We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but needs a new look for his rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Suites!
Ranked #44 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but needs a new look for his rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I really love the Raleigh as I have lots of memories there over 15 years of holidays in Miami.
My last visit in january kind of disappointed me as the rooms were really too noisy and needed a lifting when you pay 400$ you expect something close to luxury. Miami has too many hotels just to be average. I hope they will change the hotel soon otherwise I will go to some other places.
Food is good and the location is just perfect but Miami beach is not that big so you have a lot of other places to pick from before picking this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jeleconiac,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. As you stated our location cannot be beat and we are thrilled you loved our food at our restaurant. We are working on several initiatives to freshen up the look and feel of our hotel, without disrupting our guest experience. We hope you give us the opportunity for another visit in the near future and come back to check out the progress made.

Best Regards,

Brian Vuinovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    202
    59
    29
    27
See reviews for
101
294
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we really loved it. The art deco style is well-kept and makes you feel like you're stepping back in time. It definitely has a shabby-chic appeal to it. And some parts (the hallways, the elevator) are a little more shabby, but that didn't bother us. We were looking for the boutique old miami feel rather than a giant cheesy resort.

The room was beautiful and a good size. Very clean. We opted for a pool view room because I read the reviews warning about elevator noise on some of the other floors. We didn't have a problem with noise but I did think the walls were thin. We heard our neighbors having a conversation very clearly one day. But we were lucky not to have any noise issues at night.

The best part of the hotel is the pool area which we found incomparable in miami (and we biked around the whole strip so we saw all the other places.) Its just stunning and serene with great service. Also very conveniently located, right on the beach and walking distance to everywhere you want to go.

The staff made us feel welcome and were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear nytraveller9,

Thank you very much for taking the share your feedback with us! We are thrilled to learn you had a positive experience at our hotel and we agree, our pool is incomparable with other properties! It is always refreshing to hear feedback like yours and I will be sure to share your praise of our staff with the entire hotel team. Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Raleigh very soon!

Best Regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

By FARthe worst hotel I have ever stayed at. This is a seedy low rent, run down motel, passing itself off as a shabby sheik throw back to 50s Miami.

There pricing is OUTRAGEOUS for the accommodations provided. Roms have old fashioned key locks that barely work. People smoking in halls. Paper thin walls with massive noise. AC from the 50s. Mold, dust, dirt, all for free. Rooms are 250 sq ft. If you don't know how small that is I suggest you got to your house bathroom and ask, Can I live in this space?

The hotel is a massive failure and only stays afloat by flash web prescensce that tricks the out of town guest into booking.

BE WARNED YOU WILL REGRET STAYING HERE.

Room Tip: No good rooms run from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Jon B,

Thank you for taking the time to post and share your feedback. We are terribly sorry we did not meet your expectations at our property. Our property is known for its art deco style for which we have become famous for over the years and our goal is to provide excellent service while keeping everything sparkly and clean. I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. We are currently working on several initiatives to enhance the look and feel of our property over the coming months and truly hope we get the chance to welcome you back again. Please call me for any future reservations and I will make sure we take care of you. It’s the least we can do to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Best Regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I spent a fantastic week in miami in February 2013. The weather was great and the hotel was as described. Very deco with the most fantastic pool. The restaurant and bar area were beautiful and the service impeccable. We ate at the hotel on our first and last nights in Miami (valentines day) and found the food to be of a high standard although the wine list was, in our opinion, over priced.

The only problem with the hotel was the walls were paper thin. We heard every conversation and ablution of our neighbours. On one night, our neighbours came in at 3 am and decided to have a mini party in their room. We called the front desk and security came straight away (we could here them too!). Despite this the noise continued and by 5 am we gave up and asked to be moved to another room for the night. Reception were very accommodating and apologetic but they did say that the lack of sound proofing was a common complaint. We think they should put signs up in the rooms reminding guests to be considerate of their neighbours.

So, in short, fabulous hotel in many ways but we would never stay there again as I really hate hearing other people's noise. I value peace and quiet too much.

Room Tip: Try to avoid inner rooms as if you add the noise of the elevator to the problem with hearing the nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Raleigh is an elegant, classic South Beach hotel with probably the best pool in Miami Beach. The whole experience was very enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed with no hassles. Rooms and facilities could use some freshening/updating (which will likely happen with the hotel's purchase by SBE) but the decor and overall vibe is very low key and quintessential South Beach without the pumping music and trendy scene...and the service is friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay, mellow breakfasts and lunches by the pool or on the beach...The Raleigh is a no brainer.

Room Tip: We heard the rooms are quiet small. We had a nice sized room on the 2nd floor with a corner balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The reservation process was shambolic with numerous e mails ignored and eventually explained as a “problem with the servers”. In compensation an upgrade to an ocean facing room was guaranteed. Upon arrival we were shown to a pokey room facing the street. The front desk refused to accept that an upgrade was guaranteed claiming it was “subject to availability”. I produced the e mail refuting this which caused much “back room” chatter but no result. I was given the name of the front office manager (who was allegedly contacted but “off duty”) but all my attempts to contact him by e mail and text were ignored.
As to the hotel itself, we did, the next day get moved to the correct room but this was of little use as it was late in the day and we were leaving the next morning. The room was no more than “adequate”, small with a bathroom the size of a postage stamp and an air conditioning system worthy of an industrial factory judging from the noise it makes.
Remarkably, in this day and age, the hotel does not have a gym although they do have an arrangement with a “sister property” down the road but when it is teeming down with rain this is not an acceptable alternative…
Overall, a very underwhelming experience albeit a very "retro" styling but I would definitely NOT recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Boris,

Thank you for taking the time to post and share your feedback. The experience you encountered at our hotel was pretty rare, but that doesn’t make it any more right. It was very nice to have the opportunity to speak with you shortly after your departure and we sincerely appreciate you giving us another chance on your next visit to South Beach. During your next visit with us I will personally ensure your stay is remarkable, positive and memorable for all the right reasons. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and trust that your review has been shared with our team.


Best Regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Miami Beach has something for everyone, and The Raleigh is the perfect place if you're looking to have a more laid-back, authentic Miami experience. Our three-day mini-vacation was so relaxing that it seemed we'd been gone a full week. The staff is superb... discreetly attentive and the property itself takes you back to the days of Frank Sinatra and classic South Beach. The pool area is perfect for spending the afternoon, and if you want to check out the beach, the Raleigh beach attendants will set you up with chairs and an umbrella. The on-site restaurant, Royal Palm, offers a very nice lunch selection. We splurged on dinner here our last evening and it was well worth it: The filet mignon was perfectly prepared, while my partner enjoyed the ahi tuna. You must try the lobster mac and cheese side dish. The activity and high energy of Ocean Drive is just a short walk away, either along the oceanside boardwalk or just down Collins Avenue. We will most definitely be back to enjoy The Raleigh.

Room Tip: The pool-view rooms are perfect. Spacious, quiet and stocked with a full bar of drinks and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.