We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous elite beach resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fontainebleau Miami Beach to your Saves list
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Baton Rouge, LA
1 review
“Gorgeous elite beach resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Our trip took place mid-June. Our family comprised of grandmother, my husband, my 6 yr old daughter, my sister, her husband and their 2 yr old son. We ended up staying at the Fontainebleau as an alternate location when my sister discovered that the Loews on South Beach was undergoing construction. The Fontainebleau was by far the better choice. The resort is impressively huge and the entire staff was very friendly and helpful. At check-in, we discovered that the resort has 4 buildings of rooms and suites. We stayed in the Tresor building which along with the Sorrento building is newer and the rooms are a bit larger and a bit more. The best accommodation we have had while sojourning at the beach was the this resort. To accommodate families, the Tresor building has one-bedroom suite with 2 full baths, a full kitchen with dishwasher, stove w/ oven, microwave, full sized fridge and silverware/plates/bowls/glasses/cups/pot/frying pan, and, a stacked washer and dryer. The couch folded out into a full sized bed. The main bed was a king and we had 2 balconies with table and chairs. Our "apartment" had views of the bay but since we were on the 24th floor we also had a view of the ocean too. Adjacent to our one-bedroom apartment was a junior king suite with small fridge and microwave with balcony. Each room had its own entry door that led to a common foyer where my sister stored the stroller. The keys were programmed so that all would open the main foyer door as well as each room, so no need to try to keep each room key and foyer key separate. The beds were very comfortable and firm but not quite as comfortable as the Westin's Heavenly beds or the Ritz Carlton's beds or the W hotels' beds. Since I am a side sleeper, down pillows do not provide enough support even with 2. A hotel of this caliber should offer memory foam pillows. Also the rooms were not equipped with coffee makers or DVD players which is found at high end hotels we have stayed before, especially with young kids. The large LCD TV's were great and we had one in the living room and one in the bedroom. However, paying about $4 per kid-friendly programming got a bit old, though cost was not an issue for us. Our one-bedroom apartment was decorated in a relaxed beach style. The sofa was showing a bit of wear but having stayed at other beach condos, beach furniture especially family-geared will not look good for long. My sister's junior king suite was more tastefully furnished. The beach accommodations were wonderful. The water was calm, clear and warm. A boardwalk links several hotels down on the beach. The resort has beautiful pools but the beach is what we came for. The gym was one of the best-equipped and largest we had visited (the other large one was at the W-Dallas, Texas). The resort has quite an offering of restaurants. We ate at Hakkasan and Scarpetta's with the kids and the food was exquisite but not cheap, about $100-120 per person. The onsite bakery's offerings of various pastries and coffee was outstanding but also not good for budget-conscious travelers. We had croissants, donuts, and pastries which were quite close to being as good as the offerings from the bakeries we frequented when in Paris, France in the 7th arrondissement near the Eiffel Tower. The coffee was so good that my husband, my sister, and her husband did not mind the astronomical price. We were daily visitors of the bakery. The resort crowd was very well-heeled and kids were very behaved, though there were not too many families. The beach was not crowded. Now if you decide to pick the Fontainebleau as your beach destination, know that everything is quite expensive (I think Miami Beach in general is higher rent than say South Beach). However there is a Publix grocery store at 95th street in Bal Harbour (about 5 minutes drive from the hotel). For those who want great designer shopping, Bal Harbour shops has a Neiman Marcus and Saks with nothing but haute couture shops.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,216
    1,519
    751
    432
    441
See reviews for
1,529
1,775
209
1,343
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

The Fountainbleau was great. I read the reviews before we went and was a little leery about the size of the hotel and complaints about the service. I couldn't disagree more! The hotel is very large, but the place is beautiful. Everything is spotless, and I thought the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room we originally booked had a terrible view. We asked if there was anything else available, and they upgraded us to an oceanfront room with a balcony for no additional charge! The room was beautiful and spotless. The view was great also! The pools were gorgeous and clean. I especially loved the pool at night - the bottom of the pools lit up at night - beautiful! The bar at the pool had excellent food and drinks - everyone that worked there was so nice - they accommodated any requests you had. The restaurants were excellent also. We ate at Hakkasan - very good - excellent drink menu also! Try Solo, the little bakery/deli for breakfast. Great coffee! The spa was amazing. I had a facial and my husband had a massage - both were great. We were only going to stay at the hotel for one night and had booked the National Hotel (disaster) for the rest of our stay (for the same price as the Fountainbleau). We arrived at the National and were so disappointed in it after being at the Fountainbleau. The rooms were dingy and old, and smelled of mildew. The pool was overrun with a drunken wedding party. They were very loud and security had to be called. After about an hour of sitting at the dingy pool bar and watching this, we called the Fountainbleau to ask if we could come back for the rest of the weekend. No problem! When we got back to the Fountainbleau they had given us a suite for the same price as our original non-oceanview room!
My only complaint is that they charge you about $50 a day for lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach. At a resort of this caliber, this should be included.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Who can expect good service from a hotel with 1500 rooms? They don't greet you by name like at a Ritz Carlton, to say the least. But they charge you as much. They mess up your bill. They don't petrol their open pool area, (any thug can walk in). If you want to never see Miami, well, this is a great place with the multiple restaurants. You don't need to leave. But, well don't you want to see MIAMI ? The club 54 seems to be full of people who are not staying at the hotel. A lot of women. The Hotel Delano is still the best place in Miami Beach and small enough to make you feel like a real person not room 1405.............Also try to get a beach chair, and for what you are paying for a room the gym costs 15 buck to get into? I go to Miami- Lauderdale several times a year and I would never go back .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

If you like bling and opulance (ala updated Miami deco) you'll like staying here. The service was uneven, but in all fairness, the place was in its start-up mode when I stayed. I didn't like the coffee available and discovered that there was a Starbucks next door at the Eden Roc. My biggest gripe? With what they charge for a room, it shouldn't be so hard to land a chaise to use at the pool without "buying" one. Also, my poolside repose was shattered at noon when they turned on the outdoor speaker system blasting club music into the environment. I don't mean to be a killjoy - but isn't that what I-Pods are for? The F. should consider just who is paying for these little splurges in Miami Beach and TURN DOWN the VOLUME. Yes, we know you are very hip - now stop trying soooo hard. Miami Beach is an unbeatable vacation destination and I am grateful that Lucy and Ricky's hotel has been lovingly restored - I will recommend it to friends for purely selfish reasons - I want the Fountain to be a success and be around forever!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We just returned from our weekend at the FB. We had an incredible time!!! We left the kids with grandma and drove over to the resort. We stayed in the Sorrento building in a Jr. Suite. The room was just fantastic!! King size bed, mini fridge with ice maker, bar sink, coffee maker, microwave, toaster. The bathroom had sliding doors that opened us the entire room, so you can take a bath and see the ocean. We were on the 15th floor looking North. Our view was incredible. To the north we overlooked all the pools and grounds of the hotel with the famous curved building, to the east -the ocean, to the west, the bay and intracoastal.
Friday we arrived around 5 and headed straight to the pool. For dinner we enjoyed Blade - the Shushi lounge.
Sat. we layed at the pool for endless hours, took a dip in the ocean. We ate dinner at Scarpetto - which was delish!! The polenta was dreamy.
Sun. we skipped the pool and head to the Lapis Spa. Guest can use the spa and gym facilities for a fee (it was $25, but I have heard it can also be $45pp) We spent an hour in the gym and then headed to the spa. The place is just amazing!!! I could live in there!! We were so relaxed after a few hours in there, we didnt want to leave!!
All in all - we loved it!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills CA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Similar to the Eagles' Hotel California song: You can check in anytime you like, but you can never get your room. In short, NIGHTMARE. As if they opened yesterday. We booked a King Suite, and instead got, over the course of four hours: 1) sent to a room that didn't exist 2) a non-suite with 2 twin beds 3) a king suite with no electricity 4) a non-suite with 1 queen bed. Then the night manager moved our luggage while we were a dinner in the hotel restaurant and 5) forgot what room he moved our luggage into. Ay 4:30AM we went from floor to floor with manager knocking on doors, waking up guests to try to find the room he put out luggage in. We were lab rats being prodded with tasers. NEVER GO!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills CA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Similar to the Eagles' Hotel California song: You can check in anytime you like, but you can never get your room. In short, NIGHTMARE. As if they opened yesterday. We booked a King Suite, and instead got, over the course of four hours: 1) sent to a room that didn't exist 2) a non-suite with 2 twin beds 3) a king suite with no electricity 4) a non-suite with 1 queen bed. Then the night manager moved our luggage while we were a dinner in the hotel restaurant and 5) forgot what room he moved our luggage into. Ay 4:30AM we went from floor to floor with manager knocking on doors, waking up guests to try to find the room he put out luggage in. We were lab rats being prodded with tasers. NEVER GO!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontainebleau Miami Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.