We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #60 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed there for two nights during a hot and humid July 4th holiday. In short, a very mediocre stay. May or may not stay there again.

Positives:
Looks like the hotel went through a big renovation lately - so all furnitures seem pretty new and modern - does fit the Autograph Collection profile. Upgraded to a oceanfront room due to my status with Marriott - so parking lot or alley view. Service from the the staff varies (but still above average) - most front desk staff are very nice and accommodating, some housekeepers are, but some are not so. Very easy access to the beach and offers towel service. The hotel also has a small terrance and a relaxing mezzanine level. The hotel also offers amenity from L'Occitane - but the housekeeper didn't replenish them on my second day. There are pleasant small touches - umbrella in room, 24-hr coffee, etc. The overall value is okay for a hotel on South Beach and right situated on Ocean Drive.

Negatives:
Kinda surprised at first to see this hotel is branded as a Autograph Collection hotel. There is a restaurant in the front and occupies part of the lobby. The waitresses can be really pushy sometimes. Elite breakfast are offered there - but continental only (- they have a weird math in calculating how much a "free" continental breakfast voucher worth and could be applied towards ordering other menu items). As an Autograph Collection, it is sad to see they did not take an extra step to offer something better than just a plain continental breakfast. As an Art Deco hotel, room size is on the small side. They try so hard to cram as many rooms as possible into this tiny hotel - rooms even have entrances in the stairwell and next the elevator door. Choose another hotel if you want a quiet room: constant noise from the street + you can also hear your neighbors. There is only one elevator - so expect some lines.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    315
    125
    53
    42
See reviews for
84
357
54
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 midweek nights, found the staff friendly and helpful both on arrival and throughout, including at the bar and restaurant. Ocean view room on 4th floor was clean and spacious with all facilities (safe, tv etc) in working order. Given the room fronted onto the the busy road and was also over the restaurant it was not too loud, which was pleasing. I found it to have an impressive deco reception and bar area when viewed from the gallery, where free coffee is available. Overall I had an enjoyable experience at Winterhaven.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Imren A,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I recently stayed, during the NBA finals and had a wonderful experience (even being a Spurs fan.) The staff was very friendly and willing to engage in conversation with its guests. I was nervous about staying smack in the middle of south beach with a child but the hotel provided a very family friendly atmosphere. The rooms and bathroom are small but even with a family of 3, it didnt seem too overcrowded. Even for being on Ocean Drive, it was quiet enough to get a good nights rest and convienent enough to enjoy all the attractions south beach has to offer. Interstingly we had come to Miami from Disney World and my 5 year old sons favorite part of the trip was our time in Miami. Thank you for providing us with a wonderful visit and I will definitely be looking to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear prezstat ,

It was an absolute delight to read about your great experience during your recent stay with us. My staff and I strive for 100% guest satiation and take great pride in our guest and service.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at your home away from home!

Warm regards,
Carlos Samiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very cute boutique hotel right on Ocean Drive! Room and bathroom were small, so they should have been cleaned perfectly. Quaint rooftop area but no pool. Staff are friendly. Actually pretty quiet even for being on the street side.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Coastieswife926,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I gotta good deal off Travelzoo in the Spring and stayed for a short vacation. The world cup was going on, so Miami(south beach) was packed. Overall, the location is great, close enough to all the hot spots on Ocean Drive, yet far away so that you can get a decent night sleep.

My only issue was that it was too packed, which caused room service and check in/check out to be delayed.

After check out, the front desk also made an error, and forgot that we used our vouchers for the travel zoo deal, and ran my card for the room twice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear the salesguys,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us.
Yes- during special events such as the World Cup, the South Beach area can be congested.
I sincerely apologize for credit card description during your stay. Your comments and feedback has been shared with the team to ensure this does not happen to our future guest.

The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please feel free to contact me directly at carlos.sarmiento@bluemoonhotel.com and I will personally handle your reservation.



Kind regards,
Carlos Sarmiento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here for 5nts in june before our trip to naples and the key west. This hotel was so friendly, and the staff treated each other like they were all family, which created a lovely atmosphere. You could tell that they all genuinely loved their jobs. Amazing service and the food was excellent. Quite pricey but you are on ocean drive !!
Amazing location right across from the beach, and a more peaceful part of ocean drive so a bit quieter, than perhaps the hotels further down on blocks, 8 downwards.
We had a great time here, and it was the perfect hotel for our stay in Miami. We would definately come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear michcoles,

We are very happy you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here seven nights and overall I enjoyed the experience. The only disappointment was that there was no pool on location at this property, only a sundeck - which was very nice. Staff was very friendly - Shout out to Lloyd! You are across the street from the beach and in the heart of Ocean Drive and steps away from everything Ocean Drive has to offer. Lincoln Road Mall and Espanola Way are just a short walk away. Rooms were clean and nice however, the bathroom (shower particularly) was small.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Paul D,

It was an absolute delight to read about your great experience during your recent stay with us. My staff and I strive for 100% guest satiation and take great pride in our guest and service.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at your home away from home!

Best regards,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.