We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #62 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bronx, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I found out about Winter Haven through Groupon. I read the reviews first and then decided to purchase the deal. I'm glad I did.

First and foremost, the location was amazing. Away from the "craziness", but close enough to walk to it. My last visit to Miami, I stayed on 7th and Ocean and once we walked out of the hotel, we were in the mix of everything.

Upon my arrival, which wasn't until about 11pm, I was greeted by two friendly male employees. The guy checking me in made a face that made me nervous. I asked if I was getting a bad room and he said that I was actually getting one of the two rooms in the hotel that has a balcony, room 618. That news definitely kicked my stay off to a good start!

The room and bedroom were on the smaller side; perfect for my needs. It was perfectly air conditioned and there was a ceiling fan. The tv responded to the remote slowly and the service cut out one day when it rained for a bit.

The balcony was a great addition. I couldn't find the switch to turn on the light during the night; if the light was in fact functional. It was so peaceful that I fell asleep out there one night. The sunroof deck was nice as well. I noticed that it wasn't used very much; which was fine with me because it wasn't noisy when I was outside.

I did not eat at the restaurant nor did I get a drink from the bar.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Angerrak,

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and loved our location.

We hope to see you again on your return visit to Miami Beach.

Kind regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    313
    123
    53
    42
See reviews for
83
351
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed here for my bday weekend from 8/8 - 8/11. As previous people have stated the rooms are small but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. What more do you really need in Miami Beach anyway!?! We received a $50 credit when we checked in and used it for Breakfast, which was average and cost about us $47 for two people (typical for Miami). There's a Walgreen's right behind the hotel and you are in the center of it all (14th and Ocean). Beach is across the street and the hotel provides free beach towels. Cab ride to and from the airport is about a 20-30 minute drive ($32 cab fare). I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Mzgrenada,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read about the great experience you had during your visit with us. We look forward to your visit in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here for three nights primarily on Rewards points. The hotel is yards away from the beach and close to the top end of Ocean Drive. We arrived and were directed to the valet location at the side of the hotel on 14th St. The lobby area is beautiful and you have to take your time to look at the work that has been done to restore it. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There is only one lift, but that tends not to be too much of an issue. The rooms are quite small and the beds are narrow too. We struggled to get all of our bags laid out and had to get quite inventive. Our room was at the side of the hotel with a partial view of the ocean. There was a good selection in the mini bar. There was no pool, but the roof was set aside for sunbathing. The second floor had free coffee 24 hours a day. Overall a great location and a stunning lobby area, maybe better for couples than families.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Sdwoo,

Our goal is to make each and every guest feel they are at their home away from home. I am happy the read you had a lovely time and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm wishes,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Here for a birthday weekend, the staff is very friendly and the room is super clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in the perfect location in South Beach, close to everything.
Walgreens behind the hotel is perfect to stock the room with drinks and snacks.
I highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Skilled312,

Thank you so much for you kind review!

Our staff are indeed the key to our success - we are genuinely concerned about our Guests' needs and I was happy to read that you felt that.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next.

Warm wishes,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everglades City, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Winter Haven for a weekend after we found a special on TravelZoo. The location of this little gem was absolutely perfect... centrally located on Ocean Blvd, steps away from shopping on Collins, directly across from the Beach. From the moment we arrived the service was amazing from the Front Desk to the Bellman and Maintenance. The rooftop was a nice view and a pleasant place to enjoy our morning coffee while still in our bathrobes! Rooms were very small, but clean and we didnt plan our weekend to South Beach to spend in a room!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Bruzki,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read about the great experience you had during your visit with us. We look forward to your visit in the near future.

Best regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very Nice Hotel. My husband and I stayed 3 nights, it was great! The staff was so pleasant. They supplied cold lemon/lime water in the lobby, which was very refreshing after coming in from the beach and hot sun. We had a king room, good size, the bathroom was a little small, but then, it was built in the late 1930's. We had a partial view of the ocean, lovely view with the sunset and when the sun came up. The lobby and mezzanine were decorated very nicely. We were able to walk everywhere. Had breakfast each morning at the restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Mighty Might,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I am excited to read about your great stay and the difference my staff made.

We take pride in the history of the hotel and we look forward to you return visit!

Kind regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I came here to celebrate my bday after a cruise from West Palm. The hospitality was awesome. I got there early and had to wait on my room but they got me in a room within the hour. They also gave me a voucher for breakfast for the wait. It is in a perfect location on south beach. Very clean, comfortable and cozy. The staff was awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Vanessa V,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review!

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.