We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive and evocative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Suites!
Ranked #44 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exclusive and evocative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel was built in 1940 and has kept its spirit since then. Rooms take you back to the fifties and sixties but when you walk through the lobby the Art Deco experience is astonishing. Pool and access to the beach very convenient. It's a must!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing you recent experience with us. The Raleigh, what with it's orginal art deco design and unique, classic decor and touches help breathe life into a longed for bygone era. We are glad to know that this nostalgic charm is one of the qualities that stood out the most for you. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    203
    59
    29
    27
See reviews for
101
294
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a cool place to stay. The staff is super. Lovely pool. Just a few steps to the beach, restaurants and the New World Symphony. The hotel restaurant is quite good. Ask if you have a view on check in.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Greetings. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay and took advantage of our centric location in the heart of Sobe as well as our amenities. Of course the rooms with a view of the blue Atlantic are particularly lovely. We do like to think that although pretty retro we are pretty "hip" too. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at The Raleigh for the first time from 8th - 15th March 2014. Everything was OK, except from a closed pool / pool area for three days due to a Victoria Secret event. Despite this, the hotel charged all guest full price for the rooms. Only those who complained got a discount on their bill. Everyone should have a discount for this, since the pool area is important for the total product and service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. The pool is an intricate and essential part of our facilities and the Raleigh experience, so being that the pool was closed during a portion of your stay certainly represents that there was something very much lacking. Our sincerest apologies. for this. Please know that we made every attempt to contact all of our guests, in a timely manner, informing them that we would be staying with us during the respective dates of the event. We would love to have you return and experience our facilities in full as you so deserved. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this in further detail.

Best regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is our favorite no-children get away. Staying here takes makes you feel like your back in South Beach's heyday of the 50's and 60's. The hotel is a classic and well maintained. It doesn't have all of the modern amenities that you find at new hotels but if that is what you are looking for, this isn't the place. Rooms vary in size so do your research. On our last stay, the hotel upgraded us to an absolutely fabulous room. Getting an balcony adds to your stay.

The staff is attentive and extremely helpful. I had left a jacket in a restaurant with my cell phone in it and they went to great lengths to help me locate it.

The outside bar and pool is the main attraction. Order food and drinks on the outside patio or have a cocktail delivered to you in the pool.

I would highly recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful and memorable stay. The Raleigh is in fact a bit of an heirloom from the the original art deco period of the 40's and 50's; vibe, design, furnishings and decor all are consistent with this and makes for a very characteristic and nostalgic quality which we are very proud to boast. We also consider ourselves to be the perfect destination on the strip for a romantic getaway, with our classic look and intimate setting. I'm pleased to know that you found a favorite among or ours rooms; our balcony rooms overlooking the ocean and terrace rooms over the pool are among the most popular and desirable accomodations at our property, and certainly having that little outdoor space with a view makes all the difference. I'm happy that the poolside was the center of your attention for it is definitely the epicenter of the hotel and the perfect spot for relaxing and enjoying drinks or a delicious meal. We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring that the Raleigh is place to getaway.

Best regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Staff was very courteous!!! A little irritated with the check in process just for getting chairs/towels/beach stuff.... But the service was excellent. Decor was excellent...absolutely gorgeous place for sunbathing and partying. I basically partied so hard I can't remember part of the night but the hotel staff was very helpful. Only thing is the cracks in some of the marble... Otherwise, absolutely perfect! I also only paid $300 which is CHEAP by Miami standards!!!!! Love The Raleigh!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that process for checking in for amenities was a little irritating but we hope that this was resolved just the same in a timely manner. We're glad above all that the service is what stood our for you the most, and that you were able to thoroughly enjoy our grounds and amenities, whether for sunbathing or drinks and fun filled frolicking or all of the above. We're also very happy to hear that you found our rates to be absolutely reasonable and fair, especially for Sobe standards. We would love to have you as our guest again soon; please come back and stay with us anytime

Best regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Attended a wedding at The Raleigh. Beautiful, old school hotel. The grounds are fantastic. One of the few South Beach hotels where you can have your event outside and yet separated from everyone else. Well maintained hotel and grounds. Yes, it's pricey, but it's South Beach. Food was great. Big drawback is the driveway. It's small and cramped. If an event is going on … you can't even get into the entrance and stuck waiting on the busy street with your car which is nerve wracking. It's understandably a hard situation but still the one drawback if I had to list one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your review. We're delighted to hear that you found the Raleigh to be the perfect venue for the wedding you attended. We do have an ample Oasis area just beyond our pool which makes for a great location for hosting weddings and receptions. We're glad you enjoyed the food, service and the grounds. It sounds like you were more than a little inconvenienced in the driveway, presumably because of a longer wait than expected to get your vehicle; I know that particularly for larger events, the driveway can get pretty congested and the wait time can go up significantly, we will definitely do what we can and do better to avoid this from happening in the future. We would love to have you back, whether for another wedding or just a relaxing getaway.

Best regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

For our weekend getaway from the cold NYC winter, were looking for an enjoyable and restful stay but still a stylish and fun scene. Everything about the Raleigh met and exceeded this. The pool is the most beautiful we had seen, and is perfect for young couples as well as families. The staff is quietly respectful and service is excellent. We ate breakfast under the trees by the pool and enjoyed the amazing restaurant there almost every night.
Our best encounter came with Jasmel Acosta at the Front Desk. It was a pleasure to see him at there every morning when we came downstairs. He accommodated us in every way: from helping us make all the best arrangements in South Beach, to finding the best room for us which was so comfortable (we all slept so well in these quiet peaceful rooms with beautiful views of the pool and ocean!), to having our car ready for us when we came downstairs, to going through our bill at the end to our thorough satisfaction. The service at the Raleigh is like having a personal concierge for anything you are interested in doing. It really took our stay from great to extraordinary. We cant say enough good things about the Raleigh Hotel and hope to go back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Although the rooms at the hotel are in the mode of the Art Deco period, they have been updated with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that the Raleigh was the perfect destination for you to get away from the winter's cold. The ambiance at the Raleigh is fun but also quiet and relaxing, perfect for unwinding and kicking back. We're glad that our iconic pool is the perfect spot for you to hangout and goes down in the books as one of your favorite pools of all time, we like to think that it's pretty special too. We're uber proud of our restaurant Michael Schwartz and what with the location, under the canopy of seagrape trees and our sunkissed pooldeck, and ample terrace, it makes for the perfect place for a relaxing and delectable breakfast, lunch and/or dinner. I am thrilled to hear that Jasmel went above and beyond to ensure that your stay was nothing short of fantastic and memorable. Jasmel is a key member of our team and definitely does a wonderful job in representing and embodying our personalized service culture and bringing warmth and smiles to all our guests. We will definitely share your gracious feedback with both him and the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as you can too.

Best regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.