We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining Al Fresco - without the pleasure” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Suites!
Ranked #44 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dining Al Fresco - without the pleasure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I recently dined at the Raleigh Hotel in Miami Beach with friends. We had a great time together, and the scene was set for a fantastic meal. However, it never happened the way we wished.
Firstly, we had the worst waiter in the world - Arial! Who would of though a Disney Character named waiter could be so bad. Can you all scream -ATTITUDE, bad service, don't care mentality!
When we asked for the manager - he said.."Oh we don't have one on duty today - he died" We all laughed, then found out later it was true!
One good thing....food was fantastic. I guess being around forever doesn't mean much anymore. Parking is 25 bucks.....also with attitude. Welcome to SouthBeach. Give me Brickell anytime.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    203
    59
    29
    27
See reviews for
101
294
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Our South Beach experience was totally ruined by the staff, management, and outright fraud of the Raleigh Hotel. NEVER STAY HERE, especially if you are staying after business hours or on a holiday as the front desk personnel seem to be terminally confused as to what has been charged, or when the charges occurrence and will double authorize your credit card "just in case". I should have taken a cue from the couple who was in line ahead of me at check out who were having the same problem. We had a couple of friends over for drinks before dinner, something we have done many times when in town before..however upon check out we discovered the hotel must spy on the guest because they charged us an additional 300 dollars for having 4 friends in the room for 2 hours before dinner!!?? Of course due to gross incompetence the staff upon check out sunday pointed fingers and said there was nothing they could do because that was the policy 'IN THE SYSTEM"..RIP OFF!!..Do yourself, your loved ones or anyone heading to South Beach a favor and have them go to the worst part of town and get mugged for the cash in their pockets before you consider staying at the Raleigh..it will be cheaper, and the theft will end with the mugger..not so with this house of fraud!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blevine, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear Guest,

We take all guest feedback and comments very seriously. At the Raleigh we strive to provide 1st class service to all our guests all the time.

I have attempted to personally contact you and inquire further details of your reservation to research and correct your challenges, but have not heard back from you.

In the meantime, I have shared your review with our entire team so everyone is aware of your experience. Our training and development team has also highlighted these points in retraining our existing staff and any new team members who will join us in the future.

Again, please feel free to contact me directly to further discuss and resolve the challenges you experienced.

Best,

Ben Levine
Director of Rooms
blevine@raleighhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We spent a fair bit of time researching where to stay in South Beach for 2 nights before and after a trip to the Caribbean and chose the Raleigh, and we are so glad we did. The hotel lobby, bar and pool were fantastic and their breakfast was amazing! Alex the concierge was brilliant and pointed us to great restaurants and sites to see. We read the average comments about the rooms but we actually liked ours, yes somewhat outdated, but super comfortable and maintained the art deco feel. We had the best mojito we've ever had and really enjoyed spending time by the pool. We'll be back for sure...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

I got a very good rate on priceline.

staff very friendly. smiling. helped store luggage.

lobby nice. pool plenty of towels, sun loungers. drinks a bit expensive.

rooms horrible. not carpeted. beds uncomfortable. shower leaks everywhere because it is only partially enclosed. nice moulton brown tolietries.

basically the rooms need redoing. have stayed in 3 of these art deco hotels and the rooms were much nicer.

halways of hotel are like a motel 6.


If I had to pay fullrate no way especially with the delano and national next door.


roo

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Great art deco building and the pool is fantastic but unfortunately the rooms are dated, the air-con is noisy and overall it is not really worth the money.

Also, on our first night we had just arrived in the States so was tired and were woken up (at 3am) by what we thought was the clock radio alarm at first (because we were in such a deep sleep) but turned out to be our smoke alarm. We called the desk and an engineer came saying that it had gone off because the battery needed replacing and just took the alarm away so we were without a smoke alarm.

I didn't care at 3.30am but the next day was obviously frustrated at he interrupted sleep and concerned that theywere obviously not checking the smoke alarms regularly enough and then we were left without an alarm so if there had been a fire, we would not have been woken by an alarm.

The manager's way of apologising (and only after I asked to speak to him as no-one would have contacted us to apolgise otherwise). Free continental breakfast. A terrible way to deal with the situation and far less than you would expect from a hotel purporting to be of a high calibre.

Alex the concierge was amazing however, helpful before we got there in booking restaurants and recommending fantastic individual places to go whilst there. Shame their management don't have the same "can do" attitude.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights back in April, and enjoyed our stay overall. Our "Sunset King" room was very average for the price we paid, but it did indeed have a sunset view! The bathrooms are small, and the rain shower is a bit challenging with its half-sized glass wall, but the amenities were very nice. Rooms were very clean, with some nice touches at turn-down, like candles and a welcome gift of fruit. The hotel was quiet at night.

We loved the lobby sitting areas and spent a lot of time in the outside courtyard bar and restaurant, leading to the pool area. We ate breakfast and lunch there a couple of times, and found the food to be of decent quality. The pool area was very crowded on the weekend, but there is an expansive seating area beyond the pool that has tables and cabanas. Pool drink/food service was non-existent for us, as every server was dedicated to a couple of groups sitting around us. They looked at us, but never came over until the other groups left. We were near the bar, so it was fine, but it was clear that unless you held some clout, you weren't getting served.

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of the major areas of South Beach, and there is beach access in the back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Apparently we got a great rate for this hotel, $279 per night. I expect a pretty darn nice room for $279 per night !! When we arrived, the valet was extremely friendly and took us on a little tour of the property. The pool is everything you read about...FABULOUS !!! truly special . The rest of the grounds are also wonderful...with lots of huge lounging beds scattered around the property. The beach is attached to the end of the property and also lives up to its reputation. Miami may be built up and crowded but this is one of the nicest beaches in the world. The rooms, on the other hand, you wouldn't expect from a Holiday Inn. They are small, with inadequate lighting, shower, no tub. We were on the "city side" so I don't know if beach front are nicer. The beds and pillows were comfortable, apparently the furniture is very "art deco" but to me it just seemed old and tired with chipped paint etc. The bathroom is alright, also very small, but that was probably the best feature of the room. My other family members on another floor complained of hearing everything from the room next door but we didn't have that problem. If you are interested in a lovely respite from the "craziness" of south beach, this hotel is great for that..however, if you like to spend some down time enjoying a luxurious hotel room, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.