We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer - Save More!
Ranked #62 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After deciding not to book a hotel prior to leaving my home in Atlanta, this hotel MADE the beginning of a 26th birthday weekend adventure. Nina and Eric, at the front desk, and Lloyd, the bellman, were a few of the many who made sure we were taken care of from start to finish. To have a hotel located on Ocean Drive that is as clean, has comfortable beds, as well as hospitable staff is a lucky find. All, in all, this is a hotel that will continuously get my recommendation for celebrations, business dealings, and families alike. (Don't forget to checkout the rooftop lounge!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    350
    142
    55
    45
See reviews for
96
406
59
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

At the begging it seemed like I was having some trouble with muy reservation but Joacquine the hotel manager, was really kind and helpfull. The overall experience was great, much better than previous years that I had stayed at the hotel twice.
Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ideal location, beautifully renovated, and the staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. Nina, Mariya, Lloyd, and the bartender who's name I didn't get - all of them were simply outstanding. Highly recommend the Winter Haven for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at New Haven hotel to celebrate our 24th anniversary. Nice art deco boutique style hotel directly across the street from the beach. Great onsite Italian restaurant and bar for that evening of "sit back and relax" atmosphere. This is not your typical Marriott hotel as it has the best of both worlds, comforts of Marriott with a touch of south beach charm. Rooms and bathrooms are small, but bed is very comfortable and it has that Marriott touch that guarantees you a good night sleep.
From the outside might not look convincing, but once you enter the hotel you realize that everything is going to be perfect. The profesional and friendly staff makes it even better!!!

Room Tip: Ask for corner room which has more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am so pleased that Marriott offers this property in South Beach. Our group had two very pleasant clean rooms. My family of four, including two teen boys, was not in the least crowded in our room. The shower was nice and roomy with great water pressure. I mention this as I have stayed in older buildings in the area that do have issues with water pressure. In addition, often older beach hotels have musty, unpleasant odors; but our rooms were extremely pleasant in this regard as was the rest of the hotel. We had a good view of the ocean and Ocean Drive. There was no problem with noise level as you often have in this area. We will definitely return to the Winter Haven. Great location, great service, great hotel, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear lisarollison,

As loyal contributor to TripAdvisor thank you for taking the time and writing your review.

I am happy to read our staff was helpful and accommodating during your stay with us.

In the future, if your travels bring to Miami Beach, please contact me directly and I will personally make the arrangements for you!

Kind regards,

John Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the Winter Haven in SoBe and had a wonderful time! The hotel has a lovely lobby and spacious patio to sit and people watch. The customer service was excellent from check-in to check-out! Really appreciated the attentiveness of the entire staff, as well as, the delicious complimentary apples and iced water available in the lobby. Bottled water is also available at the front desk if you ask.

It's true that the rooms are small (typical for most art deco hotels), but what the Winter Haven lacks in space, they make up for with outstanding service!! The guest rooms are clean with chic decor and free wireless internet (plus extra amenities for Marriott Elite members!). We had room #411 with a slight ocean view and spent our days walking around SoBe. But if you want a great view or plan to spend more time in your room, spring for an ocean front room. This hotel is located at 14th & Ocean Ave - perfect area that is not too busy or noisy.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. John Perez and his entire team are top notch and know how to make their guests feel welcomed! Minor issue - elevator is a little slow and the breakfast pricing a little steep ($30 for full breakfast). But not a problem, since the hotel only has 6 floors and there are a plethora of nearby places to grab an inexpensive delicious meal!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade when you arrive or via email. Also, check Marriott website for special Reward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear SouthernGurl02,

Thank you for your kind words!

It was a delight having you as our guest and I’m very happy to hear you had as great stay with us!

We look forward to your return stay at the Winter Haven!

Warm wishes,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great service. Lisa and Mariah at the front desk are excellent. Alex, Barbaro and Lloyd at the front door are an asset to the hotel. Nice job by the hotel staff!

I recommend this hotel to others who want to be on South Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John P, Front Office Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear J S,

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review us!

Lisa, Barbaro, Mariya and Alex are rock stars and I am excited to read they made your stay a memeroble one.

The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please feel free to contact me directly and I will personally make your reservation.


We look forward to your future visit with us!


Warm wishes,

John Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.