We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer - Save More!
Ranked #63 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is close to both the Ocean Drive restaurants and the Lincoln Road restaurants. It is also just across the street from the beach. For a boutique hotel, this is a nice hotel. We used the twenty-five cent bus when we went down to first street to see the cruise ships go out. Then we walked back. We did have a noise issue with other guests that was ultimately resolved. If you are a gold rewards member, don't expect a full concierge lounge as that does not exist.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear BH20,

Thank you for you kind review!

We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be glad to personally book your reservations.

Kind regards,

Carlos Sarmiento

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    379
    152
    58
    48
See reviews for
112
439
60
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I wish I had arrived to Winter Haven with lower expectations. I love boutique hotels and was really excited to stay on South Beach. The staff sent me a welcome email, but everything went downhill from there in terms of customer service. My room -- 519 -- has an a/c unit that's louder than an airplane. It's impossible to run the a/c and sleep at the same time. I was told that all the "19" rooms are like that, so avoid those rooms if possible. The staff has been unable to help. The attitude towards me is "deal with it." That's not acceptable at the price it costs to stay here. While my complaint is specific and may not apply to other travelers, the inability of Winter Haven to remedy the problem speaks to a larger lack of interest in their clients. I'll try another hotel next time -- fortunately there are many!

Room Tip: Avoid the "19" column in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear SambaDC,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. I offer my sincerest apologies for what should have been a pleasant experience. As well, I will be certain to share your comments with our team so we can work to eliminate these types of issues for our future guests.

We are sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy your recent stay as expected.
Please feel free to reach out to me directly, I can be reached at Javier.egipciaco@hhmlp.com

Again, I offer my sincerest apologies for this less than exceptional experience.

Kind regards,
Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the Winter Haven. I got a great deal on it on Priceline. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Roberta at the front desk took good care of me. She was very helpful with everything from dinner recommendations to reserving a taxi. The staff also greeted me by name when I would walk though the lobby even though I only stayed for 3 days!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear BradF,

Thank you for your recent visit and taking the time in writing your view!
We are honored that we were able to create a memorable experience.
Please feel free to reach out to me directly on your next visit to Miami Beach.

We look forward to your future stay with us!

Best regards,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I gave this hotel a 4 after my first visit in March 2013 because of the parking issue. After settling in on that visit, I discovered the nearby City of Miami Beach garage at 13th Street and Collins. Knowing what to expect and being familiar with the garage made my second visit in November go more smoothly. The entire staff was great and I was given a wonderful rooftop room with French doors leading to a private outside sitting area which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear AColl,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.. Please let me know when you will be returning to the hotel as I would be delighted to personally handle your booking.

Warm wishes,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, DE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for a day after a cruise. As others have mentioned, the rooms and bathrooms are very small but fine as long as you're not planning to spend a lot of time in the room. A bit noisy also, our room was right next to the elevator and you could hear TVs and conversation from other rooms. Speedy wifi and nice robes in the room. The hotel is nicely decorated and very clean, and staff is attentive and helpful. We spent a little time on the rooftop deck one evening, which unfortunately is not looking out over the ocean, you can see the ocean if you peek out over the side. But still very relaxing. The best thing about this hotel is the location, you are right across the street from the ocean ($20 to rent chair / umbrellas), and only a few blocks from Espanol Way and popular shopping areas. It's at the quieter end of Ocean Drive but still close enough to walk down to the busier areas. The valet service could be better; they advised us to call 30 minutes ahead for the car. We were out walking around and called on our way back to request the car. When we got to the hotel about 30 minutes later ... no car. It took another 25 minutes before they brought it around. Overall a great place to stay in South Beach and a good value considering the prime location.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ocean side on an upper floor, this will keep you away from the street noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear DE_Traveler_2012,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the warm service from our staff. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very nicely decorated with art deco everywhere. Rooms are not the biggest and walls a little thin - they make you sign a no disturbance notice on check-in but we were woken twice at 3am just by people in next room talking loudly for a short while on their return from a bar/ nightclub (??). Our room had a problem with the toilet constantly running on which it took them a day to fix although they did knock $50 off the bill for the inconvenience. As previous reviews, spoiled slightly by having to run the gauntlet of the pushy hostesses at the sublet Il Bolognese restaurant (food there very good however) each time you want to get in as a guest. We started using the side door also. Well located at the quieter end of Ocean Drive and easy walking distance to shops/ restaurants at Lincoln Road Mall and Espanola Way.

Room Tip: Try and get an Ocean View corner room and higher up if possible (#303 or above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Leeds73,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoy your stay with us. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here the day before our cruise and enjoyed every minute of it. Close to everything, especially the beach. Rooms were a bit small but very modern. Loved being able to walk to dinner and enjoy an incredible view. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Nikki H,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. It's feed back like yours that makes a difference and allows us to create memorable experiences!

Best regards,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#53 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Edgewater South Beach
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#59 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
The Hotel
#25 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.