We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, strange key policy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Save Saved
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off & $100 Credit
Ranked #40 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Groton, Connecticut
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, strange key policy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My friends and I recently stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel is nice, beautiful lobby area with a small coffee shop and super pricy gift shop ($8 for a toothbrush). The rooms are small but we did not spend much time in there so that was fine. What I found very strange is that they ask you to return your key to the front desk each time you leave the building so you do not lose it. They are regular keys, not key cards, and if you lose it you have to pay $70. And since they have the hotel name on them and the room #, they think it's best to just hand them in when you leave and pick them up when you return. The problem with this, for me, is that we had 3 rooms total. On several occasions I asked for different room keys and they never question it. They do not look up your name and room #, they just hand it over! This made me feel very unsafe, anyone could have asked for my room key and they probably would have just given it to them. During our 4 day stay, there were many different people working the front desk and I know they did not all know what room we were staying in. Other than that, we had a good stay. The pool area and outdoor dining area was lovely. This is a great location for restaurants, shopping, beach, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel overall was to your liking. Regarding the key policy, please know that your saftey is of the utmost concern to us, that's why we suggest you leave key at the front desk when leaving the property, needless to say some of our guests would rather hold on to their keys throughout their stay. We have a strict regulation when it comes to handing the room key over to anyone; the identity of the guest must be confirmed beforehand, however oftentimes as we become familiar with a guest we can denote who they are what room they are staying in beforehand. Please feel free to conact me directly to futher discuss your previous stay or arrangements for you return.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    184
    52
    26
    24
See reviews for
92
267
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 3 nights in May . The location was very good, having own beach access, near the Lincoln road shopping, bars and restaurants. I found this hotel very reasonable priced.

The check in was very quick and the staff was very friendly. I got upgraded to room a room on the 5th floor with a view to the pool. The room was small and little bit tired. The bathroom was very small with standing shower. For one person the room was ok, but I would probably feel bit crammed would I have been traveling with someone else. The bedframe could have been sturdier as it made noises when moving around in bed. The pillow option was not too great and the hotel did not offer pillow menu. The room had iPod deck with alarm. The room had safe and
kettle. I like that they toiletries very reasonable sized and also the towels were new.

The hotel had a small pool and I had no problem finding spot. The pool service was good as well as selection of snacks.

I was not sure what was going on with cleaners as they changed the room furniture, table, chairs location every day when they cleaned, which little was annoying.

One thing worth trying in the hotel; I had cocktail in the hotel bar and the hotel mixologist Mark makes one of the best cocktails around. I was very impressed.

Overall I like the 50s art deco style and the staff is very helpful and friendly. I would stay this hotel again would I be traveling alone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at the Raleigh, from our signature retro look and nostalgic feel to your liking our location was convenient for you, and that the front desk staff to be friendly and efficient. Our pool is certainly a centerpiece for the hotel and excited that it was a great part of your experience and Mixologist Mark delivered with some great cocktails. I'm sorry that you found the room that you stayed in to be a little small, perhaps for your next stay we can accommodate you in one of our larger rooms, for we do have an assortment of different room categories and we would like to find the right one for you. We would love to welcome you back soon. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with your future stay.


Best regards,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not one of the monster South Beach hotels, overrun with hordes and stylish to the point of silly. The Raleigh was perfect for our weekend getaway, the legendary pool was great, beach access easy and unfussy. We really enjoyed ourselves and the staff was always attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am so happy to hear that the Raleigh's laid back scene and relaxing atmosphere were a perfect fit for your weekend getaway. Our hotel is definitely know for these "oasis -like" qualities. We're hope you made it home refreshed and revitalized and we would love to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredensborg Municipality, Denmark
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a very special hotel with a fanstastic pool, we felt very welcome at had an excelent service especially from Fernando and Elkin. We enjoyed that there is a lot of space so that it never feels crowed. The food was excelent and the coffee shop unique.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are more than delighted that your stay was great, that you found our pool to be fantastic and that Fernando and Elkin contributed to a memorable experience. We're glad that you were able to make the most out of our outlets and amenities. We would love to welcome you again soon.


Best regards,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed one night. The decor is nice. They even have a beach bag you can borrow for a day at the pool/beach. There was an iPod docking station too. The location can't be beat. You can walk to Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. The pool area was incredible. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay, and that although brief you had a great experience. We agree that the pool is pretty incredible and certainly a hallmark of the hotel. I'm also pleased that you were able to enjoy many of our amenities like our beach bag, docking station, and location among other things. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights as part of our honeymoon. By far the best hotel of our trip.

At check in we were upgraded to a room with a terrace. Stunning room!

The hotel is a gorgeous art-deco hotel that has been beautifully maintained. The pool area is really cool and is timeless in terms of imagining the old stardom of the 50's etc, hanging out sipping martinis.

The hotel has it's own area on south beach were waiter service is provided.

Food is also great with room service at breakfast highly recommended.

Overall I really enjoyed the feel of this hotel and it is a really cool place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Congratulations! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled that you chose the Raleigh as your destination for your Honeymoon, it seems like the hotel's intimate and romantic ambiance was just perfect for this occassion. I'm glad you particularly enjoyed the terrace and we will definitely bear in mind that this is a room that you are partial to for your future visits. The nostalgic feel and maintained look of the original design are definitely some of our defining attributes. We would love to welcome you back to celebrate your anniversary or sooner.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent two nights here in April for a family wedding and really enjoyed the entire experience. All of the staff were top notch in their provision of customer service, and we truly felt that the atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming. The pool area is amazing, and we had the reception behind it, in a sort of tropical oasis - great food and drink was provided by the Raleigh, and did not disappoint. Some of our family stayed in the top floor, which has an incredible view from the lounge, and was a great place for them to stage their preparations for the ceremony.

Our room was a nice, large room with all the comforts you would expect from a SoBe art deco hotel. We loved the beach, and the beach staff were very attentive to our needs. Overall, it's a great resort experience. It is, of course, quite expensive - bring your (full) wallet. You definitely get what you pay for, though.

This hotel is often used for special events, so be sure to inquire about the availability of the pool and grounds, so that you aren't finding any conflicts that might be unacceptable to you.

Would definitely return for a weekend getaway with my wife - will be interesting to see how the renovations in the near future change the place.

Room Tip: The corner suite was huge and had a great view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy a truly memorable wedding at the Raleigh and make the most out of your stay. Thank you for the kudos to our staff; I’m so happy to know that each and every one of our team collaborated to ensure you were taken care of. We would love to welcome you back for a special getaway with your wife. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with your arrangements for your return.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TIG Global, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;