We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on Ocean Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #61 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Montreal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel on Ocean Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly and yes it is a small hotel. The rooms ending in 01 and 02 are with a view of the beach across the street. There is one small elevator serving the hotel, so the stairs became quite useful. The rooms are tiny as are the bathrooms, but clean. The art deco style is charming, and steps to all the main attractions in south beach, including Lincoln and Esponala Way. 24 hour parking is available at a public garage steps from the hotel, about $20...slightly cheaper than Valet. Also, there is a great sandwich shop around the corner where the locals go...ask the staff, La Sandwicherie. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose rooms ending in 01 or 02...these are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear PJG2224

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I was pleased to read about your great experience you received and the difference my staff made.

Warm regards,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    311
    123
    53
    41
See reviews for
83
350
52
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

A friend and I spent 3 nights at the Winter Haven in July. We selected the Winter Haven on the basis of wanting to stay in an Art Deco property in South Beach and a great deal offered by a travel discount site. The hotel was a reasonable choice at the heavily discounted price we paid but would have been a questionable choice at the $350+ rack rate quoted on the reservation paperwork.

Our room was very, very small - possibly appearing more so because we asked for a room with 2 beds. There was hardly enough floor room for suitcases laying flat. There was also no refrigerator or coffee-making appliance and the only desk-like space was very small and covered with the mini bar stuff - there wasn't any other space for a mini bar which explains why it was on the tiny (Art Deco) desk/table thing. The bathroom was new, modern and small but adequate.

The hotel itself has lots of original features, or close enough to seem original, including a terrazzo floor in the lobby and interesting light fittings. It also has a mezzanine sitting area with coffee, a guest computer and nice view out to the sea. The free wifi worked very well and I spent quite a bit of time in the mezzanine working in lieu of working in the bedroom.

Our tariff included a continental breakfast consisting of several small pastries but the restaurant had a good al la carte breakfast as well and also pretty good food at other meals. The little lobby bar made very good cocktails. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The hotel has no pool but provides towels for guests to use at the beach which is, after all, just across the road. There is also no on-site parking but valet parking is available for $25/night which is about average for Miami hotels.

Overall, the Winter Haven was a reasonable choice for us and very well placed on Ocean Drive. I would consider it for a return visit especially at something close to the very good discount rate we found.

Room Tip: The room with 2 beds was very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Jane E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that your stay with the Winter Haven, Autograph Collection!

Within the coming weeks we will be adding refrigerators and coffeemakers to all our guest rooms.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We came to stay at this hotel in mid July for a Girls weekend. From even before our arrival. the hotel staff was excellent to work with! Nina was so great with our requests to accommodate our group and Lissette was excellent as well through the entire check-in process with such a large group of girls. We had 3 rooms on the 5th floor and it was perfect! The walls were thick so we couldn't hear anything from the other rooms. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms were just what we needed for a group of girls. The restaurant at the hotel was also very delicious - which is where we had breakfast each of the mornings. In addition - the location of the hotel was perfect for getting around to the nightlife, restaurants, and of course, being right on the beach is perfect. There was no pool, but there is a gorgeous rooftop deck that you can mingle at. The staff here was so so excellent, they truly made our stay perfect and so memorable. I've already recommended this hotel to many more of my girlfriends.

Be sure to grab beach towels early in the morning as they go quickly! Also - the elevator can be a little slow so be patient :) The beds are super comfortable and the closets in the rooms are super spacious. Thanks so much Winter Haven for making this such a memorable and wonderful stay! We'll be back again soon :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Zworldtraveler55 ,

We are very happy you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This little gem of a hotel is a refreshing reminder of the Florida's past in the 21st century. It has charm and is centrally located to the local shops on Lincoln St and then a beautiful view of the park and beach across Ocean Drive. The staff are always ready to provide service with a smile.

The restaurant also serves a fabulous meal, whether breakfast, lunch, dinner or or just a quick drink and a snack.

Enjoy South Beach and stay at the Winter Haven!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear DKirkHolladay,

It was an absolute delight to read about your great experience during your recent stay with us. My staff and I strive for 100% guest satiation and take great pride in our guest and service. We are looking forward to seeing you again at your home away from home!

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel was clean and a great location on Ocean Drive. It's not located next to all of the happening spots, which is great because it keeps the noise and traffic down at night. The rooms are small but for the price, you can't beat it. I will definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Kiana B ,

Our goal is to make each and every guest feel they are at their home away from home. I am happy the read you had a lovely time and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Lots of good things about this hotel, front desk and concierge very helpful gave some excellent recommendations for local restaurants. Good access to the beach and busy Collins avenue and Espanola Way which is where we went to eat most nights. You need to ask for ice which isn't an issue and fresh water, coffee is available 24hrs in reception.

Where I feel this hotel could improve the guest experience is with the restaurant. The breakfast voucher given is for continental however the restaurant allows you to select other items at a reduced rate which is oddly calculated and never the same from one day to the next. Our experience of the restaurant service was very poor and they expected an 18% tip which was calculated on the complimentary breakfast value. After the first 4 days of this we decided to have breakfast elsewhere. This is no way a reflection of our stay however it is something that I feel the hotel should address.

Parking at the hotel is $25 for 24hrs. You can however park for $20 for 24 hrs one block up at 13th and Collins, only thing to note is at the weekend this garage can get extremely busy so you may not be able to get your car back in the garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Kirsty F ,


Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not have the upmost guest experience with our restaurant .

It isFeedback like your makes a difference and allows us to personalize guest experience. In the future if your travels bring you Miami Beach, please feel free to contact directly and I will ensure you have a perfect stay.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed there for two nights during a hot and humid July 4th holiday. In short, a very mediocre stay. May or may not stay there again.

Positives:
Looks like the hotel went through a big renovation lately - so all furnitures seem pretty new and modern - does fit the Autograph Collection profile. Upgraded to a oceanfront room due to my status with Marriott - so parking lot or alley view. Service from the the staff varies (but still above average) - most front desk staff are very nice and accommodating, some housekeepers are, but some are not so. Very easy access to the beach and offers towel service. The hotel also has a small terrance and a relaxing mezzanine level. The hotel also offers amenity from L'Occitane - but the housekeeper didn't replenish them on my second day. There are pleasant small touches - umbrella in room, 24-hr coffee, etc. The overall value is okay for a hotel on South Beach and right situated on Ocean Drive.

Negatives:
Kinda surprised at first to see this hotel is branded as a Autograph Collection hotel. There is a restaurant in the front and occupies part of the lobby. The waitresses can be really pushy sometimes. Elite breakfast are offered there - but continental only (- they have a weird math in calculating how much a "free" continental breakfast voucher worth and could be applied towards ordering other menu items). As an Autograph Collection, it is sad to see they did not take an extra step to offer something better than just a plain continental breakfast. As an Art Deco hotel, room size is on the small side. They try so hard to cram as many rooms as possible into this tiny hotel - rooms even have entrances in the stairwell and next the elevator door. Choose another hotel if you want a quiet room: constant noise from the street + you can also hear your neighbors. There is only one elevator - so expect some lines.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;