We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The HOTEL is fine, the APARTMENTS are to be avoided” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Save Saved
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Best Rates!
Ranked #44 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
nyc
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“The HOTEL is fine, the APARTMENTS are to be avoided”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Raleigh is a great value in South Beach and on the beach but not too far from everything. I booked a room that was very clean, with a very dated bathroom though, for just over $100 a night. However the first night the hotel was booked. They asked if their apartments just around the corner would be okay. I agreed ( over the phone).

I would say to avoid the apartments. They were next to a loud bar and were not secure at all. I checked into the National instead for the night.

The front desk staff was great.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Raleigh apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    168
    48
    25
    24
See reviews for
75
248
32
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall I just think this hotel is not a great deal, unless you're really going to utilize the pool + beach and don't care about some flaws and the poor value for money. A couple reasons why I think this:

* We requested a quiet room and were put in a room opposite the elevator, which makes a beeping sound whenever it passes a floor (regardless of whether it stops or not).

* And the walls are very very thin - you can hear your neighbor's conversations.

* In their defense, they moved us to another room when I complained.

* Here is a nitpick: I just can't stand hotels where the bellman snatches your bags within 50 milliseconds of you getting out of the cab, or entering the hotel - you are not given a choice, and this forces you to endure them coming to your room and giving you the inane "explanation of the room" which is all just so much BS for them trolling for a tip. I want the option to say "NO - I'll take my own bag." When I'm not given this option, I get pissed. The Raleigh seems to be a hotel where they absolutely don't give you that option, so be prepared for some douche to grab your bag and then hang out in your room for 5 minutes while explaining the light switches.

* Another nitpick: The alarm clock woke us up in the middle of the night. Yes, we should, and usually do, check it ourselves before going to sleep. But the hotel should make it a point of checking it too when making up a room, no? Especially when you are charging what this place charges.

* Hotel is in that 'retro / worn-down chic' style. If that is your thing, awesome. If not, it just kind of seems like a semi-worn out hotel that is charging a ridiculous amount.

* Didn't like the way the shower worked.

So all in all, there is a lot to not like about this very expensive hotel.

That said, I would be remiss to not mention the 2 huge pro's:

1) The pool, pool area, pool lounge, pool restaurant etc is all very very nice. Really great.
2) Obviously it is a south beach beach front property.

So if those are the 2 things you are looking for, all the rest I mentioned probably won't matter to you. And yes, all hotels on these few blocks of SB are hugely expensive.

But if you're going to spend Raleigh hotel money, I'd recommend just adding the few extra bucks and upgrading to one of the ultra high end hotels ... or downsizing to a hotel a few blocks off the strip.

My2cents - sorry Raleigh!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian v, Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear the travelingBGs,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to hear your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Our goal is for all of our guests to leave our hotel with a positive experience and obviously we were not able to accomplish this during your stay. We have several projects in the works over the next few weeks to spruce up the look and feel of our property as well as a project to correct the elevator noise you noted. As well we have gone back and addressed the issues you have noted upon arrival and with the clock in the room to avoid similar occurrences in the future. We would greatly appreciate the chance to welcome you back to Raleigh in the near future and please don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly should you be willing to try us once again.

Best Regards,
Brian Vujnovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at the Raleigh Hotel beginning of xmas week 2012. We have stayed at a few of the "hipper" names previously, but this hotel is by far the best value for the money. Admitedly it doesn't attract the same sort of night time scene, but it is a classic hotel with great pool and great location/ beach access. We stayed in a 1 br suite and we were upgraded to a beach view upon check in. The room was perfect for our family (husband/wife and 2 children). There are day beds in the living room which the staff easily changed into full beds each night for the kids. Be aware that this is not a full 1 br suite- the only separation from master br was a pull curtain, but it was done tastefully and everyone felt they had privacy. The rooms were much larger than other properties on SOBE. My only complaint would be the lack of a fitness room on the property. They have a small outdoor workout area by the pool but it was a joke, they do have an association with Barton gym about 4 blocks away but we were suprised they havent attempted a gym on location.
We ate breakfast at the hotel each day which was great- wonderful omlettes, breakfast burritos and pancakes for the kids. The whole space has a very good vibe to it, not too trendy- not too family friendly, just right. The pool is by far the best (aside from size of fountainbleu) and beach access and location to lincoln avenue is unbeatable. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I take my wife and daughter to The Raleigh every year. We check in and hardly ever leave. It's not abnormal for us to spend 8 hours poolside each day. A lot of neighboring hotels look like they're trying awful hard to be as cool as The Raleigh is.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at The Raleigh for 6 days after staying in NYC & Boston before hand. If you visit Miami as a tourist then you must stay at a hotel with direct access to the beach and this hotel has that, although the pool area is great. Hotel service is great from room service to front desk to the pool service.
Room was roomy but the shower-room facilities are a bit dated.
As has been said before Eggs Benedict for breakfast is a must!

Hotel prices for meals, room service is a little pricy but that seems to be South Beach prices for you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I absolutely LOVE The Raleigh. I would come here every year if we could afford it. The pool & outdoor eating area were my favorite part of this hotel. Amazing fresh squeezed orange juice for breakfast, awesome pool to lounge in and around, great service.. Everything is beautiful. Every part of the hotel looks like a postcard. It has a vintage/20s/modern/art-deco feel to it. Simply breathtaking. We walked down the beach into Lindsey Lohan's hotel (she was staying near us.. forget the name of it..) and it was so loud, uncomfortable, too modern/hip and not cozy AT ALL. I was so glad that we were at The Raleigh & not this crappy ultra-hip hotel with a peewee pool. If you can afford it, I recommend every one visits South Beach in style at The Raleigh. Then, eat at Prime 112 for an amazing steakhouse dinner on the water. I'm daydreaming, now, wishing I was there!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I wanted to stay away from the Ocean Drive district which is a bit kitsch, very noisy, and is not ON the beach. Ocean drive is a road you have to cross in yours swim trunks to get to a beachzone that is grass ridden which you cross again to get to the beach. No fun. So I chose the Lincoln/Collins strip. This one is next to the Shore Club and a block from Delano, SLS, all of which are opulent.

Pros
- Crispy the concierge - hands down the encyclopedia (and well known at that) for South Beach. She recommended everything and everywhere to go and even reserved and such
- The front desk staff was good (one lady is a bit moody though) but the rest are AMAZING, great service really! Bartenders are friendly too and make special drinks if requested.
- Kiehls toiletries in rooms, and rooms cleaned twice a day - at night they dim the lights, and light candles in it - awesome!
- The pool area is amazing, huge, pretty, with beds and single seats. Next is the cabana area with private cabanas, hammocks, and the likes. Then comes a door which is a few feet walk to the amazing, upscale beach area where chairs and umbrellas with Raleigh's name are read (next to Shore Club's) - its all so gorgeous!
- The drinks start at sunrise at the pool and end at sunset - how awesome is that?
- Great housekeeping, very friendly and clean up really well after you, and trustworthy too
- Free towels and such for the beach and pool, and free FIji water in the room
- Sleep like a baby but party like a tiger

Cons
- No happy hour in hotel - a shame really since other hotels have good stuff
- No amazing restaurant in hotel - actually not restaraunt as such, while Delano and SLS have amazing ones.. makes it seem that this one is overpriced for nothing.
- Gym is nonexistant - its just 3 machines and weights in a cabana
- No rooftop access
- The rooms are small and the sunset ones only face the street, which is better than others that face another building. But for the price you pay, its not much
- There is no study area in the room, and a shortage of sockets available to plug stuff in!
- Room keys - no swipe cards - so oldschool! Not a deal breaker though
- Lobby area at first looks dingy but grows on you.

For the pool, beach, service and drinks, I'd recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Book online at hotel website, its discounted even from other websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TIG Global, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.