We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #61 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Middletown, DE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed for a day after a cruise. As others have mentioned, the rooms and bathrooms are very small but fine as long as you're not planning to spend a lot of time in the room. A bit noisy also, our room was right next to the elevator and you could hear TVs and conversation from other rooms. Speedy wifi and nice robes in the room. The hotel is nicely decorated and very clean, and staff is attentive and helpful. We spent a little time on the rooftop deck one evening, which unfortunately is not looking out over the ocean, you can see the ocean if you peek out over the side. But still very relaxing. The best thing about this hotel is the location, you are right across the street from the ocean ($20 to rent chair / umbrellas), and only a few blocks from Espanol Way and popular shopping areas. It's at the quieter end of Ocean Drive but still close enough to walk down to the busier areas. The valet service could be better; they advised us to call 30 minutes ahead for the car. We were out walking around and called on our way back to request the car. When we got to the hotel about 30 minutes later ... no car. It took another 25 minutes before they brought it around. Overall a great place to stay in South Beach and a good value considering the prime location.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ocean side on an upper floor, this will keep you away from the street noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear DE_Traveler_2012,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced the warm service from our staff. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    311
    123
    53
    41
See reviews for
83
351
52
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very nicely decorated with art deco everywhere. Rooms are not the biggest and walls a little thin - they make you sign a no disturbance notice on check-in but we were woken twice at 3am just by people in next room talking loudly for a short while on their return from a bar/ nightclub (??). Our room had a problem with the toilet constantly running on which it took them a day to fix although they did knock $50 off the bill for the inconvenience. As previous reviews, spoiled slightly by having to run the gauntlet of the pushy hostesses at the sublet Il Bolognese restaurant (food there very good however) each time you want to get in as a guest. We started using the side door also. Well located at the quieter end of Ocean Drive and easy walking distance to shops/ restaurants at Lincoln Road Mall and Espanola Way.

Room Tip: Try and get an Ocean View corner room and higher up if possible (#303 or above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Leeds73,

Thank you so much for your recent visit and for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoy your stay with us. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here the day before our cruise and enjoyed every minute of it. Close to everything, especially the beach. Rooms were a bit small but very modern. Loved being able to walk to dinner and enjoy an incredible view. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Nikki H,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. It's feed back like yours that makes a difference and allows us to create memorable experiences!

Best regards,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Enjoyed my post cruise stay, taking an extra day to knock "South Beach" off of my bucket list. I used the Big Bus Miami Tour to kill time until check in. After researching South Beach hotels for weeks I settled on Winter Haven. This is by far the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in, but it was worth the expense. The location, the decor, the people watching, the sunny weather; all made it worth it! As others have noted, the rooms are on smaller side and the view from my room was of a wall, but if you peeked around the corner you could see a few palm trees. ;-) I didn't stay in my room much so, the view wasn't that critical. The bed was comfortable and the robes where a added bonus. WIFI had a strong signal and quick downloads. The staff was friendly and helpful. They ordered a cab for my early AM trip to the airport and it arrived on time and the bellman was quick to transport my bags from the lobby. Winter Haven is the perfect spot for couples looking for a South Beach getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Urban_Photog,

Thank you for your amazing review! The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please contact me directly I will ensure another perfect stay. We look forward to seeing you again at your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Overall the place is nice. The rooms are small but adequate and the decor is well done. They sublet the front and restaurant to il bolognese....so if you go in and out the ocean Bch entrance, the hostesses bombard you time and time again to eat there....how absurd that they can't tell you're a guest. So use the side door. The toilet tissue is rough, the AC is loud, the doors are heavy, which is good because you want quiet ...but they are heavy. All the doors in the rooms close on you...the bathroom and closet...it would be helpful to have doorstops. They have no pool....you can use a reciprocal hotels pool....but it's a long walk away.
They also have a reciprocal arrangement for the gym....no clue how far away that is. I felt there was NO management on staff and everything was a bit off. Not enough smiles, the front desk gals are not that friendly. The bell hops try, but the valet company stinks. They do a terrible job with valet parking, and a terrible job getting the cab there on time...allow for 15 to 30 minutes for either....All in all it's a bit pricey...but everything on SOBE is....the location is great, but the beach is across the street and you have to pay 20 dollars per chair and 15 for an umbrella to use a public beach company....good spot if your using points....but if you can splurge, I'd suggest one of the hotels above 15 the street that are on the beach. It just feels more relaxed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear dkrubes,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not have the upmost guest experience. Feed back like your makes a difference and allows us to personalize guest experience. In the future if your travels bring you Miami Beach, please feel free to contact directly and I will ensure you have a perfect stay.

Best regards,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the location if you want to experience South Beach. Ideal location for beach, restaurants, people and car watching. Our corner room was smallish as was the bathroom. Ok for 2 people. The hotel is charming and clean and the staff is very helpfully and friendly. A very nice boutique hotel in a great location

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Chet W,

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I was pleased to read about your great experience and the difference my staff made.

We are looking forward to your return visit!

Best,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Juan at the bar is the man to see, he's very friendly, attentive, and for a smaller hotel it's nice to know staff care about the guests:)

Free coffee and tea for guests is a plus. The vallet was friendly and the people in the lobby were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Uger123,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.