We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I could have asked for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #62 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“More than I could have asked for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

Perfect. Had everything you could need. We used the fridge for leftovers, the microwave, plates and silverware. Enjoyed the convenient market store downstairs. Restaurant: enjoyed the Wed. Italian buffet. Beach and pools were great. In room whirlPool tub worked great too. Loved everything about it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    327
    103
    61
    49
See reviews for
405
187
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

There were 6 of us and we stayed in a two bedroom suite. Check in was at 4 pm, but they had our room ready for us when we arrived at noon. We entered our room and it was larger than expected and had a breath taking view of the ocean from all three balconies. It was way more than we had ever dreamt of. The rooms were kept clean. The service here made it all worthwhile!! Everyone was kind and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay pleasant. The location was great! We decided to go snorkeling and we were able to find an inexpensive company in Ft. Lauderdale. The travel time to either Ft. Lauderdale or Miami was acceptable. It was nice to be in between the two places so we could see attractions at both without having to be in the car for more than 45 minutes with traffic. We will be staying here again on our next trip to Miami. I cannot express how happy we were with our stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

+ Large appartments, large kitchen and bathroom. Nice and clean. Quiet hotel, friendly people. Great pool area and pool service

- Valet parking

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The fundamentals of this place are good, but management, design and operation are not so good. We booked a standard king and got an HHonors upgrade to a one-bedroom suite with a huge kitchen and huge bathroom (complete with bidet and separate shower and whirlpool tub). Seemed awesome. Then we started noticing the little things:

* Housekeeping is lax. On arrival we discovered a slightly encrusted bathtub - obviously not cleaned - and tons of crumbs under the cushions of the sofa bed.

* One of the two phones did not work properly - the buttons to call the front desk, housekeeping, etc. did nothing when pushed. We reported this to the front desk and were told "oh no, none of the living room phones work properly - you just have to dial 0."

* We also had a broken coffee maker in the kitchen (standard Wolfgang Puck 2-cup model - only brewed through one side), though this was replaced with a clunky but functional one.

* The valets kept confusing us with another guest who had the same [very common] last name, and we had to keep explaining to them that no, THIS is our car, and those people are not with us.

* Although the pool deck is OK, most of the pool is very shallow and the swimmable area is pretty small, and the jacuzzi inexplicably has a waterfall in the middle of it which makes it very un-relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanGM1, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We recognize that the details are so important; your feedback was valuable in correcting those deficiencies that you noticed.

I apologize for the confusion you experienced in the valet area; I can imagine how frustrating that was for you to deal with. It is with comments such as yours that we are able to remedy training challenges and better prepare our team members to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Thank you again for your honest feedback. I hope that you will choose to give us another chance when visiting the Miami area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We had a two night stay on the 22nd floor. The room featured a full kitchen, living room, washer/dryer, bedroom and a huge bathroom, as well as a large balcony with a great ocean view. Internet was 10 bucks a day in room but free in the lobby. There were few rooms per floor and that made for a very quiet stay. I dont think we saw one person on our floor throughout the stay. The elevators were a bit slow and annoying as there are 27 floors and three elevators total. It got a bit crowded sometimes and would stop on many floors to pick up more people.

We arrived at the hotel at check in time and were promptly welcomed by a helpful valet. He explained the parking cost, in/out privileges, did a quick inspection of the car exterior, then parked our car. Although expensive, and a norm for the hotels in the area to charge for valet, all of the attendants were helpful and very nice. One evening we came back to the hotel from shopping and had a dinner reservation an hour later. The valet was more than happy to keep the car close when I informed him of this and when we came back out it was ready to go parked to the side of the round about. I was very grateful for this but couldn't find the specific valet to thank him as we left but I assume they share tips. I later found on my bill that parking costs less than advertised. Not sure what that was about but no complaints there. All of the staff at this hotel were very friendly and said hello to you every time you came across them.

Just as an FYI, all services have 18% added gratuity or "service charge" added. This includes beach chairs, restaurant, bars, etc. Speaking of beach service, for two chairs and an umbrella, it costs around $45 a day....ouch! I would suggest going to the beach later in the afternoon and commandeering a couple chairs as most people have left the beach for the day. The beach attendant was very helpful and set everything up for us and that was nice. We only spent one full day on the beach so the charge was not a huge dent in the pocket- I just figured it as $10/hr to lounge on their chairs. The beach was on a big sandbar, you could walk out very far and the water would still be chest deep. It is a diverse crowd on the beach with several different languages being spoken, which I found interesting.

We didn't utilize the pool, why bother when you have a big ocean right there? There are two hot tubs, one with a large waterfall which looked pretty cool. The pool bar was nice to have and the bartender Sheila was amazing. She remembered our names and made great drink suggestions. It was great to sit on the beach and be able to have a beer or cocktail.

The location on the beach was great but not in walking proximity to much else. There are a couple strip malls and a few restaurants but nothing much for bars or nightlife. I guess you have to be closer to SoBe for that. I would recommend a nearby restaurant called L'attico that is within walking distance. There are some restaurants on the other side of the inter-coastal waterway in Aventura and North Miami Beach. We enjoyed dinner at Morton's one evening. Thankfully we had a car and were able to get around to other areas.

We had a billing issue at the end of our stay, I paid for a bar tab on credit card and it was double charged onto the room bill. I called the front desk immediately after getting the bill on check out day. They said they would look into it and call me back. At checkout time I had not heard back so we went downstairs to check out. The supervisor handling checkouts at the time fixed the problem immediately was very helpful and apologetic.

If you enjoy the beach like us, this is the place to go, you can be a beach bum all day. I would stay here again. I don't care for the nickel and diming for amenities but like I said its the norm for the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The hotel rooms do need updated. The furnishings are fine. It's the kitchen and bath that needs updating.

The rooms have a washer and dryer, which is nice for families.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We went here because it was all that was available. We were concerned it would be too buisness-y but boy were we wrong!! The vibes at the hotel were great. Everyone was so nice! The view was awesome... as well as the beach itself.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach

Address: 17375 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort And Spa - Miami Beach North
Doubletree Ocean Point Resort & Spa - Miami Beach North Hotel Miami Beach
Doubletree Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa - North Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.