We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Stay. Hope for Many More.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off Suites!
Ranked #45 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jensen Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First Time Stay. Hope for Many More.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Service was excellent from the moment we arrived until the time we departed. Valet for carpark, bellman and front desk, friendly and helpful. Always a pleasant greeting and smile during our two night stay. Service at breakfast and lunch great as was the food. Hotel lobby, pool and outdoor eating area beautiful. Room was fine, as was maid service. Location is terrific right on the beach and close to Lincoln Road shopping area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    202
    59
    29
    27
See reviews for
101
294
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am coming from a tough year and I have made it a point to go to South Beach to Relax.... I was not let down or disappointed in anything while staying there and now I feel amazingly at ease. The Staff was extremely helpful including Fernando and Crispy. It is my wife and I 10th year anniversary and we were given a corner room FREE UPGRADE that had beautiful views of the pool and was very smooth Modern Features. We Loved the pool and the beach and then lounging for an hour in the room before getting ready to go out. Fernando said. "I was thinking about you guys and a place to celebrate your 10 years- Juvia"- We were amazed that the staff had thought of us and made Excellent Recommendations of places to go like Ola' and PubBelly too so we were not stuck on Lincoln Rd as tourists.
Crispy and the Raleigh Staff sent a bottle of Sangiovese to our room to help us celebrate our anniversary on the house which we took to the beach and enjoyed the Sunset Hours on a Life Guard Station- They really made us feel at home there and we did not want to leave.
We had excellent service throughout South Beach and are making the Raleigh our GO TO SPOT for my wife and I to Relax.
Thank you to all the staff at the Raleigh- Sincerely, Matt and Jen Dougherty

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has Ocean View- And if you can a Corner Room- It allows a lot of light!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Raleigh is always my choice to stay in Miami - great pool , good rooms though really I spend so little time in the room but all in all one of my favorite places to stay except that this time there were a few problems... The staff seemed deflated and in a bad mood - not sure if its a mangemnet thing. They were definately short staffed only having one person doing pool service for food and drink, The pool bar was closed, the restaurant service slow. It felt like they were missingbodies. The young lady at poolside did a great job and was cheerful but you could tell she was completely over worked and I was amazed that she kept going during the rush peak times. I felt bad for he having no support. There were ot enoug bar saff in the evening too. My room was also serviced late at 5pm?? It feels like management has cut the staff numbers and are running their current team ragged. Saying all that the service was still very personal and the over worked staff were as always all great and lovely. I would go back but they def neee dto work out some kinks - if my stay next time is the same I may have to consider a new place in Miami which would be very sad indeed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at The Raleigh four times in the past seven years. We absolutely love the pool area and everyone that works there is soooo friendly. We were walking distance to one of the best restaurants we've ever been to, OLA. The food at The Raleigh is great too - we had two items we've never had before, kobia fish and grilled shishito peppers. Yummy. Our bartender at the patio bar during most of our stay was Louis. He was terrific. He made us a spicy yellow pepper drink that was amazing. And for dessert one night, he made us a chocolate liquor drink with crispy little pieces of chocolate in it. Looking forward to our next stay in a comfy poolside "bed", hanging with Louis, and sampling the great cuisine of Miami.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The Raleigh is located in a very desirable stretch of Collins Avenue. The hotel has beach front access, which comes with chairs and an umbrella. If you want to really get your money's worth, spend some time at the pool. Poolside drinks are a little expensive, but worth at least one. The hotel martini bar is a nice nightcap. Don't expect a big room, but it is quite clean and comfortable. All in all there is a really timeless feel about this place, with the 50's era photography hanging on the walls and it's art deco design.


You can walk about two blocks to shopping and restaurants at Lincoln Road out door mall. There is also a Wallgreen's close, which is very convenient.

In short, I dream about this place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

With a very nice lush pool and a more sophisticated clientele than you will find at the bigger Miami hotels, the Raleigh never disappoints. You may however be disappointed when you look at your bank balance after a long weekend at this pricey gem! Save for special occasions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here to relax after a tour of America and Canada. I like to mention the positives first and we were pleased with the size of the room. I know some people have complained that there one was small, but we received an upgrade, but that ended up being a disabled room. Not sure why, but we had no complaints as the room was nice and spacious. The staff were excellent always keen very polite and willing to get you anything you wanted. The staff on the beach were also excellent ensuring that you had a mattress for the sun lounger and towels. The pool area was great very quiet and places to lie in the sun or in the shade. They also had several bed type loungers which were available to everyone, unlike other countries where you pay extra. There were also several relaxation areas where you could sit out of the sun with the fan on you and completely wind down. The gym was limited and outdoors which meant you sweat like you couldn't imagine however all the equipment worked without the hint of an out of order sign. There was no Tea or Coffee making facilities in the room which was a real shame, but we did have a fridge. It wasn't freezing but it was better than not having one. There were some areas within the hotel that looked tired, The tiles in the restrooms by reception has several broken and old drilled holes. The problem is with a period building is if you try to cover cracks it just looks worse. Miami beach as a whole gave the impression that several buildings were in need of improvement and although The Raleigh was a lovely period building it is imperative that the ethos and demeanor of the building is maintained otherwise it could look shabby.

Room Tip: This seems like an odd one, but it would be worth asking for the disabled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TIG Global, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.