We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location but tiny spartan rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #61 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, good location but tiny spartan rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The location is great but there is no pool or room service. The rooms was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food is borderline. Overall it was OK for a business trip with no leisure time but would not go to Miami Beach for fun and stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    333
    132
    54
    44
See reviews for
89
378
57
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent two nights at the Winter Haven and could not fault the hotel. Had a problem with our hair iron not working and the staff were very helpful in having a look and trying to sort out our issue.
Excellent location on South beach but still away from the noisy part, so a good sleep is guaranteed. Breakfast was great with a nice continental selection to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Like most travelers, we only really need a clean room, a good night's sleep, good shower, and internet access to get our work done. After giving Marriott an opportunity first to address some of the issues and receiving canned responses and excuses, the traveling public should beware.

Pros:
- Great Location
- Comfortable bed
- Good bathroom lighting, water pressure, consistent temperature
- Good size safe
- Nice to have iHome setup for charging multiple devices

Cons:
- Shower was a tiny box, not possible for an average 6' tall man to even raise his arms to bathe
- Rooms were small and so crowded that a 4-drawer chest was stuffed in the closet, leaving zero room for clothes
- Air conditioner was deafening, waking us most every time it kicked on thru the nights
- Room was run-down with pitted glass mirrors, peeling wallpaper
- Wifi was virtually inaccessible; even after resetting laptop, nothing ever worked on iPad anywhere in the hotel
- Unable to turn TV on, off, or change channels most of the time (apparently a common occurrence which requires technician to reset)
- Entire power in room repeatedly goes off and on

Basic needs were seriously compromised. We were repeatedly promised that things were being fixed, but this never transpired. While we ignored the cheap plastic cups and inadequate space for personal care products, on most occasions, the attitude of the front desk staff bordered on rude and somewhat pompous.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just stayed there for two nights; right on Ocean Drive literally across from beach & boardwalk. Dining al fresco in the morning was lovely. Room was very small, which is forgivable given the building is old art deco (1920s? 1930s?); part of the charm I guess. The condition of the room was another story. Of the three electronic devices in the room (telephone, television & clock-radio) precisely zero of them worked. I mentioned it to the manager the first morning and they fixed the clock by the time I returned that evening. I'm sure there are better options for the same price in the same neighborhood; I'll never stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 419.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location on Ocean Drive! It's just steps from the beach and close to Lincoln Road Mall. When my husband and I arrived, the front desk attendant was very nice and checked us in quickly.

The rooms are SMALL, but nice. They are decorated well and make good use of the space. Since we planned to be out most of the time, the room size was not a bother. The bathroom is small as well, and only have a shower, which wasn't a problem for us. There's a rooftop cabana that's really nice to hang out on as well.

Our weekend was a bit rainy, so we spent more time in the room than originally planned. We discovered that although the flat screen tv was nice in size, the reception was terrible. Also, the phone didn't work. We asked the front desk about it and they told us that there was a problem with their cable/voip that would be fixed by Monday. We left on Tuesday and it hadn't been fixed. The internet worked, however, so we watched tv on my laptop.

The only other negative would be something that's apparently common in the area. Most hotels along that corridor have restaurants in the front. They have people posted out front to pester passers-by to stop and eat. It's pretty annoying. I thought we would get a pass from the restaurant in front of our own hotel as we exited because we were obviously guests, but we were harassed just the same. We had to start leaving from the side door.

For the price, it was a pretty decent deal overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for 4days in this hotel and we got a free upgrade in our room. ROOFTOP!
The room was nice, but the glasses at the windows not so clean. Big resting bed, clean bathroom. The breakfast is really poor though (boilled eggs, bread, butter, marmelade, coffe, milk, tea and juice...That's it!)
The location is great because it is within walking distance from art deco area, bars, clubs, restaurants, shops.
Watch it: the rastaurants in Ocean Drive are much more expensive than the ones on the other streets and the quality of food not justifiable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed 4 nights .. the Hotel's location is really great, just blocks away of Lincoln Road Mall, in the middle of the Art Deco district and in front of the beach .. quite hard to beat. In the blocks around one can find any possible type of food, drinks, party and shopping you are looking for .. and the ocean .. as wonderful as it can get ..
If you don't come to Miami to stay in your hotel room more than for sleeping and refreshing, then is a good option .. Beds and pillows are just .. from heaven!! And that is basically it. Bathrooms are clean, but VERY small .. with no windows whatsoever. Rooms are decorated in a retro style with some restored furniture, not exactly a piece of art, but fine. TV service is a bit .. weird .. like delayed but again, who comes to Miami to watch TV?
I wouldn't stay in this place again, although I won't forget how convenient and wonderful the location is. I would look for some more modern place nearby .. No frigo bars, no vending machines, hard to get even a bottle of water in the middle of the night without going out .. Could have some details to make it a bit better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.