We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean, Great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer - Save More!
Ranked #62 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean, Great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You do not have to drive anywhere if you are staying here. Right on the beach. We stayed on the 6th floor corner room. The room was clean, clean bathroom too (but VERY SMALL). Updated decor in lobby and room. There is a restaurant downstairs and a deck on the 6th floor to provide guests with city view. I don't think there is a swimming pool here. I love it, but I wished the bathroom was a little larger.
Valet costs $25 a night or you can pay $1.75 an hour on the street. The staffs were friendly, including the restaurants staffs. We had breakfast and late lunch everything tasty.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and the great review!

SillygirlP,

It is great to read my staff was readily available when needed. At the Winter Haven we strive for 100% guest satisfactory and creating memorable experiences.

The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to personally book your room.

Warm regards,

John Perez

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    349
    142
    55
    45
See reviews for
96
405
59
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I couldn't ask for more. Winter Haven has its charm, personality and more over perfect Location! South beach Miami! South Beach is just 2-3 mins walk. Bang in Ocean drive! Walkable to all location!
Coming to the room! I got the King size Bed. As we enter the room, you get this great fresh smell and good looking room which you always crave for. Bathrooms are really small, but extremely clean and well kept! Frontdesk is very helpful and prompt. They do have Valet parking, but you can park yourself in one of the Parking Plaza's nearby. Really, if you are planning to walk around, park your car in the parking plaza 13th street/ave, just a block away! Overall, I am very satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear NishNat,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review us!

At the Winter Haven we strive for 100% guest satisfactory and creating memorable experiences.

The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to personally book your room.

Warm regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for five days.The Hotel did not impress me at all.What was so great to call a boutique Hotel I don't know. There was no fridge in the room.There was not tea/coffee maker in the room. The bathrooms were not maintained .the shower stand was broken.There was no soap tray in the bathroom. The bathroom mat was provided only after asking. Though WIFI was free ,was not working in the room.Though being a previlaged member of Marriot no incentives were given .I wonder how can Marriot name was given to the Hotel. The Marriot name could not be seen anywhere .Also no one would show you the addres if you ask for Marriot as it is known as Winter haven only.

Room Tip: choose a room facing ocean for an extra price of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Anil K,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not have the upmost guest experience. Feed back like your makes a difference and allows us to personalize guest experience. In the future if your travels bring you Miami Beach, please feel free to contact directly and I will ensure you next stay with us will be a perfect one.

Warm regards,

John Perez
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is the best choice for a hotel on Ocean Drive in South Beach. The entire hotel has recently been renovated. The rooms are immaculate and South Beach "cool". The Hotel common area/lobby itself has the true feel of 1930's Art Deco as the hotel designer has paid special attention to details of the era by preserving key components from the original property. The location is superb....On the strip and directly across from the beach. The hotel Staff is top shelf, very friendly, very helpful and quick to accommodate every request. Joaquin the manager, Mariah at check-in and Raulito the bellman could not have been more professional and gracious. I have stayed at several properties in South Beach, and this is my favorite as I have stayed here several times. Most impressive, is with all the first class treatment, and the fact that it is a Marriott "boutique" property, it is in fact a very reasonably priced choice in South Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Bill S,

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I was pleased to read about your great experience you received and the difference my staff made.

Kind regards,

John Perez

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After deciding not to book a hotel prior to leaving my home in Atlanta, this hotel MADE the beginning of a 26th birthday weekend adventure. Nina and Eric, at the front desk, and Lloyd, the bellman, were a few of the many who made sure we were taken care of from start to finish. To have a hotel located on Ocean Drive that is as clean, has comfortable beds, as well as hospitable staff is a lucky find. All, in all, this is a hotel that will continuously get my recommendation for celebrations, business dealings, and families alike. (Don't forget to checkout the rooftop lounge!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

At the begging it seemed like I was having some trouble with muy reservation but Joacquine the hotel manager, was really kind and helpfull. The overall experience was great, much better than previous years that I had stayed at the hotel twice.
Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ideal location, beautifully renovated, and the staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Nina, Mariya, Lloyd, and the bartender who's name I didn't get - all of them were simply outstanding. Highly recommend the Winter Haven for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.