sunny until about 3pm. It can get chilly at that pool in the middle of the day in Feb.

6 - CABS!! Good God! This was a BIG BIG BIG problem. We went to dinner three times, and cabs showed up late twice - and by late, I mean over an hour. My husband and I don't know whether the valets were the issue or the cab company. We had a car service bring us to the hotel thinking that we would take a cab back to the airport. There was NO way we'd risk it. We had to call the car service when we left. (On a side note, we didn't rent a car because we were really only going out for dinner and not sightseeing at all - but the cost to park a car overnight was like $27.00. That was one reason that we didn't rent a car.)


All in all, this was a great place to chill out on the beach for a few days. I thought that the staff was lovely. They seemed to go out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable - especially the housekeeper and the beach chair guys (who told us daily about the lifeguard flags, what to do if we got stung by a jellyfish, etc.).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    387
    135
    73
    51
See reviews for
501
218
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent one night here. The room was very clean, with an oceanview. Everything worked and we slept well. We did not eat at the hotel or use the facilities. The front desk and valet staff were very pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your recent stay with us. I will be sure to pass along your posting to the Valet and Front Desk staff who you singled out as very pleasant. We do hope you come back for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent one night here, after a cruise, before flying home the next day. We arrived very early. Our room was obviously not ready, but staff gave us all wristbands to use facilities right away. 3 bedroom, 3 bath, Penthouse 2702 was fantastic. Everything worked great, and we didn't experience anything negative like I am reading from other guests. Wrap around balcony was spectacular. Ocean one side, sunset on the other.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Jack,

With only 2 - 3 Bedroom units available, I am glad you and your family experienced one of them. We are happy you enjoyed your breif stay and hope you will come back but for a longer length next time. The Ocean to the east and sunset in the west will still be there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Pros
--huge HUGE suite bigger than most condos
--$10 all-you-can-eat buffet very popular and a regular menu at good prices
--extremely friendly staff, trying hard
--valet parking worked well
-- near Aventura Mall

CONS
--had to get maintenance to fix dryer--not a good permanent fix, and to turn up heat--cold in Feb
--decor uninspiring, TVs hard to work (gave up on one), no screens on deck doors.
--feels very dated, needs a makeover in all areas
--can only access hotel driving north, no cut over.

Room Tip: We were on 27th floor. The higher up the better the view. Get a front ocean view rather than side oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for listing the Pros and Cons of your recent stay with us and we are glad you were pleased with your experience. You mentioned several maintenance issues and if you could let me know your room number, we will be sure to address these as soon as possible. I can be reached at bharris@oceanpointresort.com. Again, thank you and hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

At least it is on the beach with a great view but there endless options on the beach along the coast. This hotel is very overpriced even for Doubletree/Hilton on the beach. I appreciated the free upgrade to the one bedroom suite but very musty smell, broken appliances, TV not working and that is just start on the list. Also the lobby, bar and restaurant needs some attention and upgrading.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We honestly do appreciate your feedback and sorry to read that your experience was less than expected. Your comments refer to your guest room and from your posting it is not possible to identify you unit. We would like to address these so please contact me at bharris@oceanpointresort.com in order for us to discuss your concerns. Thank you for taking ther time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels my husband is a diamond member who spends a lot with the Hilton group annually. This hotel is not a Hilton rather more of a Holiday Inn charging Four Seasons rates. We are currently stuck in a disgusting 1 bdrm king suite it is rundown moldy corners peeling walls 1980s decor. It smells so bad in here. The shower is handicap accessible so it has a electric seat and no enclosure. - we are not handicapped nor did we request such a room. The lobby of the hotel is also rundown.
To sum up don't stay here save your money this place is garbage with so many beautiful hotels to choose from within the same price range this should not be where you stay this is what I expect from a Holiday Inn or best western not a Hilton.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We appreciate your feedback and have addressed the cleanliness and mold issues with our housekeeping team. I apologize for the inconvenience. Please direct a message me on your room information so we can specifically isolate the issues.. I can be reached at bharris@oceanpointresort.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed there a few weeks ago and absolutely loved the hotel. Very beautiful hotel and staff was super friendly. Our room was actually and like a one room condo. It would be perfect for a family vacation with kids. The location on the beach couldn't have been any better as well!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed our resort. We will be sure to pass around your comments to our staff as it is they who take great pride in providing friendly service to our guests. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach

Address: 17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort & Spa - Miami Beach North Hotel Miami Beach
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort And Spa - Miami Beach North
Doubletree Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.