We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nightmare if you want to sleep !!!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Suites!
Ranked #48 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Dendermonde, Belgium
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A nightmare if you want to sleep !!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Comming from Europe(belgium) we stayed at the surfcomber and the raleigh so we can compare...the raleigh is a NIGHTMARE if you want to,sleep and NO it is not a problem from sounds from outside the hotel but inside..we had room 413 ,a front ocean and pool view...each sound from other rooms you can hear in your room,the elevator,the doors from other rooms,,it is really a nightmare if you want to sleep...we didn't sleep during 2 nights,people were screaming and jelling in the corridors and this is not what you expect in a class hotel,sorry for us it was a very bad experience. At the Surfcomber we slept very good...and that is at 50 meters from the Raleigh so there is no,excuse to have a bad sleep experience...now we understand why the raleigh is not in the top 10 on Tripadvisor...if they do something at the noise it can be a top 3 hotel but not now,,,the positive thing of course is the pool and around the pool ,this is really top, this can not be beaten by other hotels..this is simply the best pool...but again here a bad experience with the pool,service,not friendly at all,we had Hilary at sunday and I think she doesn't like to work on sundays,never a smile or please or thank you...the salads and hamburgers were very good and it is nice to eat around the pool. What we found very strange that they served hamburgers IN the pool!!!...inEurope it would be not possible for hygienic reasons...so as conclusion...book the sufcomber..no doubt..see my also my review on surfcomber......

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Xavke-

Thank you for your review , we appreciate your positive notations regarding our renowned pool area as we take pride in the history and beauty. Regarding your inconveniences during your stay, we sincerely apologize that you were unable to receive the proper sleep and comfort that you expected for your stay. We have corrected our elevator noise issue and are happy to report his issue has been resolved! We seek to provide only the best in customer service and will certainly address this with the staff member. We would love the opportunity to have you back with us to experience the hotel properly. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can personally ensure your next experience with us is a remarkable one. .

Best Regards,
Tiffany Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    201
    59
    29
    27
See reviews for
101
294
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Raleigh last spring, and we really loved it! The vibe of the hotel is very art deco, the rooms are nice, the staff was friendly. The food and drinks were very good as well, although pricey. The best part of our stay was the beautiful pool though! We really enjoyed lounging poolside each day. We would definitely come back to the Raleigh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Bridget8981,

Thank you very much for taking the time share your review. I will be sure to share your praise of our staff, style and fabulous pool with the hotel team. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at the hotel so I can assist with taking care of all arrangements for your next visit with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel which has a retro feel, you get the sense that the walls have shared a lot of secrets!!

Stunning beach area with access to Miami beach via a private gate at the bottom of the pool area.

True Miami vibe!

Just don't sleep in room 311, 411, 511 etc... Right next to the escalator and very loud!

Room Tip: If it has 11 at the end ask to be moved!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dearjodiefry1,

Thank you for the review! We agree, our hotel is the epitome of what it is to be a true Miami vibe. Very happy to learn your overall experience was positive and even happier to share we have repaired our elevator noise issue! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Common areas and grounds are really nice. Beautiful pool. Rooms need a renovation as you can clearly notice layers and layers of paint on the walls. Some of the staff is unattentive and borderline rude. For the price the room costs, one should not have to deal with this. I complained to the front desk about the rudeness of the valet and bellman..... They could care less. Thats Miami for you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear RIC NewYork,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you noted below during your stay. This certainly is not what we strive to achieve for all of our guests and trust your feedback is appreciated and will be handled appropriately. I would love the opportunity to speak with you and if you have a moment please reach out to me directly at the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback and we hope you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to the South Beach Area.

Best Regards,

Brian Vuinovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I really love the Raleigh as I have lots of memories there over 15 years of holidays in Miami.
My last visit in january kind of disappointed me as the rooms were really too noisy and needed a lifting when you pay 400$ you expect something close to luxury. Miami has too many hotels just to be average. I hope they will change the hotel soon otherwise I will go to some other places.
Food is good and the location is just perfect but Miami beach is not that big so you have a lot of other places to pick from before picking this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jeleconiac,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. As you stated our location cannot be beat and we are thrilled you loved our food at our restaurant. We are working on several initiatives to freshen up the look and feel of our hotel, without disrupting our guest experience. We hope you give us the opportunity for another visit in the near future and come back to check out the progress made.

Best Regards,

Brian Vuinovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we really loved it. The art deco style is well-kept and makes you feel like you're stepping back in time. It definitely has a shabby-chic appeal to it. And some parts (the hallways, the elevator) are a little more shabby, but that didn't bother us. We were looking for the boutique old miami feel rather than a giant cheesy resort.

The room was beautiful and a good size. Very clean. We opted for a pool view room because I read the reviews warning about elevator noise on some of the other floors. We didn't have a problem with noise but I did think the walls were thin. We heard our neighbors having a conversation very clearly one day. But we were lucky not to have any noise issues at night.

The best part of the hotel is the pool area which we found incomparable in miami (and we biked around the whole strip so we saw all the other places.) Its just stunning and serene with great service. Also very conveniently located, right on the beach and walking distance to everywhere you want to go.

The staff made us feel welcome and were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear nytraveller9,

Thank you very much for taking the share your feedback with us! We are thrilled to learn you had a positive experience at our hotel and we agree, our pool is incomparable with other properties! It is always refreshing to hear feedback like yours and I will be sure to share your praise of our staff with the entire hotel team. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Raleigh very soon!

Best Regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

By FARthe worst hotel I have ever stayed at. This is a seedy low rent, run down motel, passing itself off as a shabby sheik throw back to 50s Miami.

There pricing is OUTRAGEOUS for the accommodations provided. Roms have old fashioned key locks that barely work. People smoking in halls. Paper thin walls with massive noise. AC from the 50s. Mold, dust, dirt, all for free. Rooms are 250 sq ft. If you don't know how small that is I suggest you got to your house bathroom and ask, Can I live in this space?

The hotel is a massive failure and only stays afloat by flash web prescensce that tricks the out of town guest into booking.

BE WARNED YOU WILL REGRET STAYING HERE.

Room Tip: No good rooms run from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Jon B,

Thank you for taking the time to post and share your feedback. We are terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations at our property. Our property is known for its art deco style for which we have become famous for over the years and our goal is to provide excellent service while keeping everything sparkly and clean. I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. We are currently working on several initiatives to enhance the look and feel of our property over the coming months and truly hope we get the chance to welcome you back again. Please call me for any future reservations and I will make sure we take care of you. It’s the least we can do to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Best Regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.