We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #60 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Enjoyed my post cruise stay, taking an extra day to knock "South Beach" off of my bucket list. I used the Big Bus Miami Tour to kill time until check in. After researching South Beach hotels for weeks I settled on Winter Haven. This is by far the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in, but it was worth the expense. The location, the decor, the people watching, the sunny weather; all made it worth it! As others have noted, the rooms are on smaller side and the view from my room was of a wall, but if you peeked around the corner you could see a few palm trees. ;-) I didn't stay in my room much so, the view wasn't that critical. The bed was comfortable and the robes where a added bonus. WIFI had a strong signal and quick downloads. The staff was friendly and helpful. They ordered a cab for my early AM trip to the airport and it arrived on time and the bellman was quick to transport my bags from the lobby. Winter Haven is the perfect spot for couples looking for a South Beach getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Urban_Photog,

Thank you for your amazing review! The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please contact me directly I will ensure another perfect stay. We look forward to seeing you again at your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    311
    123
    53
    41
See reviews for
83
351
52
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Overall the place is nice. The rooms are small but adequate and the decor is well done. They sublet the front and restaurant to il bolognese....so if you go in and out the ocean Bch entrance, the hostesses bombard you time and time again to eat there....how absurd that they can't tell you're a guest. So use the side door. The toilet tissue is rough, the AC is loud, the doors are heavy, which is good because you want quiet ...but they are heavy. All the doors in the rooms close on you...the bathroom and closet...it would be helpful to have doorstops. They have no pool....you can use a reciprocal hotels pool....but it's a long walk away.
They also have a reciprocal arrangement for the gym....no clue how far away that is. I felt there was NO management on staff and everything was a bit off. Not enough smiles, the front desk gals are not that friendly. The bell hops try, but the valet company stinks. They do a terrible job with valet parking, and a terrible job getting the cab there on time...allow for 15 to 30 minutes for either....All in all it's a bit pricey...but everything on SOBE is....the location is great, but the beach is across the street and you have to pay 20 dollars per chair and 15 for an umbrella to use a public beach company....good spot if your using points....but if you can splurge, I'd suggest one of the hotels above 15 the street that are on the beach. It just feels more relaxed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear dkrubes,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not have the upmost guest experience. Feed back like your makes a difference and allows us to personalize guest experience. In the future if your travels bring you Miami Beach, please feel free to contact directly and I will ensure you have a perfect stay.

Best regards,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the location if you want to experience South Beach. Ideal location for beach, restaurants, people and car watching. Our corner room was smallish as was the bathroom. Ok for 2 people. The hotel is charming and clean and the staff is very helpfully and friendly. A very nice boutique hotel in a great location

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Chet W,

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I was pleased to read about your great experience and the difference my staff made.

We are looking forward to your return visit!

Best,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Juan at the bar is the man to see, he's very friendly, attentive, and for a smaller hotel it's nice to know staff care about the guests:)

Free coffee and tea for guests is a plus. The vallet was friendly and the people in the lobby were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Uger123,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights PRIOR to a Caribbean cruise and upon first entry into our room, my comment was that we were in training for a ship stateroom.
Yes, the rooms and the bathrooms are very small - even smaller than an NYC hotel room. It is, afterall, an older building. But, oh my, the location was superb. We are not late nighters and really enjoyed a respite from the lively & loud Miami Beach night-life and the close proximity to the beach & Ocean Dr. during the day.
The lobby is just lovely and houses the inside portion of a wonderful restaurant (which, BTW, has a great outside section in front.) Also very enjoyable is the roof deck. There wasn't service up top (we were there in January) but the restaurant was very gracious to deliver our order to us.
We would probably stay there again, but be specific about requesting one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Melinda J,

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I was pleased to read about your great experience and the difference my staff made.

We are looking forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,
Javier
Director Of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Rooms and bathrooms so small you can hardly move. Had to move to another hotel after the first night I also left a brand new shirt hanging in the closet and when i got to new hotel I called and they said housekeeping was gone for the day and they would call me in the morning to get it. They never called and when i called back someone was already in room and they said there was no shirt. I called the manager of the hotel and left another message. To this day, he has never contacted me. Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Vem2425,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Winter Haven, Autograph Collection.
I am sorry to hear your stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.
You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights after a Caribbean cruise before flying back to UK.
Lovely art deco hotel - great location and at the quieter end of Ocean Drive. Excellent service and they were happy to hold our bags until room became available at 1100 having arrived from ship at 0830. Very popular place for breakfast, lunch and dinner - and there are so many other places to eat in the area that that comes as a recommendation.
Great "cool" room with ensuite shower room + TV etc.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier E, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Carltoncouple,

It was an absolute delight to read about your great experience during your recent stay with us. My staff and I strive for 100% guest satiation and take great pride in our guest and service. We are looking forward to seeing you again at your home away from home!

Warm regards,

Javier Egipciaco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.