We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not one of the monster South Beach hotels, overrun with hordes and stylish to the point of silly. The Raleigh was perfect for our weekend getaway, the legendary pool was great, beach access easy and unfussy. We really enjoyed ourselves and the staff was always attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am so happy to hear that the Raleigh's laid back scene and relaxing atmosphere were a perfect fit for your weekend getaway. Our hotel is definitely know for these "oasis -like" qualities. We're hope you made it home refreshed and revitalized and we would love to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    229
    68
    33
    32
See reviews for
116
337
39
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredensborg Municipality, Denmark
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a very special hotel with a fanstastic pool, we felt very welcome at had an excelent service especially from Fernando and Elkin. We enjoyed that there is a lot of space so that it never feels crowed. The food was excelent and the coffee shop unique.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are more than delighted that your stay was great, that you found our pool to be fantastic and that Fernando and Elkin contributed to a memorable experience. We're glad that you were able to make the most out of our outlets and amenities. We would love to welcome you again soon.


Best regards,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed one night. The decor is nice. They even have a beach bag you can borrow for a day at the pool/beach. There was an iPod docking station too. The location can't be beat. You can walk to Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. The pool area was incredible. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay, and that although brief you had a great experience. We agree that the pool is pretty incredible and certainly a hallmark of the hotel. I'm also pleased that you were able to enjoy many of our amenities like our beach bag, docking station, and location among other things. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights as part of our honeymoon. By far the best hotel of our trip.

At check in we were upgraded to a room with a terrace. Stunning room!

The hotel is a gorgeous art-deco hotel that has been beautifully maintained. The pool area is really cool and is timeless in terms of imagining the old stardom of the 50's etc, hanging out sipping martinis.

The hotel has it's own area on south beach were waiter service is provided.

Food is also great with room service at breakfast highly recommended.

Overall I really enjoyed the feel of this hotel and it is a really cool place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Congratulations! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled that you chose the Raleigh as your destination for your Honeymoon, it seems like the hotel's intimate and romantic ambiance was just perfect for this occassion. I'm glad you particularly enjoyed the terrace and we will definitely bear in mind that this is a room that you are partial to for your future visits. The nostalgic feel and maintained look of the original design are definitely some of our defining attributes. We would love to welcome you back to celebrate your anniversary or sooner.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent two nights here in April for a family wedding and really enjoyed the entire experience. All of the staff were top notch in their provision of customer service, and we truly felt that the atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming. The pool area is amazing, and we had the reception behind it, in a sort of tropical oasis - great food and drink was provided by the Raleigh, and did not disappoint. Some of our family stayed in the top floor, which has an incredible view from the lounge, and was a great place for them to stage their preparations for the ceremony.

Our room was a nice, large room with all the comforts you would expect from a SoBe art deco hotel. We loved the beach, and the beach staff were very attentive to our needs. Overall, it's a great resort experience. It is, of course, quite expensive - bring your (full) wallet. You definitely get what you pay for, though.

This hotel is often used for special events, so be sure to inquire about the availability of the pool and grounds, so that you aren't finding any conflicts that might be unacceptable to you.

Would definitely return for a weekend getaway with my wife - will be interesting to see how the renovations in the near future change the place.

Room Tip: The corner suite was huge and had a great view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy a truly memorable wedding at the Raleigh and make the most out of your stay. Thank you for the kudos to our staff; I’m so happy to know that each and every one of our team collaborated to ensure you were taken care of. We would love to welcome you back for a special getaway with your wife. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with your arrangements for your return.

Best regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

When my wife and I went on vacation, we had a great experience thanks to the beach attendant, Trey! He was courteous, polite, and made our time at the beach great. The room was clean, nice, and well appointed. The concierge was also really helpful setting up our stay as well.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed a great experience and that Trey was a big part of making sure that you had a wonderful time, he is definitely one of our superstars and someone we’re very proud to have as one of our own. I’m glad that the room was to your liking and that concierge was helpful and affable and helped you get situated. We would love to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have previously stayed at the Raleigh and have always enjoyed the hotel's atmosphere and the pool. We booked several months ago for the 4th of July weekend with plans to relax by the pool and ocean. Unfortunately the management (SLS) never warned the hotel guests that it had leased out the pool area for 2 days. The pool and grounds were leased to a promotor that brought in a DJ and sold almost 1,000 tickets each day. When we complained to the front desk, we were told that management did not inform them of the event until the last minute. It was extremely crowded and loud. The event was like a "Jersey Shore" type party. I felt very badly for a family that booked the hotel 8 months earlier for a 65th wedding anniversary. None of the hotel guests were happy with the crowd or the noise. The Raleigh is not a Vegas type hotel and the new owners and management should have a better understanding of its clientele. We were not offered a refund or an upgrade, and we do not plan to return.
Patrick
Jacksonville, Fl

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. I totally empathize with your point of view and completely understand your frustration. What was meant to be a memorable celebration with your family, and clearly you chose the Raleigh for it’s relaxed and laid back atmosphere, certainly did not turn out to be that way. Please know that events of this nature aren’t commonplace or typical to the Raleigh except for specific occasions. Although we can’t give you back this precious time you had set aside with your family in the scenario you expected we would like to make sure that you to feel like you were treated fairly and any concession we can make to safeguard your relationship with the Raleigh we will commit too. Please free to contact me directly to discuss this in further detail.
Best regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TIG Global, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.