We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service too...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Save Saved
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad service too...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2006

Stayed there for 3 nights last weekend and stayed in the "old" part of the hotel. For the quality of room, I'm not sure I would pay $50/night let alone $250. Service at the front desk was terrible as they seemed very irritated at seemingly simple requests. Keep in mind, the service is the same regardless of what tower you are in.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3,014
    1,153
    609
    363
    372
See reviews for
1169
1382
162
1050
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

I am a resident of Miami and I'm a little disappointed in what tourists think of our hotels after I stayed at one our popular hotels. I booked a 2 bedroom suite and instead we were given a 1 bedroom suite. Trying to make the best of the situation, we accepted the room. Everything was great at the hotel. I room in the PH had a beautiful view and the pool area was great. The food was terrible and expensive. The pool attendants were rude and looked miserable, espesially in the Cookies World where its the most important to be cheerful. Besides that, the overall experience was ok and if some changes were to be made, I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

The new tower at the Fontainebleau is great- beautiful new rooms, great lobby and breezeway to thepool and everything! The tower also has a nice seventh floor pool as well. The service is just never great when we go to the Fontainebleau- they just are not extremely accomodating and helpful, especially for guests paying over $400 per night! WE could not get a late check out, so I had to pay $50 for this disgusting parlor suite in the Versailles tower which is the dumpy tower that smells and has rooms from the 50s for a day so my family and I could shower and change and hang out for a little while.I thought it was inconsiderate (especially since it was my 4th year at this resort). I would stay in the tower again though. The main Fontainebleau resort is closing, and with their Versailles tower they kinda have to. Because the main resort is closing, I will not e going back next year- my family and I are gonna try the Loews South Beach Resort down the Street.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

I had to write a review. I was so nervous to stay here after reading some bad reviews on tripadvisor. I stayed dec.24- 29th 2005. I booked a deluxe ocean view room and requested a renovated room. I was happy to find out I was upgraded to a suite in the new tower. The room was wonderful oversized marble bathroom with seperate jacuzzi tub. The bed was so comfortable one of the best i have stayed in. Large balcony with great ocean and pool views. The staff overall was very friendly. the pool area my kids loved. IF YOU don't have kids i would recommend staying in south beach, closer to the night life. only negative things i can say is they did run out of pool towels the first day we were there but it was like 4:00 pm. but nobody went out of there way to get us any either! Valet was slow at times and they brought us the wrong car once. one morning the women at the coffee bar was kind of cold, unfriendly. overall we had a great stay and would definitely go back! food and drinks by the pool were good. beach was nice although south beach was a little nicer.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

Keep in mind when you read the reviews that there are 2 buildings at Fontainebleau. There is the original Fontainebleau Hotel (desperately in need of renovation) and the new 5-star Fontainebleau Resort tower which is a very high-end condo hotel that opened in early 2005. I've stayed in both towers, and granted, the "unrenovated" rooms in the hotel tower are terrible right now (renovation starting in 2006). The new resort tower, is truly fabulous and worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

Just got back from x-mas week with our 2 teens from the Fountainbleau and were happy because the weather was great although the hotel couldn't handle the crowd. The hotel condominiums in the tower were beautiful to stay in with a lovely ocean view, one bedroom and pull out in the living room big enough for the 4 of us, it included kitchen, 2 bathrooms, washer and dryer. The elevators however broke a few times and took forever to get anywhere if you were staying on a high floor until we all demanded they be fixed. I am sure all hotels are crowded around the pool x-mas week, but here if you were lucky enought to get a lounge chair you were on top of the person next to you. Most people did not use the beach as they charged $10 for chairs on the beach. Kids said at Cookies world the slide didn't move fast and you had to help yourself down, and the lazy river pool was not heated. Food options are limited at the hotel with a 15% service charge tacked on even if you get lunch yourself poolside. After spending $70 for breakfast for the 4 of us we started buying things to keep in our kitchen for breakfast. The hotel's main dining room was sub par so we took a cab @ $10 each way most nights to Lincoln Rd. which had wonderful restaurants. We never rented a car due to the $23 a night fee and cabbed it everywhere as nothing walking distance except for Eden Rock which is awful. Ate in Joes Stone Crabs one night which is very touristy and good for people watching, but get there early as lines can get fierce. It was @$350 for the 4 of us. The gym at the hotel needs updating and doesn't face anything. Looks like they are adding a spa. Bottom line is years ago this hotel was "the place" and now
with all the new construction and added rooms they cannot accomodate all the additional people.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

They're tearing down much of this hotel in March to rebuild. The resort sits on a huge footprint of land on South Beach, and the finished product will be magnificent. Right now, this tired hotel is ready for the wrecking ball. Everything is dated. The staff is uninterested. For a resort, their are very few amenities. There is no spa. The pool has no drink service. The restaurants are poor. Come back in 2008 when the resort is completely rebuilt. They promise a pool area as large and inviting as Atlantis in Paradise Island. For now, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jetsetter and Agoda so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.