We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Suites!
Ranked #45 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Timeless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I love the character, location, style, and feel of this hotel. It's not new, and it's not trendy, and it could use a few upgrades here and there, but if you like hotels with soul, this is the best place in South Beach.

Excellent staff, including: Fernando the concierge, Gaby at the front desk, and David out on the beach.

Historic pool, beautiful lobby, quiet among the chaos -- that's what the Raleigh is all about. I'm willing to overlook the small bathrooms, crappy hallway carpet, old TV's, slow wifi, and sometimes cold food at the restaurant because, well, I love this place.

Room Tip: The suites are awkwardly laid out and not worth it. Better to get a regular room with an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and warm remarks. We love that the mystique and character of the hotel are among the things that make the Raleigh your spot in Miami. Thank you for praising our staff, Fernando, Gaby and David are all team members that I think do their best to make our guests happy and I'm glad that they all played a role and stood out in your memory.The Raleigh has a history in Miami Beach and a story and we are happy that you are part of it. Also, I'm excited to let you know that we have some updates in the works and in near future that will address some of the issues you mentioned (i.e., TV, Wifi, etc.) We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    198
    58
    29
    27
See reviews for
98
291
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about The Raleigh Hotel. From the bell staff, to the front desk help to the pool waiters and waitresses, everyone is professional, polished, and perfect. My fiance and I celebrated our engagement there this past weekend, and we are already coming back next weekend! The Raleigh is also the location of our first trip we took together, just a year prior. We love this hotel, and agree with the Chateau Marmont vibe of old LA and old Miami. The rooms are fine, bathrooms nicely appointed, and great climate control. In room fridge, safe, iron, robes and slippers. Great seating area and super comfy beds with great linens and soft pillows. Anywhere in the hotel that you choose to eat, you are being treated to world class food courtesy of Restaurant Michael Schwartz. I really didn't want to say too many great things about this hotel, if only for the simple fact that I really don't want to make the hotel over popular! But let it be...it's deserving and amazing! Looking forward to possibly getting married there later this year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your geneorus review. Congratulations on your engagement!. We are glad that your stay was terrific and that the Raleigh has so far become part of your story together, from you first trip as a couple, to your engagement, and possibly your wedding later this year. Our aim is to be the setting for some of your happy and joyful memories. I'm glad that you've had a chance to enjoy everything the Raleigh has to offer, from the beachside service and hourglass pool and oasis, to our Restaurant Michael Scwhartz (which we're very proud to be assoicated with) and in room amenities. I'm glad our staff has made you feel at home and welcome, and very special, for you truly are to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with whatever you may need.

Warm Regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Raleigh is a great older hotel with classic Art Deco design, lush trees around the pool and a superb restaurant. The service was pretty friendly, although a bit spotty. However, the rooms could use a major update, there were no convenient outlets for recharging and the WiFi was awful. Bathroom was very small and didn't look like it had been touched since the 60's. But I would recommend for the general ambience, particularly if you don't spend much time in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and review with us. The hotel is definitely an older and historical property, having opened in 1940 and conserving the look and feel of that time, especially compared to some other hotels in our neighborhood that have opened recently and are much larger in scale and certainly more modern. We will be making necessary updates very soon, little but important things like convenient outlets will definitely be a non-issue. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our pool and the Resturant Michael Schwartz. I am sorry to hear that although the service was "pretty friendly" it was also "a bit spotty", we will definitely work on this. We would love to have stay with us again of course please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with anything you need to make your future arrangements.

Best Regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Can't rate The Raleigh highly enough. It's old school Miami at its modern best, terrific location, great rooms, faultless service. Grown up and sophisticated its a great alternative to the white on white party hotels elsewhere on South Beach. Would recommend an Ocean View room - light, spacious, beautiful mood with very comfortable bed. Pool is magnificent, as is the private beach.

It's the Miami equivalent of Chateau Marmont with its unique understated luxury and location-specific atmosphere. Will be back very soon.

Room Tip: Higher and ocean facing is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you kindly for your review. We whole-heartedly appreciate you sharing your memories and experience whilst you were here. We're very flattered that you consider us "old school Miami at it's modern best", that statement certainly captures the Raleigh and we couldn't have said it better ourselves. We find that our look and history make for something special and unique on the strip. We can't wait to have you as our guest again and to see you soon.

Warm regards

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I never ever write reviews (good or bad) for anything but I feel compelled to write negative reviews of The Raleigh on as many travel sites as I can. I can honestly say that this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in and would say that the room was comparable to a hostel.

Our room was HORRIBLE. We paid for a king sized bed but received a full size bed instead and our room was legit in a stairwell. There were concrete steps right outside our room that were extremely loud when people walked up and down them (which they did late into the night and early in the morning). The bed did not have a mattress cover OR A FITTED SHEET. There was just a very thin, itchy flat sheet laying on the bed between us and a bare mattress. The flat sheet wasn't even tucked in so when you shifted in bed it would move and expose the bare mattress. The other furniture was old and stained and the bathroom was beyond tiny and had zero space around the sink.

Also noteworthy, we were staying there for a wedding and upon check-in we were NOT given our welcome bag. The next day I learned that the other guests had received a welcome bag from the couple so I asked the front desk and she was extremely rude and unapologetic.

Finally, on Saturday (we were their Fri-Sun) room cleaning service did not come until late in the afternoon (like 3:30-4pm) which was right in the middle of when we were trying to get ready for the wedding (which was also being held at The Raleigh). Of course, on Sunday, the morning after the wedding they were knocking on our door (multiple times) to start cleaning at 8am (check out was noon).

Do not waste your money. Do not stay here for any reason.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review, especially since this is not a commonplace thing for you to do and certainly an effort. We do value all feedback from our guests, the good, and the bad. I am truly sorry to hear that your experience was not a good one and that the hotel fell short of your expectations. If there were any issues with the room whatsoever, such as the location of the room or the size of the bed, we would have been more than happy to accomodate and address these concerns if only they had been conveyed to us. I'm very sorry that you did not get your gift bag for the wedding at checkin, for I believe these were the instructions, and above all that you felt in anyway slighted by a member of our team; service and hospitality are what we are all about, so this is very serious and will be addressed accordingly. We would love to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again and to ensure that you have the true Raleigh experience. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with a future stay or to discuss your previous one in more detail.

Best regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was super impressed with The Raleigh. As a regular visitor to Miami - this was my first stay at this property. While there is a little roughness around the edges, which you would expect as the property was updated some time ago - the intimate feel, the service, great restaurant and bar more than made up for this. It's overall a sophisticated vibe - but feels warm, welcoming and comfortable. Not to mention the best pool in Miami - heated to perfection. The restaurant was great with impeccable service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled that as a frequent traveler to Miami you decided to visit and stay at the Raleigh, for the first of many stays we hope. Undoubtedly our pool is one of the iconic and defining features of the hotel and definitely the place to lay back, listen to the sea breeze rustling through the palms and take in the rays of the the subtropical sun. We're thrilled that you were able to enjoy both the restaurant and bar, where we offer some delectable options, and above all that our staff was friendly, welcoming and made you feel right at home. We would love to have return and stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with your future visit.

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

As a returning guest at the Raleigh, I was again struck by how wonderful the service is here, always friendly and unpretentious. Despite the rather small rooms, the hotel is comfortable and has all the required amenities. The Art Deco decor feels comfortable yet tasteful. The restaurant, located outside, beside the beautiful pool, serves healthy and delicious food very efficiently. The location of the hotel, close to Lincoln Rd and with easy access to the beach and the boardwalk, can't be beat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Greetings and thank you for your return stay at the Raleigh. It is always a pleasure to welcome new guests, but in particular to welcome back our loyal guests gives us a very special sense of satisfaction. As always, our goal is to make sure you have a wonderful stay and memorable service. Our primary purpose is to make you happy. We hope that the Raleigh will continue to be your "jewel" on the sands of Miami Beach. Please feel free to contact me directly to assist you with any future visits.

Best regards,
Brian V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.