We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring For 25% Off!
Ranked #48 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quintessential South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Raleigh is an elegant, classic South Beach hotel with probably the best pool in Miami Beach. The whole experience was very enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed with no hassles. Rooms and facilities could use some freshening/updating (which will likely happen with the hotel's purchase by SBE) but the decor and overall vibe is very low key and quintessential South Beach without the pumping music and trendy scene...and the service is friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay, mellow breakfasts and lunches by the pool or on the beach...The Raleigh is a no brainer.

Room Tip: We heard the rooms are quiet small. We had a nice sized room on the 2nd floor with a corner balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    230
    71
    34
    33
See reviews for
118
342
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The reservation process was shambolic with numerous e mails ignored and eventually explained as a “problem with the servers”. In compensation an upgrade to an ocean facing room was guaranteed. Upon arrival we were shown to a pokey room facing the street. The front desk refused to accept that an upgrade was guaranteed claiming it was “subject to availability”. I produced the e mail refuting this which caused much “back room” chatter but no result. I was given the name of the front office manager (who was allegedly contacted but “off duty”) but all my attempts to contact him by e mail and text were ignored.
As to the hotel itself, we did, the next day get moved to the correct room but this was of little use as it was late in the day and we were leaving the next morning. The room was no more than “adequate”, small with a bathroom the size of a postage stamp and an air conditioning system worthy of an industrial factory judging from the noise it makes.
Remarkably, in this day and age, the hotel does not have a gym although they do have an arrangement with a “sister property” down the road but when it is teeming down with rain this is not an acceptable alternative…
Overall, a very underwhelming experience albeit a very "retro" styling but I would definitely NOT recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Boris,

Thank you for taking the time to post and share your feedback. The experience you encountered at our hotel was pretty rare, but that doesn’t make it any more right. It was very nice to have the opportunity to speak with you shortly after your departure and we sincerely appreciate you giving us another chance on your next visit to South Beach. During your next visit with us I will personally ensure your stay is remarkable, positive and memorable for all the right reasons. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and trust that your review has been shared with our team.


Best Regards,

Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Miami Beach has something for everyone, and The Raleigh is the perfect place if you're looking to have a more laid-back, authentic Miami experience. Our three-day mini-vacation was so relaxing that it seemed we'd been gone a full week. The staff is superb... discreetly attentive and the property itself takes you back to the days of Frank Sinatra and classic South Beach. The pool area is perfect for spending the afternoon, and if you want to check out the beach, the Raleigh beach attendants will set you up with chairs and an umbrella. The on-site restaurant, Royal Palm, offers a very nice lunch selection. We splurged on dinner here our last evening and it was well worth it: The filet mignon was perfectly prepared, while my partner enjoyed the ahi tuna. You must try the lobster mac and cheese side dish. The activity and high energy of Ocean Drive is just a short walk away, either along the oceanside boardwalk or just down Collins Avenue. We will most definitely be back to enjoy The Raleigh.

Room Tip: The pool-view rooms are perfect. Spacious, quiet and stocked with a full bar of drinks and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming to the Raleigh for nearly a decade now. The pool is one of the most beautiful and relaxing on South Beach. Never 'sceney', this tranquil and convenient oasis keeps its classic art-deco style. The landscaping is beautiful. Rooms are comfortable, and the service impeccable. Great food, too. A hotel for grown-ups.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I love the feel and look of this hotel. It does not have the cool factor of some other hotels in Miami, but if you want a quiet place to stay with beach access and a nice pool, this place is fine. The bellman is always ready to open your door, move your car, etc. the restaurant is good but very expensive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Raleigh is a great value in South Beach and on the beach but not too far from everything. I booked a room that was very clean, with a very dated bathroom though, for just over $100 a night. However the first night the hotel was booked. They asked if their apartments just around the corner would be okay. I agreed ( over the phone).

I would say to avoid the apartments. They were next to a loud bar and were not secure at all. I checked into the National instead for the night.

The front desk staff was great.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Raleigh apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall I just think this hotel is not a great deal, unless you're really going to utilize the pool + beach and don't care about some flaws and the poor value for money. A couple reasons why I think this:

* We requested a quiet room and were put in a room opposite the elevator, which makes a beeping sound whenever it passes a floor (regardless of whether it stops or not).

* And the walls are very very thin - you can hear your neighbor's conversations.

* In their defense, they moved us to another room when I complained.

* Here is a nitpick: I just can't stand hotels where the bellman snatches your bags within 50 milliseconds of you getting out of the cab, or entering the hotel - you are not given a choice, and this forces you to endure them coming to your room and giving you the inane "explanation of the room" which is all just so much BS for them trolling for a tip. I want the option to say "NO - I'll take my own bag." When I'm not given this option, I get pissed. The Raleigh seems to be a hotel where they absolutely don't give you that option, so be prepared for some douche to grab your bag and then hang out in your room for 5 minutes while explaining the light switches.

* Another nitpick: The alarm clock woke us up in the middle of the night. Yes, we should, and usually do, check it ourselves before going to sleep. But the hotel should make it a point of checking it too when making up a room, no? Especially when you are charging what this place charges.

* Hotel is in that 'retro / worn-down chic' style. If that is your thing, awesome. If not, it just kind of seems like a semi-worn out hotel that is charging a ridiculous amount.

* Didn't like the way the shower worked.

So all in all, there is a lot to not like about this very expensive hotel.

That said, I would be remiss to not mention the 2 huge pro's:

1) The pool, pool area, pool lounge, pool restaurant etc is all very very nice. Really great.
2) Obviously it is a south beach beach front property.

So if those are the 2 things you are looking for, all the rest I mentioned probably won't matter to you. And yes, all hotels on these few blocks of SB are hugely expensive.

But if you're going to spend Raleigh hotel money, I'd recommend just adding the few extra bucks and upgrading to one of the ultra high end hotels ... or downsizing to a hotel a few blocks off the strip.

My2cents - sorry Raleigh!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear the travelingBGs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to hear your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Our goal is for all of our guests to leave our hotel with a positive experience and obviously we were not able to accomplish this during your stay. We have several projects in the works over the next few weeks to spruce up the look and feel of our property as well as a project to correct the elevator noise you noted. As well we have gone back and addressed the issues you have noted upon arrival and with the clock in the room to avoid similar occurrences in the future. We would greatly appreciate the chance to welcome you back to Raleigh in the near future and please don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly should you be willing to try us once again.

Best Regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TIG Global, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.