We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raleigh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Raleigh to your Saves list
The Raleigh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful small luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel is a class act.

I caters to a well-dressed and well-off clientele, and the staff communicate with the giuests with that specific touch that you find only in small luxury hotels. The lobby area is a perfectly maintained Art Deco style as are the rooms. Someone here wrote that you should excpect a vintage room. That is absolutely true. Only the vintage room is more perfect, more stylish and better maintained than most rooms in hotels built yesterday. This place is absolutely impeccable.

The pool is one of the most beautiful pools that I have seen (and I have seen quite a few). The restaurant outside, near the pool, is a relaxed yet classy atmosphere. Servie is impeccable and the quality of the food they serve you is absolkutely top-notch. Among other things, we ordered a hamburger with french fries for our 3-year old. You wouldn't expect that a simple hamburger can be made into something special, but it can... and the french fries are probably the best we have ever eaten.

Don't miss that the sunchairs and umbrellas on the beach are included in the room price, something that otherwise costs a small fortune each day. We were also impressed by the level of maintenance of the pool area. Dirt is simply not allowed to remain in the pool. They make a daily effort to keep the pool pristine, as they do with the sunbeds around the pool (washed with soap every day).

We may sound a bit enthusiastic, but this is simply one of the not so many places that really deserve the enthusiasm. A classy establishment!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    218
    65
    31
    32
See reviews for
109
319
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Upon check in I felt a different vibe walking into the lobby,clearly it has manage to keep the art deco ambience intact but still having the amenities of a 4star hotel.
We had booked an oceanfront room which was really fantastic although the room was small and bathroom tiny for what we paid !
We had drinks by the pool side and drinks were great and ordered a cheese platter ,service again great.
The Sunday brunch is fantastic by the pool,there was a dj spinning after lunch and the pool is not to be missed!I love the oasis,it is a great place when you want some quiet time which is rare in south beach.
The Raleigh is not for everyone,it is a unique hotel that has that"cool" attitude ,not at all your Four seasons kind of luxury. The service is way too laid back and judging from it's clientele ,models,djs ,film directors,young actors etc .fefinitely not the place for families or for mid age couples.
I did like the Raleigh but in comparison to so many newer hotels around south beach it does have a tired look and an overpriced tag to go with it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

It was my first visit to Miami, a girls' long weekend and my friend and I decided to go a little beyond our budget because we were very taken by the Raleigh's pool. We are so happy that we decided to stay at The Raleigh instead of at any of the other hotels on South Beach. From the moment you arrive the staff are extremely accommodating. Our taxi door was opened for us, our bags were taken up to the room and the service only got better from there. The front desk staff, especially Jeffrey and Fernando, were extremely helpful in terms of giving us restaurant and entertainment recommendations and making sure that we always had something to do.

The restaurant staff remembered us each and everyday we came down for our meals. And it was lovely eating our meals outside under the trees, surrounded by beautiful orchids and overlooking the pool.

The pool is as beautiful as the pictures and the staff was great. But the best surprise for us was the beach access and the service on the beach. John, Lester and Allan work hard to make sure all of the guest are comfortable, have a nice spot on the beach and get the food and drink that they are hungry for.

My friend and I took a look at the other hotels nearby and I do feel like The Raleigh might be smaller than the others and the inside has a bit more of an older styling. It has a vintage feel, nothing is shabby, but if you're looking for ultra modern, then you won't find that here. But it's such a charming hotel.

The location is really close to Lincoln Road and a quick taxi ride or hop on the 25 cent circulator down toward the more "happening" area of South beach. All of the clubs and crowds are further down, btw. But that was great for us because we never had to worry about noise disturbing our sleep.

The Raleigh was great and I definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here last weekend with my husband and we had a great stay, although we had a person in the elevator tell us that he wasn't expecting the hotel to be so old without any remodeling. If you need a modern room, this isn't the place for you. Unlike some of the other hotels on Collins that are Art Deco-inspired, this one is truly Art Deco.

The main reason this place made such a great stay was the service and the beach/pool amenities. At the beach you get free lounge chairs and the attendant sets up cushions on the chair for you. The lounge chairs can be pricey at other hotels. At the pool there are lots of beds and lounge chairs to lay out in. There are also free cabanas that do not face the pool, but are located on their "oasis" section, which is a sandy section on the way to the beach that has a volleyball court.

The brunch food and pool food were very good. We did a summer Florida residents package and were surprised that the included breakfast was actually very good. Drinks at the pool are expensive but good, as well as the pool food.

We usually stay at The Sagamore which has nicer rooms, but will likely come back to The Raleigh because the service and beach amenities were so much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJCotter, General Manager at The Raleigh, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear Nouny2011,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the Raleigh Hotel and posting such lovely pictures. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the pool and beach service. It is true our hotel has just turned 71 years old and is an original Art Deco landmark. That said, it sounds like you appreciated the beauty and charm that comes with such timelessness. I hope that you will be happy to hear that we are embarking on a beautification/ renovation process which will maintain every bit of magic and appeal of the Raleigh. We truly hope that you come back and stay with us soon to see the wonderful upgrades that will occur.

Best,
The Executive Team, 305-612-1120
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

You come to the Raleigh for the Art Deco pool and the vibe. It is not as modern, but that's the allure. Once in awhile, we get deals to come here for a few nights and its always consistent. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are somewhat outdated, but you get past all of that because the pool area is so great. The food and drinks were very good, especially breakfast.

At the right price, we always head down here for a few nights.

Room Tip: Last minute deals are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed at The Raleigh for 4 days, it is a gorgeous hotel in a great location, all of the waiting/bar staff were wonderful especially Ivan, unfortunately we were staying at the same time as Lindsay Lohan so some of the front of house staff became quite rude, telling the paying guests no pictures even parents just taking pictures of their children or people trying to get a picture of the iconic pool which left a bit of a bitter taste - on the 4th day we were there the pool was closed for repair, but the beach is just across the road and had waiter service again the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you. I would certainly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: try and get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Just came back from a four night stay at the Raleigh. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. We stayed in a terrace suite overlooking the pool. Although very simply appointed, the room was clean and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself was lovely especially the pool. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a problem with the air conditioning the first day and it was attended to right away. When it happened again the next day staff was very apologetic and again fixed it right away. Have stayed in Miami many times and the Raleigh definitely provides a quiet oasis away from the chaos that can be South Beach but still within walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Downside to our stay was no refrigerator or ice machine (hated to keep asking housekeeping to send ice up to our room) and we wished that pool staff was a little more attentive with service. Would defintiely stay at the Raleigh again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Raleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh

Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TIG Global, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Raleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raleigh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.