We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great location and great beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #63 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great views, great location and great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We opted for the one bedroom room. This was originally built as a condo so it's a full apartment with kitchen, washer / dryer and full balcony with ocean and city views. Across the street is everything: grocery, drugstore, restaurants and Starbucks. Great place on the beach for our family.

Room Tip: One bedroom is the best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Jeffery,

I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Although you opted for one of our spacious 1 Bedroom suites, you may want to experience a 2 Bedroom suite next time shoud your family grow or bring along another family member. Same amenities but about 30% larger.

Come back and visit and thank you for taking the time to relate your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    332
    106
    62
    49
See reviews for
420
189
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WashingtonDC
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My partner and I went to the Doubletree for a wedding during a weekend in June, and overall, we were not terribly impressed. We got to the hotel a little more than an hour before check-in, and you would think with the immense scale of this hotel, they would have a room in our category ready, but they did not. We had to wait past check-in time for room, and we only found out when we called downstairs from my family member's room to see if our room was ready. We were upgraded to a suite because of our status of Hilton, so that was marginally good, but there was no view and anything under floor 10 is too low to appreciate the surroundings..


However, the overall impression that I got from this hotel was that it was "past its prime." The walkways -- and particularly the elevator -- seemed old and run down. This being a beach hotel, you expect some sand and wetness in the main areas and near the beach, but this was a bit too much for my taste. There was the feeling of humidity of dampness and mildew in the elevator. I think that this is was just a beachfront resort property that was on its way down and Doubletree bought it and slapped its name on it. It is a much larger Doubletree than I would normally be used to.


The breakfast was standard, nothing special, but a bit pricey for the full buffet.


Also, the location seemed a bit out-of-the-way. I guess for a resort like this, the beach and hotel is the destination itself. If you don't plan on going elsewhere, then this is the right place since it's right on the beach. There isn't much within walking distance and you'd have a long cab ride to Miami Beach or other touristy places. The parking fee is rather exorbitant if you bring a rental car.

I don't think i would recommend this Doubletree, but since we were staying here because of a wedding, we did not shop around or compare hotels -- so, the other hotels could have these same problems.

Room Tip: the higher the floor, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear jg325,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the DoubleTree Ocean Point Resort & Spa. You were correct in stating that ALL hotels located on or near a body of water like the Atlantic Ocean do take an unusual beating and are subject to conditions one would not find on the mainland such as the humidity you experienced. Although the walkway/hallway carpeting is new, we still need to replace the wall vinyl and that will be done in the coming year.

True, our location is a bit quieter than the eclectic South Beach which is why we try to position oursleves as a family resort for those who want a less hectic neighborhood.

We hear your concerns but do hope you will give us the opportunity win you over should your travle plans bring you back to Sunny Isles Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at this property post-cruising in a two bedroom suite. First, the views and beach are spectacular. Rooms and common areas could use some attention and refurbishing, but well within the tolerable range - at least for now. Staff need to pay attention to little things (like curtains that are needing replacement) but room layouts and amenities provide a comfortable and secure stay. On a quieter end of Miami Beach, so if you're looking for hopping nightlife, stay to the south...but a relaxing/family time, this would be a solid suggestion. Buffet is a bit overpriced, but pretty good food. Beach bar offers great cocktails to go with a pristine view. Fees for everything, so be prepared. Also, did not appreciate the automatic gratuities everywhere (18% for a buffet breakfast! Come on, for bringing a pot of coffee?! That's simply wrong.)

Room Tip: Opt for a balcony room on a higher floor to allow for listening to the waves at night. Zzzzzzz
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi Peter JMDC,

It is nice to hear that you will try and return. You are correct in stating that details are important and that is why we do have continuous training and coaching sessions with all of the team to be able to recognize quickly any shortcomings and be able to address them. It is not a perfect solution but we do manage to correct a vast majority of them.

Thank you for your comments and do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We avoided South Beach, partly because of the hotel prices and the exorbitant parking fees. We were glad we had when we visited it - big disappointment, noisy, crowded, shabby and expensive. We decided to stay in Sunny Isles beach and were very pleased with our hotel. We arrived a day earlier than planned but the the delightful hotel receptionist moved things around so we could have a 17th floor room with an ocean view. The room was large with 2 comfortable beds and large bathroom. Bit tired looking in places but very clean. We did have a problem with getting hot water and the engineer admitted they had a faulty boiler but it was sorted out. Daniel, the concierge, is a charming and helpful employee. He gave us advice on what to see and do and helped us choose a trip. Sunny Isles is a nice place to stay if you are visiting Miami for a few days. It's not far to main attractions and near some good malls and restaurants. The hotel is right on the beach and has sunbeds and umbrellas. When we left, the hotel deducted our valet parking charges because of the hot water problem, which we thought was a nice gesture. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear SusannaT,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feelings about the DoubleTree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa and we are glad you discovered Sunny Isles Beach as an alternative to other locations.

Sorry about the hot water but was glad to hear that it was resolved quickly and to your satisfaction. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our engineering team. Will also do the same to Daniel, our concierge.

Please come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is among the best I have ever stayed at. The views are to die for. And, due to the unique layout of the hotel, each room has a view of both the city and the beach. You can walk right out of the hotel onto the beach. There are nice restaurants and some touristy shops within walking distance. The suites are large and roomy and the beds are very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the city and the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your posting and recommendation. The views are nice, aren't they, and we are thankful the hotel developers thought about this and designed all rooms and suites with a partial ocean view for all guests to enjoy.

Your comments are very important to us and I will be sure to pass them along to all of our associates.

Hope we have the chance to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We traveled to this hotel on April this year for our two first nights in our honeymoon before our cruise. The hotel is in a very good location although is not in the heart of Miami Beach, so you might want to consider renting a car, however have in mind that there is no self parking and you have to pay for Valet Parking. Not other options are available. Many restaurants in the area that you can walk to and there is a close by movie theater and shopping mall that you can drive to. But, when it comes to customer service we didn't really fell in love with the property. When I made the reservation I called immediately to let them know that we were honeymooners and we were requesting the best possible room in our category booked which was a small studio. When we arrived to Miami, I called again to let them know we were on our way and to confirm that we had one king size bed in our room. However, they told me that they were sold out of king size beds and the only thing available were two queen size beds. When we got there, again we tried to have one bed but they weren't avaible to accomodate us in a king size bedroom but they were able to give us the worst possible room on the third floor. I mean, we are honeymooners, we don't get a king size bed but we do get the room with the smallest windows ever seen full of dust and hairs in the bathtub? Not only there weren't prepared to have us a hooneymooners, but they didn't care for us to have a good time or to try to turn our experience around. We were moved to the 13th floor and everything was much better, but still...the experience of checking in to a room of this category was an enough bad experience for us to not want to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
First of all congratulations on your recent wedding and we do want to thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry you encountered some mis information which left you with a negative impression of our hotel.

We do really emphasize great guest service amongst our associates but it seems this time we did not live up to our fullest committments.

You also mentioned that the first room you were assigned was not as you expected it. Should you be reading this, please let us know what room number you were assigned in order that we may be sure to correct any shortcomings.

Again thank you for your comments and do hope you give us another chance to demonstrate our very good side.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights before going on a cruise. My wife is an honors member so we got upgraded to a two bedroom suite plus a personal note and gift from the manager. This was fantastic great size rooms and full of features. Was expecting a lot less after reading other reviews. Ok some of the kitchen and bathroom cabinets were old but fully functional. We were on the 18 floor with a wrap around balcony so could see the sea with a glimpse to inter coastal water way. Wish we had stayed longer and would go back.
Taxi from Miami International was $55 and $40 to Miami Cruise Terminal.
CVS store 5 minute walk and go the other way a few restaurants and a very good super market.
First night we ate in the restaurant and they were doing a $10 all you can eat Italian Buffet. We had a continental breakfast the next day which had a great choice. Also right on a very sandy beach. Hotel pool was small but who needs that so close to the beach. Would go here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with an Ocean view on a high floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry H, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Rowland K,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had a great experience during your stay, albeit a short one. Hopefully next time you visit you will be able to stay a bit longer and enjoy the view, the beach and all area attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach

Address: 17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort And Spa - Miami Beach North
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort & Spa - Miami Beach North Hotel Miami Beach
Doubletree Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.