We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the Price and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #60 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fort Washington, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel was clean and a great location on Ocean Drive. It's not located next to all of the happening spots, which is great because it keeps the noise and traffic down at night. The rooms are small but for the price, you can't beat it. I will definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Kiana B ,

Our goal is to make each and every guest feel they are at their home away from home. I am happy the read you had a lovely time and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    317
    127
    53
    42
See reviews for
85
360
54
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Lots of good things about this hotel, front desk and concierge very helpful gave some excellent recommendations for local restaurants. Good access to the beach and busy Collins avenue and Espanola Way which is where we went to eat most nights. You need to ask for ice which isn't an issue and fresh water, coffee is available 24hrs in reception.

Where I feel this hotel could improve the guest experience is with the restaurant. The breakfast voucher given is for continental however the restaurant allows you to select other items at a reduced rate which is oddly calculated and never the same from one day to the next. Our experience of the restaurant service was very poor and they expected an 18% tip which was calculated on the complimentary breakfast value. After the first 4 days of this we decided to have breakfast elsewhere. This is no way a reflection of our stay however it is something that I feel the hotel should address.

Parking at the hotel is $25 for 24hrs. You can however park for $20 for 24 hrs one block up at 13th and Collins, only thing to note is at the weekend this garage can get extremely busy so you may not be able to get your car back in the garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Kirsty F ,


Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not have the upmost guest experience with our restaurant .

It isFeedback like your makes a difference and allows us to personalize guest experience. In the future if your travels bring you Miami Beach, please feel free to contact directly and I will ensure you have a perfect stay.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed there for two nights during a hot and humid July 4th holiday. In short, a very mediocre stay. May or may not stay there again.

Positives:
Looks like the hotel went through a big renovation lately - so all furnitures seem pretty new and modern - does fit the Autograph Collection profile. Upgraded to a oceanfront room due to my status with Marriott - so parking lot or alley view. Service from the the staff varies (but still above average) - most front desk staff are very nice and accommodating, some housekeepers are, but some are not so. Very easy access to the beach and offers towel service. The hotel also has a small terrance and a relaxing mezzanine level. The hotel also offers amenity from L'Occitane - but the housekeeper didn't replenish them on my second day. There are pleasant small touches - umbrella in room, 24-hr coffee, etc. The overall value is okay for a hotel on South Beach and right situated on Ocean Drive.

Negatives:
Kinda surprised at first to see this hotel is branded as a Autograph Collection hotel. There is a restaurant in the front and occupies part of the lobby. The waitresses can be really pushy sometimes. Elite breakfast are offered there - but continental only (- they have a weird math in calculating how much a "free" continental breakfast voucher worth and could be applied towards ordering other menu items). As an Autograph Collection, it is sad to see they did not take an extra step to offer something better than just a plain continental breakfast. As an Art Deco hotel, room size is on the small side. They try so hard to cram as many rooms as possible into this tiny hotel - rooms even have entrances in the stairwell and next the elevator door. Choose another hotel if you want a quiet room: constant noise from the street + you can also hear your neighbors. There is only one elevator - so expect some lines.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 midweek nights, found the staff friendly and helpful both on arrival and throughout, including at the bar and restaurant. Ocean view room on 4th floor was clean and spacious with all facilities (safe, tv etc) in working order. Given the room fronted onto the the busy road and was also over the restaurant it was not too loud, which was pleasing. I found it to have an impressive deco reception and bar area when viewed from the gallery, where free coffee is available. Overall I had an enjoyable experience at Winterhaven.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Imren A,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I recently stayed, during the NBA finals and had a wonderful experience (even being a Spurs fan.) The staff was very friendly and willing to engage in conversation with its guests. I was nervous about staying smack in the middle of south beach with a child but the hotel provided a very family friendly atmosphere. The rooms and bathroom are small but even with a family of 3, it didnt seem too overcrowded. Even for being on Ocean Drive, it was quiet enough to get a good nights rest and convienent enough to enjoy all the attractions south beach has to offer. Interstingly we had come to Miami from Disney World and my 5 year old sons favorite part of the trip was our time in Miami. Thank you for providing us with a wonderful visit and I will definitely be looking to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear prezstat ,

It was an absolute delight to read about your great experience during your recent stay with us. My staff and I strive for 100% guest satiation and take great pride in our guest and service.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at your home away from home!

Warm regards,
Carlos Samiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very cute boutique hotel right on Ocean Drive! Room and bathroom were small, so they should have been cleaned perfectly. Quaint rooftop area but no pool. Staff are friendly. Actually pretty quiet even for being on the street side.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Coastieswife926,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I gotta good deal off Travelzoo in the Spring and stayed for a short vacation. The world cup was going on, so Miami(south beach) was packed. Overall, the location is great, close enough to all the hot spots on Ocean Drive, yet far away so that you can get a decent night sleep.

My only issue was that it was too packed, which caused room service and check in/check out to be delayed.

After check out, the front desk also made an error, and forgot that we used our vouchers for the travel zoo deal, and ran my card for the room twice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear the salesguys,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us.
Yes- during special events such as the World Cup, the South Beach area can be congested.
I sincerely apologize for credit card description during your stay. Your comments and feedback has been shared with the team to ensure this does not happen to our future guest.

The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please feel free to contact me directly at carlos.sarmiento@bluemoonhotel.com and I will personally handle your reservation.



Kind regards,
Carlos Sarmiento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.