We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Bad Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Winter Haven, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #61 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, Bad Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just stayed there for two nights; right on Ocean Drive literally across from beach & boardwalk. Dining al fresco in the morning was lovely. Room was very small, which is forgivable given the building is old art deco (1920s? 1930s?); part of the charm I guess. The condition of the room was another story. Of the three electronic devices in the room (telephone, television & clock-radio) precisely zero of them worked. I mentioned it to the manager the first morning and they fixed the clock by the time I returned that evening. I'm sure there are better options for the same price in the same neighborhood; I'll never stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 419.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    313
    123
    53
    42
See reviews for
83
351
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location on Ocean Drive! It's just steps from the beach and close to Lincoln Road Mall. When my husband and I arrived, the front desk attendant was very nice and checked us in quickly.

The rooms are SMALL, but nice. They are decorated well and make good use of the space. Since we planned to be out most of the time, the room size was not a bother. The bathroom is small as well, and only have a shower, which wasn't a problem for us. There's a rooftop cabana that's really nice to hang out on as well.

Our weekend was a bit rainy, so we spent more time in the room than originally planned. We discovered that although the flat screen tv was nice in size, the reception was terrible. Also, the phone didn't work. We asked the front desk about it and they told us that there was a problem with their cable/voip that would be fixed by Monday. We left on Tuesday and it hadn't been fixed. The internet worked, however, so we watched tv on my laptop.

The only other negative would be something that's apparently common in the area. Most hotels along that corridor have restaurants in the front. They have people posted out front to pester passers-by to stop and eat. It's pretty annoying. I thought we would get a pass from the restaurant in front of our own hotel as we exited because we were obviously guests, but we were harassed just the same. We had to start leaving from the side door.

For the price, it was a pretty decent deal overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for 4days in this hotel and we got a free upgrade in our room. ROOFTOP!
The room was nice, but the glasses at the windows not so clean. Big resting bed, clean bathroom. The breakfast is really poor though (boilled eggs, bread, butter, marmelade, coffe, milk, tea and juice...That's it!)
The location is great because it is within walking distance from art deco area, bars, clubs, restaurants, shops.
Watch it: the rastaurants in Ocean Drive are much more expensive than the ones on the other streets and the quality of food not justifiable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed 4 nights .. the Hotel's location is really great, just blocks away of Lincoln Road Mall, in the middle of the Art Deco district and in front of the beach .. quite hard to beat. In the blocks around one can find any possible type of food, drinks, party and shopping you are looking for .. and the ocean .. as wonderful as it can get ..
If you don't come to Miami to stay in your hotel room more than for sleeping and refreshing, then is a good option .. Beds and pillows are just .. from heaven!! And that is basically it. Bathrooms are clean, but VERY small .. with no windows whatsoever. Rooms are decorated in a retro style with some restored furniture, not exactly a piece of art, but fine. TV service is a bit .. weird .. like delayed but again, who comes to Miami to watch TV?
I wouldn't stay in this place again, although I won't forget how convenient and wonderful the location is. I would look for some more modern place nearby .. No frigo bars, no vending machines, hard to get even a bottle of water in the middle of the night without going out .. Could have some details to make it a bit better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My Husband and I spend one night here- we were both very disappointed. The internet did not work at all (they said that the internest didnt work on the 5th and 6th floors... that was the solution to the problem)- The TV was fuzzy at best- also the phones didn't work to call the front desk-(or anyone) which made complaining impossible.
The images online show a martini bar at the front of the hotel... this Martini bar does not exist! so sad...
Also no vanity lights in the bathroom- VERY small room.
If staying in Miami, Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great stay for the price
Very close to the beach
In the center of all attractions (bars, cafes, restaurants, clubs, shopping center)
Small but clean rooms
Very friendly staff
Breakfast is satisfactory

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Winter Haven for 10 nights in September. When we got to the hotel and checked in I was informed by reception that although I had requested a twin room they've had to give me a room with a Queen bed which my friend and I would have to share as it was Labour Day weekend and they were fully booked. I was a little annoyed but we didn't want to start our holiday on a bad note so accepted. But the receptionist said that we should check with the front desk on the Monday to try and get moved as most people would have checked out at this point. Also the WiFi didn't work for the first three days of our stay on our floor and I was informed that this was because the storm had knocked something out. So why am I rating his hotel so high, I hear you ask! Well let me say that I appreciate the pressure the hotel was under on one of the busiest weekends of the year. Come the Monday we were immedietley moved to a twin room and the WiFi was sorted out. Anne on reception is an absolute gem and when we told here that we would be spending a night in Orlando, she made sure that she had all our contact details to make sure we were ok as two girls travelling alone. The hotel is at a great location as it is across the road from the beach and close to the action but not so close that the noise is a nuisance. Starbucks is across the road and a great wings joint is a block up. It's one block from the greatest sandwich shop in the world, La Sandwicherie!!! The rooms are nicely furnished and the beds are comfortable. Bathrooms very clean with lots of towels and a good shower. Ok we didn't get a room with magical views but who cares? We weren't there to see South Beach through a window. The rooftop terrace was spectacular and a great place to chill and sun bathe without the beach crowds. Breakfast is nice although a little basic but gets your day off to a good start. Every staff member we encountered was lovely, pleasant and helpful. I would definitely reccomend this hotel and would stay again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Rooftop terrace offering breathtaking ocean views, sun loungers and full food and beverage service. Fresh Florida seafood at Rock Lobster and finely crafted cocktails in the lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.